Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Diversified Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D1.9%
  • 3M4.6%
  • 1Y31.6%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Diversified Banks industry has risen 1.9%, driven by gains in Commonwealth Bank of Australia and National Australia Bank of 1.9% and 3.4%, respectively. This means that the industry has gained 32% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 2.4% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Diversified Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 24 Jun 2024AU$511.4bAU$87.9bAU$30.9b14.4x16.5x5.8x
Wed, 22 May 2024AU$494.7bAU$87.9bAU$30.9b14.4x16x5.6x
Fri, 19 Apr 2024AU$471.4bAU$88.7bAU$32.0b12.4x14.7x5.3x
Sun, 17 Mar 2024AU$479.7bAU$88.7bAU$32.0b12.6x15x5.4x
Tue, 13 Feb 2024AU$469.5bAU$89.0bAU$32.5b11.9x14.4x5.3x
Thu, 11 Jan 2024AU$445.0bAU$88.9bAU$32.5b11.2x13.7x5x
Sat, 09 Dec 2023AU$423.3bAU$89.0bAU$32.5b10.7x13x4.8x
Mon, 06 Nov 2023AU$413.8bAU$87.1bAU$31.8b11.7x13x4.8x
Wed, 04 Oct 2023AU$411.9bAU$87.1bAU$31.8b11.5x12.9x4.7x
Fri, 01 Sep 2023AU$418.5bAU$87.1bAU$31.8b12x13.2x4.8x
Sun, 30 Jul 2023AU$425.1bAU$87.3bAU$31.7b11.9x13.4x4.9x
Tue, 27 Jun 2023AU$388.6bAU$87.3bAU$31.7b10.7x12.2x4.5x
Thu, 25 May 2023AU$401.6bAU$87.3bAU$31.7b11.1x12.7x4.6x
Sat, 22 Apr 2023AU$413.1bAU$85.5bAU$30.6b12.7x13.5x4.8x
Mon, 20 Mar 2023AU$397.8bAU$85.5bAU$30.6b12.5x13x4.7x
Wed, 15 Feb 2023AU$448.3bAU$84.2bAU$30.0b12.4x14.9x5.3x
Fri, 13 Jan 2023AU$433.4bAU$84.2bAU$30.0b12x14.4x5.1x
Sun, 11 Dec 2022AU$428.7bAU$84.2bAU$30.0b11.7x14.3x5.1x
Tue, 08 Nov 2022AU$431.7bAU$83.4bAU$29.8b12.2x14.5x5.2x
Thu, 06 Oct 2022AU$415.4bAU$84.4bAU$29.0b12.5x14.3x4.9x
Sat, 03 Sep 2022AU$407.6bAU$84.3bAU$29.0b12.1x14.1x4.8x
Mon, 01 Aug 2022AU$415.0bAU$83.9bAU$29.1b12x14.2x4.9x
Wed, 29 Jun 2022AU$383.1bAU$83.9bAU$29.1b11.1x13.1x4.6x
Fri, 27 May 2022AU$437.9bAU$83.9bAU$29.1b12.7x15x5.2x
Sun, 24 Apr 2022AU$452.6bAU$83.1bAU$28.3b14x16x5.4x
Tue, 22 Mar 2022AU$443.7bAU$83.1bAU$28.3b13.8x15.7x5.3x
Thu, 17 Feb 2022AU$431.6bAU$82.9bAU$28.3b14.9x15.2x5.2x
Sat, 15 Jan 2022AU$430.4bAU$81.7bAU$27.3b14.4x15.7x5.3x
Mon, 13 Dec 2021AU$418.5bAU$81.7bAU$27.3b14x15.3x5.1x
Wed, 10 Nov 2021AU$450.9bAU$80.1bAU$26.0b14.1x17.3x5.6x
Fri, 08 Oct 2021AU$443.5bAU$76.6bAU$23.9b16.7x18.6x5.8x
Sun, 05 Sep 2021AU$451.5bAU$76.6bAU$23.9b17x18.9x5.9x
Tue, 03 Aug 2021AU$439.9bAU$76.6bAU$23.9b16.4x18.4x5.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.6x


Total Market Cap: AU$438.2bTotal Earnings: AU$23.6bTotal Revenue: AU$75.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Diversified Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Diversified Banks industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 14.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 5.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Banks industry have grown 9.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Diversified Banks compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.80%
Financials1.97%
Banks1.90%
Diversified Banks1.93%
Regional Banks0.29%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CBA Commonwealth Bank of AustraliaAU$127.681.9%
+AU$4.0b
29.6%PB2.9x
NAB National Australia BankAU$36.213.4%
+AU$3.6b
40.5%PB1.8x
WBC Westpac BankingAU$27.241.7%
+AU$1.5b
31.3%PB1.3x
ANZ ANZ Group HoldingsAU$28.940.7%
+AU$570.7m
26.8%PB1.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ANZ

AU$28.94

ANZ Group Holdings

7D

0.7%

1Y

26.8%

WBC

AU$27.24

Westpac Banking

7D

1.7%

1Y

31.3%

BFL

AU$6.45

BSP Financial Group

7D

-0.8%

1Y

30.8%

NAB

AU$36.21

National Australia Bank

7D

3.4%

1Y

40.5%

CBA

AU$127.68

Commonwealth Bank of Australia

7D

1.9%

1Y

29.6%

JDO

AU$1.33

Judo Capital Holdings

7D

-3.3%

1Y

17.7%