Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Aerospace and Defense Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D8.4%
  • 3M33.4%
  • 1Y78.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Aerospace and Defense industry has risen 4.4%, driven by gains from DroneShield of 18%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 69%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 50% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Aerospace and Defense Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 19 Jun 2024AU$2.3bAU$2.0b-AU$34,022,485.00125.8x-68.2x1.2x
Fri, 17 May 2024AU$1.9bAU$2.0b-AU$34,022,485.0071.7x-55.5x1x
Sun, 14 Apr 2024AU$1.8bAU$2.0b-AU$34,022,485.0056.5x-51.9x0.9x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024AU$1.5bAU$2.0b-AU$34,022,485.0042.6x-44.9x0.8x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024AU$1.4bAU$2.0b-AU$70,991,968.00359.4x-19.8x0.7x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024AU$1.4bAU$2.1b-AU$64,938,763.00111x-21.3x0.7x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023AU$1.3bAU$2.1b-AU$64,938,763.0097.9x-20.3x0.6x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023AU$1.2bAU$2.1b-AU$64,938,763.0086.2x-18.9x0.6x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023AU$1.3bAU$2.1b-AU$64,898,803.0083.1x-19.6x0.6x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023AU$1.3bAU$2.0b-AU$24,531,544.0014.8x-54x0.7x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023AU$1.6bAU$2.0b-AU$24,572,179.0014.8x-65.7x0.8x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023AU$1.5bAU$2.0b-AU$24,538,128.0014.8x-59.7x0.7x
Sat, 20 May 2023AU$1.4bAU$2.0b-AU$18,279,793.0014.8x-74x0.7x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023AU$1.2bAU$2.0b-AU$18,205,121.0014.8x-66.5x0.6x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023AU$1.2bAU$1.9bAU$43.1m8.3x28.2x0.6x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023AU$1.2bAU$1.9b-AU$21,776,467.0013.4x-56.8x0.7x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023AU$1.3bAU$1.9b-AU$21,776,467.0013.1x-59.2x0.7x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9b-AU$21,776,467.0013.8x-62x0.7x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9b-AU$21,776,467.0013.1x-64x0.7x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.9b-AU$21,776,467.0012.5x-59.1x0.7x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9bAU$57.2m14.6x25.2x0.8x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9bAU$49.3m12.6x28.1x0.7x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022AU$1.2bAU$1.9bAU$49.3m11.5x24x0.6x
Sun, 22 May 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.9bAU$49.3m12.7x27.2x0.7x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9bAU$49.3m12x28.7x0.7x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022AU$1.4bAU$1.9bAU$46.3m12.6x30.3x0.7x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022AU$1.4bAU$2.0bAU$51.2m10.9x26.8x0.7x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022AU$1.3bAU$2.0bAU$51.2m9.9x26.4x0.7x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021AU$1.3bAU$2.0bAU$51.2m9.8x25.8x0.7x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021AU$1.5bAU$2.0bAU$50.4m9.1x28.9x0.7x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021AU$1.5bAU$2.0bAU$50.4m8.8x29.8x0.7x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021AU$1.5bAU$2.0bAU$50.4m8.5x30.6x0.8x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021AU$1.7bAU$2.0bAU$50.4m8x33.2x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

33.2x


Total Market Cap: AU$1.7bTotal Earnings: AU$50.4mTotal Revenue: AU$2.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Aerospace and Defense Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -16.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Aerospace and Defense industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.72x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Aerospace and Defense industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Aerospace and Defense compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.14%
Industrials-0.48%
Aerospace & Defense8.36%
Aerospace and Defense8.36%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
DRO DroneShieldAU$1.5614.3%
+AU$201.1m
563.8%PE127.4x
QHL Quickstep HoldingsAU$0.1926.7%
+AU$2.9m
-20.8%PS0.1x
OEC OrbitalAU$0.0888.6%
+AU$1.0m
-41.3%PE9.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

EOS

AU$1.33

Electro Optic Systems Holdings

7D

-1.1%

1Y

49.7%

OEC

AU$0.088

Orbital

7D

8.6%

1Y

-41.3%

ASB

AU$2.36

Austal

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-3.7%