Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Coal and Fuels Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 15, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies33
  • 7D6.6%
  • 3M-0.2%
  • 1Y18.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Coal and Fuels industry has risen 6.6%, driven by gains from Whitehaven Coal of 11%. Meanwhile, Energy Resources of Australia actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 5.4% in the last week. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 18%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Coal and Fuels Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 15 Apr 2024AU$29.6bAU$14.2bAU$2.4b5.9x12.4x2.1x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024AU$26.7bAU$14.9bAU$2.8b4.5x9.4x1.8x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024AU$30.3bAU$19.4bAU$6.3b2.8x4.8x1.6x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024AU$27.1bAU$19.4bAU$6.3b2.5x4.3x1.4x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023AU$25.3bAU$19.4bAU$6.3b2.3x4x1.3x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023AU$25.8bAU$19.5bAU$6.3b2.3x4.1x1.3x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023AU$27.4bAU$19.5bAU$6.3b2.2x4.4x1.4x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023AU$23.4bAU$19.9bAU$7.0b2.2x3.3x1.2x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023AU$23.4bAU$22.0bAU$8.5b1.9x2.7x1.1x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023AU$22.2bAU$22.0bAU$8.5b1.7x2.6x1x
Sun, 21 May 2023AU$35.0bAU$24.0bAU$9.6b2x3.7x1.5x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023AU$35.1bAU$24.0bAU$9.6b2.2x3.7x1.5x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023AU$36.7bAU$28.3bAU$9.1b2.1x4x1.3x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023AU$39.4bAU$21.7bAU$5.3b3.1x7.4x1.8x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023AU$41.5bAU$21.7bAU$5.3b4x7.8x1.9x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022AU$41.1bAU$21.7bAU$5.3b3.5x7.7x1.9x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022AU$41.1bAU$21.8bAU$5.4b3.5x7.7x1.9x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022AU$40.1bAU$21.8bAU$5.3b5.3x7.5x1.8x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022AU$37.8bAU$19.4bAU$4.2b8.7x9x1.9x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022AU$34.2bAU$12.3b-AU$67,560,942.0024.8x-505.8x2.8x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022AU$29.3bAU$12.3b-AU$67,851,225.0021.8x-431.5x2.4x
Mon, 23 May 2022AU$34.8bAU$12.3b-AU$66,835,235.0025.3x-521.3x2.8x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022AU$35.8bAU$12.3b-AU$73,955,154.0033.3x-484.5x2.9x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022AU$29.4bAU$11.1bAU$245.3m34.1x120x2.7x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022AU$25.7bAU$7.9b-AU$2,213,131,433.0034.8x-11.6x3.2x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022AU$27.5bAU$7.9b-AU$2,213,180,355.0039.7x-12.4x3.5x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021AU$26.4bAU$7.9b-AU$2,214,409,085.0042.9x-11.9x3.3x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021AU$27.2bAU$7.9b-AU$2,211,143,711.0042.7x-12.3x3.4x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021AU$25.0bAU$7.9b-AU$2,205,757,010.0033.3x-11.3x3.2x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021AU$21.0bAU$7.4b-AU$1,835,992,404.0576.9x-11.4x2.8x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021AU$18.5bAU$7.4b-AU$1,835,992,404.0557.3x-10.1x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-13.3x


Total Market Cap: AU$16.0bTotal Earnings: -AU$1,202,949,732.00Total Revenue: AU$7.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Coal and Fuels Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -61.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Australian Coal and Consumable Fuels industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 12.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -61.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Coal and Consumable Fuels industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 24% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Coal and Fuels compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.17%
Energy-0.60%
Oil and Gas-0.60%
Coal and Fuels6.59%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation10.53%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production-1.95%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing-5.14%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WHC Whitehaven CoalAU$7.7610.5%
+AU$619.1m
14.0%PE5.7x
YAL Yancoal AustraliaAU$5.807.0%
+AU$502.1m
-1.0%PE4.2x
DYL Deep YellowAU$1.518.7%
+AU$105.6m
178.7%PS38124x
PDN Paladin EnergyAU$15.301.0%
+AU$44.8m
131.8%PE53.3x
TER TerraComAU$0.258.7%
+AU$16.0m
-60.6%PE1.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

YAL

AU$5.80

Yancoal Australia

7D

7.0%

1Y

-1.0%

AEE

AU$0.18

Aura Energy

7D

8.8%

1Y

-24.5%

PEN

AU$0.10

Peninsula Energy

7D

-19.2%

1Y

-27.6%

PDN

AU$15.30

Paladin Energy

7D

1.0%

1Y

131.8%

NHC

AU$4.64

New Hope

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-11.6%

WHC

AU$7.76

Whitehaven Coal

7D

10.5%

1Y

14.0%

REY

AU$0.083

Rey Resources

7D

-7.8%

1Y

-42.8%

EPM

AU$0.01

Eclipse Metals

7D

100.0%

1Y

-37.5%

DYL

AU$1.51

Deep Yellow

7D

8.7%

1Y

178.7%

BLZ

AU$0.004

Blaze Minerals

7D

-33.3%

1Y

-60.0%

ERA

AU$0.053

Energy Resources of Australia

7D

-5.4%

1Y

15.2%

TOE

AU$0.51

Toro Energy

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-8.2%

AGE

AU$0.061

Alligator Energy

7D

-3.2%

1Y

90.6%

GHY

AU$1.30

Gold Hydrogen

7D

-7.1%

1Y

271.4%

BKY

AU$0.32

Berkeley Energia

7D

10.5%

1Y

-17.1%