Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D2.1%
  • 3M6.6%
  • 1Y12.9%
  • YTD9.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Insurance industry has risen 2.1%, driven by gains from Suncorp Group of 8.5%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 13%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 5.9% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 26 Feb 2024AU$85.2bAU$81.6bAU$5.2b19.4x16.5x1x
Wed, 24 Jan 2024AU$82.3bAU$64.5bAU$4.7b19.7x17.7x1.3x
Fri, 22 Dec 2023AU$78.2bAU$63.9bAU$4.6b18.6x16.9x1.2x
Sun, 19 Nov 2023AU$78.1bAU$64.7bAU$4.7b19.3x16.7x1.2x
Tue, 17 Oct 2023AU$79.6bAU$65.5bAU$4.7b18.8x16.8x1.2x
Thu, 14 Sep 2023AU$78.6bAU$65.0bAU$4.7b18.9x16.7x1.2x
Sat, 12 Aug 2023AU$79.3bAU$62.2bAU$4.2b31.7x18.7x1.3x
Mon, 10 Jul 2023AU$79.1bAU$56.6bAU$3.4b30.8x23.4x1.4x
Wed, 07 Jun 2023AU$75.9bAU$56.7bAU$3.4b30.6x22.4x1.3x
Fri, 05 May 2023AU$75.1bAU$56.6bAU$3.4b30.4x22.2x1.3x
Sun, 02 Apr 2023AU$71.7bAU$56.5bAU$3.4b37x21.3x1.3x
Tue, 28 Feb 2023AU$73.4bAU$56.4bAU$3.4b39.5x21.9x1.3x
Thu, 26 Jan 2023AU$70.3bAU$52.5bAU$2.4b35x29x1.3x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022AU$68.1bAU$53.5bAU$2.5b33.2x27.8x1.3x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022AU$66.4bAU$53.5bAU$2.5b31.4x27.1x1.2x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022AU$64.6bAU$54.7bAU$2.5b28.1x26x1.2x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022AU$65.2bAU$53.3bAU$2.4b30.2x26.7x1.2x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022AU$65.4bAU$52.5bAU$2.5b30.6x26x1.2x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022AU$63.6bAU$53.4bAU$3.1b25x20.6x1.2x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022AU$62.6bAU$52.5bAU$3.0b24.9x20.6x1.2x
Sat, 07 May 2022AU$65.2bAU$52.7bAU$3.0b24.4x21.4x1.2x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022AU$61.5bAU$51.7bAU$3.0b24.1x20.5x1.2x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022AU$62.0bAU$52.4bAU$3.0b23.4x20.5x1.2x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022AU$60.3bAU$51.9bAU$904.9m28x66.7x1.2x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021AU$62.4bAU$51.8bAU$909.5m30.7x68.6x1.2x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021AU$65.0bAU$51.7bAU$912.3m30.1x71.3x1.3x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021AU$66.0bAU$51.2bAU$929.1m28.3x71x1.3x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021AU$66.5bAU$51.6bAU$914.4m29.2x72.8x1.3x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021AU$68.3bAU$51.1bAU$930.6m27.2x73.4x1.3x
Mon, 31 May 2021AU$60.4bAU$49.9bAU$406.3k23.1x148591.8x1.2x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021AU$54.8bAU$48.8b-AU$903,414,400.0025.9x-60.6x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-60.6x


Total Market Cap: AU$54.8bTotal Earnings: -AU$903,414,400.00Total Revenue: AU$48.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 11804.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Australian Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 12kx.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Insurance industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 19% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Financials industry?

AU Market-0.021%
Financials0.78%
Insurance2.08%
Property and Casualty Insurance3.69%
General Insurance0%
Reinsurance0%
Insurance Brokers-0.95%
Life and Health Insurance-1.62%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Insurance Brokers industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 33.6x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 10.7%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 101.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Property and Casualty Insurance industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 181x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Insurance Brokers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 11% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 102% per year.
  • In contrast, the Life and Health Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SUN Suncorp GroupAU$15.668.5%
+AU$1.6b
22.2%PE17.3x
QBE QBE Insurance GroupAU$16.951.4%
+AU$358.5m
12.1%PE12.7x
IAG Insurance Australia GroupAU$6.200.5%
+AU$71.6m
31.9%PE19.7x
PSI PSC Insurance GroupAU$4.833.9%
+AU$65.6m
-3.4%PE27.6x
CVW ClearView WealthAU$0.600.8%
+AU$4.4m
10.1%PE17.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.