Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D2.9%
  • 3M-6.9%
  • 1Y34.8%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Stores industry has risen 2.9%, driven by gains from Super Retail Group of 4.5%. In the same time, Adore Beauty Group was down 9.9%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 35%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 19 Jun 2024AU$7.3bAU$6.2bAU$377.9m13.6x19.2x1.2x
Fri, 17 May 2024AU$7.4bAU$6.2bAU$377.9m18.5x19.5x1.2x
Sun, 14 Apr 2024AU$7.9bAU$6.2bAU$377.9m19.8x20.9x1.3x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024AU$7.6bAU$6.2bAU$377.9m20.7x20.1x1.2x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024AU$7.1bAU$6.1bAU$400.7m11.6x17.7x1.2x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024AU$6.7bAU$6.1bAU$400.7m11.2x16.8x1.1x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023AU$6.2bAU$6.1bAU$400.7m10.5x15.4x1x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023AU$5.7bAU$6.1bAU$400.7m10.1x14.3x0.9x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023AU$5.7bAU$6.1bAU$400.7m9.9x14.2x0.9x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023AU$6.3bAU$6.3bAU$366.1m10.5x17.2x1x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023AU$5.9bAU$6.3bAU$397.0m9.9x14.8x0.9x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023AU$5.3bAU$6.3bAU$397.0m9x13.3x0.8x
Sat, 20 May 2023AU$6.6bAU$6.3bAU$397.0m10.4x16.6x1x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023AU$6.9bAU$6.3bAU$397.0m11x17.3x1.1x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023AU$6.3bAU$5.9bAU$434.7m9.1x14.5x1.1x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023AU$6.4bAU$5.5bAU$394.0m10.6x16.2x1.2x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023AU$6.2bAU$5.5bAU$394.0m9.8x15.7x1.1x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022AU$6.1bAU$5.5bAU$394.0m9.9x15.5x1.1x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022AU$6.2bAU$5.5bAU$394.0m9.9x15.6x1.1x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022AU$5.5bAU$5.5bAU$393.9m9.2x14.1x1x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022AU$5.7bAU$5.4bAU$363.6m9.5x15.7x1.1x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022AU$5.2bAU$5.2bAU$359.9m9x14.6x1x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022AU$4.4bAU$5.2bAU$359.9m8x12.3x0.9x
Sun, 22 May 2022AU$5.1bAU$5.2bAU$359.9m9.2x14.1x1x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022AU$5.8bAU$5.2bAU$359.9m10.5x16.1x1.1x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022AU$5.7bAU$5.2bAU$359.9m9.7x15.9x1.1x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022AU$6.4bAU$5.2bAU$402.5m10.8x15.8x1.2x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022AU$6.3bAU$5.1bAU$401.6m10.7x15.8x1.2x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021AU$6.4bAU$5.1bAU$401.6m9.5x16x1.3x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021AU$6.9bAU$5.1bAU$401.6m9.5x17.1x1.3x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021AU$6.1bAU$5.1bAU$401.6m8.8x15.1x1.2x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021AU$6.3bAU$5.1bAU$401.5m8.7x15.6x1.2x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021AU$6.0bAU$5.1bAU$401.5m10x15x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15x


Total Market Cap: AU$6.0bTotal Earnings: AU$401.5mTotal Revenue: AU$5.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 16x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Specialty Stores industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 16.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Stores industry have declined 2.0% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 6.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Specialty Stores compare with similar industries?

AU Market0.14%
Consumer Discretionary1.33%
Specialty Stores2.47%
Specialty Stores2.92%
Computer and Electronics Retail7.98%
Home Improvement Retail3.32%
Apparel Retail-0.043%
Automotive Retail-0.80%
Home Furnishing Retail-0.98%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SUL Super Retail GroupAU$13.664.5%
+AU$133.2m
24.7%PE11.8x
LOV Lovisa HoldingsAU$32.152.5%
+AU$86.7m
75.1%PE47.7x
MHJ Michael Hill InternationalAU$0.467.0%
+AU$11.5m
-50.8%PE13.6x
AUK AuMakeAU$0.002525.0%
+AU$957.2k
-16.7%PS0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.