Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Steel Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies40
  • 7D-2.0%
  • 3M-10.4%
  • 1Y-3.6%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Steel industry has dropped 2.0%, driven by a pullback from Fortescue of 2.2%. Overall the industry is down 3.6% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to decline by 14% per year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Steel Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024AU$93.5bAU$67.4bAU$11.0b9.4x8.5x1.4x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024AU$96.6bAU$67.8bAU$11.1b10.5x8.7x1.4x
Thu, 16 May 2024AU$107.4bAU$67.8bAU$11.1b11.1x9.6x1.6x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024AU$107.9bAU$68.8bAU$11.6b8.9x9.3x1.6x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024AU$108.9bAU$67.9bAU$11.4b9.2x9.6x1.6x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024AU$116.2bAU$66.7bAU$10.8b10.2x10.7x1.7x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024AU$120.1bAU$65.3bAU$10.3b9.3x11.7x1.8x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023AU$106.8bAU$65.7bAU$10.3b8.8x10.3x1.6x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023AU$97.0bAU$67.5bAU$11.0b9x8.8x1.4x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023AU$91.2bAU$67.5bAU$11.0b8.8x8.3x1.4x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023AU$92.1bAU$67.5bAU$12.6b9.2x7.3x1.4x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023AU$96.4bAU$67.0bAU$13.2b6.4x7.3x1.4x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023AU$96.4bAU$66.7bAU$13.1b6.4x7.4x1.4x
Fri, 19 May 2023AU$90.0bAU$67.3bAU$13.4b6.3x6.7x1.3x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023AU$97.9bAU$67.2bAU$13.5b6.6x7.2x1.5x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023AU$93.5bAU$63.5bAU$12.8b6.6x7.3x1.5x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023AU$95.5bAU$62.7bAU$14.2b6.5x6.7x1.5x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023AU$93.6bAU$63.1bAU$14.4b7x6.5x1.5x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022AU$86.0bAU$63.5bAU$14.5b6.2x5.9x1.4x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022AU$70.3bAU$64.9bAU$15.1b5.8x4.7x1.1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022AU$74.4bAU$64.1bAU$15.1b5.9x4.9x1.2x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022AU$87.1bAU$67.5bAU$18.5b4.9x4.7x1.3x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022AU$79.7bAU$62.6bAU$17.8b4.7x4.5x1.3x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022AU$78.1bAU$62.4bAU$17.7b4.9x4.4x1.3x
Sat, 21 May 2022AU$91.5bAU$62.1bAU$17.6b5.8x5.2x1.5x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022AU$98.3bAU$59.8bAU$16.5b6.6x5.9x1.6x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022AU$79.2bAU$59.7bAU$16.6b4.8x4.8x1.3x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022AU$94.0bAU$55.6bAU$16.8b8x5.6x1.7x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022AU$88.2bAU$55.8bAU$16.9b8.3x5.2x1.6x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021AU$75.6bAU$56.5bAU$17.2b6.8x4.4x1.3x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021AU$67.3bAU$54.3bAU$16.2b7.5x4.2x1.2x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021AU$67.4bAU$55.2bAU$16.6b8.3x4.1x1.2x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021AU$92.3bAU$54.5bAU$16.1b11.7x5.7x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

6.1x


Total Market Cap: AU$97.8bTotal Earnings: AU$16.1bTotal Revenue: AU$54.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Steel Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Steel industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 6.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Steel industry have declined 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 7.3% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Steel compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.051%
Materials-2.43%
Metals and Mining-3.08%
Steel-1.95%
Gold0.35%
Precious Metals and Minerals-0.98%
Diversified Metals and Mining-3.99%
Copper-7.29%
Aluminum-7.30%
Silver-7.32%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BSL BlueScope SteelAU$21.403.8%
+AU$342.7m
5.9%PE11.1x
LCY Legacy Iron OreAU$0.01721.4%
+AU$23.1m
-10.5%PS63x
GEN GenminAU$0.1525.0%
+AU$20.6m
-16.7%PB2.8x
TIG Tigers Realm CoalAU$0.00433.3%
+AU$13.1m
-20.0%PE1.1x
RHK Red Hawk MiningAU$0.866.8%
+AU$11.0m
79.2%PS34367.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FMG

AU$21.62

Fortescue

7D

-2.2%

1Y

-4.1%

MGX

AU$0.38

Mount Gibson Iron

7D

-11.6%

1Y

-18.3%

BSL

AU$21.40

BlueScope Steel

7D

3.8%

1Y

5.9%

CIA

AU$6.18

Champion Iron

7D

-4.8%

1Y

7.5%

GEN

AU$0.15

Genmin

7D

25.0%

1Y

-16.7%

LCY

AU$0.017

Legacy Iron Ore

7D

21.4%

1Y

-10.5%

RHI

AU$5.67

Red Hill Minerals

7D

1.8%

1Y

28.9%

CRN

AU$1.32

Coronado Global Resources

7D

-6.7%

1Y

-20.0%

SMR

AU$3.78

Stanmore Resources

7D

-4.8%

1Y

38.0%

DRR

AU$3.88

Deterra Royalties

7D

-4.4%

1Y

-16.2%

BCI

AU$0.24

BCI Minerals

7D

-3.9%

1Y

-7.5%

RHK

AU$0.86

Red Hawk Mining

7D

6.8%

1Y

79.2%

SGM

AU$10.38

Sims

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-31.8%