Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D1.0%
  • 3M17.7%
  • 1Y15.0%
  • YTD7.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Banks industry has remained flat, although notably Bendigo and Adelaide Bank declined by 3.5%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 15% in that time. Earnings are forecast to grow by 1.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024AU$493.5bAU$92.5bAU$32.7b11.5x15.1x5.3x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024AU$468.2bAU$92.8bAU$33.2b8.3x14.1x5x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023AU$450.6bAU$92.8bAU$33.2b8x13.6x4.9x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023AU$419.5bAU$92.8bAU$33.2b7.9x12.6x4.5x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023AU$427.8bAU$91.0bAU$32.5b8x13.2x4.7x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023AU$428.7bAU$91.0bAU$32.6b8.1x13.2x4.7x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023AU$432.0bAU$90.8bAU$32.5b8.5x13.3x4.8x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023AU$407.6bAU$91.0bAU$32.4b8.3x12.6x4.5x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023AU$391.2bAU$91.0bAU$32.4b8.2x12.1x4.3x
Sun, 07 May 2023AU$404.4bAU$90.5bAU$31.7b8.2x12.8x4.5x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023AU$414.8bAU$89.2bAU$31.5b9.8x13.2x4.7x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023AU$423.7bAU$88.9bAU$31.4b10.6x13.5x4.8x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023AU$458.2bAU$87.5bAU$30.9b10.6x14.8x5.2x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022AU$440.1bAU$87.6bAU$30.9b10.3x14.2x5x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022AU$450.2bAU$87.6bAU$30.9b11.1x14.6x5.1x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022AU$445.5bAU$87.8bAU$29.9b11.4x14.9x5.1x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022AU$413.2bAU$87.6bAU$29.9b11.1x13.8x4.7x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022AU$430.9bAU$87.5bAU$30.0b12.3x14.4x4.9x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022AU$398.5bAU$87.3bAU$30.2b12.2x13.2x4.6x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022AU$400.7bAU$87.2bAU$30.2b12.1x13.3x4.6x
Mon, 09 May 2022AU$449.4bAU$88.2bAU$30.3b13.9x14.8x5.1x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022AU$456.5bAU$86.1bAU$29.3b14.2x15.6x5.3x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022AU$420.6bAU$86.1bAU$29.3b11.6x14.3x4.9x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022AU$420.0bAU$84.7bAU$28.2b10.9x14.9x5x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021AU$435.4bAU$84.7bAU$28.2b11.1x15.4x5.1x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021AU$431.0bAU$84.7bAU$28.2b11x15.3x5.1x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021AU$460.2bAU$79.6bAU$24.8b10.3x18.6x5.8x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021AU$460.8bAU$79.3bAU$24.6b10.4x18.7x5.8x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021AU$457.5bAU$79.3bAU$24.6b12.1x18.6x5.8x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021AU$455.6bAU$77.0bAU$23.1b15.1x19.7x5.9x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021AU$396.9bAU$72.8bAU$19.3b16.1x20.5x5.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20.5x


Total Market Cap: AU$396.9bTotal Earnings: AU$19.3bTotal Revenue: AU$72.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Australian Banks industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 14.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 19% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Financials industry?

AU Market0.21%
Financials0.71%
Banks0.99%
Diversified Banks1.06%
Regional Banks-2.33%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 1.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 5.7% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Regional Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 13.0x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Regional Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 11% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 14% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Banks industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CBA Commonwealth Bank of AustraliaAU$115.961.2%
+AU$2.2b
17.1%PB2.7x
ANZ ANZ Group HoldingsAU$28.481.4%
+AU$1.1b
16.9%PB1.2x
WBC Westpac BankingAU$26.201.2%
+AU$1.0b
18.7%PB1.3x
NAB National Australia BankAU$33.880.8%
+AU$809.2m
15.3%PB1.7x
KSL Kina SecuritiesAU$0.902.9%
+AU$7.2m
9.8%PB1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ABA

AU$4.54

Auswide Bank

7D

-8.8%

1Y

-24.3%

ANZ

AU$28.48

ANZ Group Holdings

7D

1.4%

1Y

16.9%

CBA

AU$115.96

Commonwealth Bank of Australia

7D

1.2%

1Y

17.1%

MYS

AU$3.24

MyState

7D

-4.4%

1Y

-15.6%

BFL

AU$6.89

BSP Financial Group

7D

-4.7%

1Y

33.8%

BEN

AU$9.57

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank

7D

-3.5%

1Y

-1.5%

KSL

AU$0.90

Kina Securities

7D

2.9%

1Y

9.8%

BBC

AU$0.36

BNK Banking

7D

-7.6%

1Y

-13.1%

NAB

AU$33.88

National Australia Bank

7D

0.8%

1Y

15.3%

BOQ

AU$5.84

Bank of Queensland

7D

-0.7%

1Y

-15.4%