Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies70
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M-4.8%
  • 1Y-13.6%
  • YTDn/a

The Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry has stayed flat over the last week. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 14% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 9.4% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024AU$88.0bAU$33.8bAU$4.5b7.3x19.5x2.6x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024AU$91.6bAU$34.9bAU$4.7b7.2x19.6x2.6x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024AU$90.4bAU$34.2bAU$4.5b6.5x19.9x2.6x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024AU$93.7bAU$42.8bAU$12.7b6.1x7.4x2.2x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024AU$95.9bAU$41.4bAU$12.8b6.3x7.5x2.3x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023AU$91.1bAU$42.1bAU$13.0b7.1x7x2.2x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023AU$98.4bAU$43.1bAU$13.3b7.4x7.4x2.3x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023AU$105.7bAU$43.7bAU$13.5b7.3x7.8x2.4x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023AU$107.9bAU$43.0bAU$13.3b7x8.1x2.5x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023AU$109.5bAU$40.3bAU$13.2b7.4x8.3x2.7x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023AU$98.5bAU$40.7bAU$13.4b6.6x7.4x2.4x
Sat, 27 May 2023AU$101.4bAU$41.3bAU$13.6b6.7x7.5x2.5x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023AU$98.8bAU$40.4bAU$13.3b7.1x7.5x2.4x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023AU$92.0bAU$40.4bAU$13.2b7.1x7x2.3x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023AU$101.0bAU$27.5bAU$7.0b14.7x14.4x3.7x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023AU$105.3bAU$27.2bAU$6.9b16.1x15.2x3.9x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022AU$101.3bAU$27.9bAU$7.2b13.7x14.2x3.6x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022AU$108.0bAU$29.2bAU$7.5b14.5x14.4x3.7x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022AU$103.0bAU$29.3bAU$7.5b14.6x13.6x3.5x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022AU$99.7bAU$27.5bAU$7.2b7.5x13.9x3.6x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022AU$96.5bAU$19.4bAU$3.8b9.7x25.3x5x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022AU$95.2bAU$19.8bAU$3.9b10.1x24.4x4.8x
Sun, 29 May 2022AU$67.8bAU$19.1bAU$3.7b10.7x18.1x3.6x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022AU$71.3bAU$19.0bAU$3.8b11.4x19x3.8x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022AU$78.8bAU$20.1bAU$3.9b12.6x20.3x3.9x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022AU$70.1bAU$20.2bAU$4.1b18x17.3x3.5x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022AU$66.9bAU$14.9bAU$1.2b27.5x55.8x4.5x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021AU$61.9bAU$15.1bAU$1.2b24x50.9x4.1x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021AU$54.4bAU$14.7bAU$1.2b24.7x46x3.7x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021AU$60.5bAU$14.8bAU$1.2b27.1x50.8x4.1x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021AU$48.6bAU$14.2bAU$1.0b23.3x47.1x3.4x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021AU$50.7bAU$14.2bAU$1.0b22.4x50.1x3.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-18.5x


Total Market Cap: AU$50.3bTotal Earnings: -AU$2,717,573,416.29Total Revenue: AU$13.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Australian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 20.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 36% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production compare with similar industries?

AU Market-0.91%
Energy0.39%
Oil and Gas0.39%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production-0.54%
Coal and Fuels3.12%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing0.24%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WDS Woodside Energy GroupAU$27.931.5%
+AU$797.5m
-19.9%PE21.1x
STO SantosAU$7.671.6%
+AU$388.7m
3.0%PE11.6x
PH2 Pure HydrogenAU$0.2445.5%
+AU$27.0m
-2.0%PS120.5x
COE Cooper EnergyAU$0.234.5%
+AU$26.4m
64.3%PS3x
CRD Conrad Asia EnergyAU$0.988.9%
+AU$14.3m
-41.3%PB3.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

KKO

AU$0.068

Kinetiko Energy

7D

-15.0%

1Y

-20.0%

CRD

AU$0.98

Conrad Asia Energy

7D

8.9%

1Y

-41.3%

CVN

AU$0.21

Carnarvon Energy

7D

-4.5%

1Y

75.0%

HZN

AU$0.18

Horizon Oil

7D

2.9%

1Y

18.0%

STO

AU$7.67

Santos

7D

1.6%

1Y

3.0%

TBN

AU$0.18

Tamboran Resources

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-16.3%

KAR

AU$1.81

Karoon Energy

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-10.0%

EXR

AU$0.10

Elixir Energy

7D

-12.5%

1Y

5.0%

WDS

AU$27.93

Woodside Energy Group

7D

1.5%

1Y

-19.9%

COE

AU$0.23

Cooper Energy

7D

4.5%

1Y

64.3%

JGH

AU$0.044

Jade Gas Holdings

7D

-13.7%

1Y

0%

PH2

AU$0.24

Pure Hydrogen

7D

45.5%

1Y

-2.0%

MAY

AU$0.053

Melbana Energy

7D

8.2%

1Y

-33.8%