Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Diversified Financial Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M7.6%
  • 1Y6.4%
  • YTD6.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Diversified Financial industry has remained flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 6.5% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 9.6% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Diversified Financial Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024AU$23.7bAU$9.1bAU$1.1b23.5x21.1x2.6x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024AU$22.8bAU$8.7bAU$880.7m18.1x25.9x2.6x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023AU$22.1bAU$8.7bAU$880.9m15.8x25x2.5x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023AU$21.7bAU$8.7bAU$879.0m15.3x24.7x2.5x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023AU$23.1bAU$8.6bAU$879.3m14.3x26.3x2.7x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023AU$24.9bAU$9.4bAU$1.3b15.1x19.7x2.7x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023AU$23.7bAU$7.3bAU$1.1b21.1x22.4x3.2x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023AU$22.2bAU$7.0bAU$1.1b21.5x20.1x3.2x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023AU$22.6bAU$7.0bAU$1.1b21.6x20.5x3.2x
Mon, 08 May 2023AU$11.3bAU$5.0b-AU$21,486,494.0031x-527.9x2.3x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023AU$11.7bAU$5.0b-AU$10,884,474.0029.8x-1078x2.4x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023AU$10.3bAU$3.5bAU$37.9m30.6x271.9x2.9x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023AU$11.6bAU$4.2b-AU$55,192,223.0017.6x-211x2.8x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022AU$11.6bAU$4.2b-AU$54,191,364.0015.9x-213.6x2.7x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022AU$11.5bAU$4.2b-AU$42,746,287.0015x-269x2.7x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022AU$10.8bAU$4.2b-AU$46,597,450.0015.8x-232x2.6x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022AU$10.7bAU$4.2b-AU$44,794,204.0014.1x-238.6x2.5x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022AU$10.7bAU$7.6bAU$404.2m12.3x26.4x1.4x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022AU$10.8bAU$7.8bAU$412.2m11.8x26.2x1.4x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022AU$10.6bAU$7.8bAU$412.3m12.3x25.8x1.4x
Tue, 10 May 2022AU$11.2bAU$7.8bAU$417.6m12.3x26.9x1.4x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022AU$10.7bAU$7.8bAU$417.4m12.4x25.6x1.4x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022AU$5.4bAU$4.2b-AU$236,072,512.0015.3x-23x1.3x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022AU$8.3bAU$7.7bAU$723.0m16.5x11.5x1.1x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021AU$9.4bAU$7.7bAU$722.9m17.1x13x1.2x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021AU$9.6bAU$7.7bAU$722.9m21.8x13.3x1.2x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021AU$10.0bAU$7.7bAU$718.0m17x13.9x1.3x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021AU$9.5bAU$7.7bAU$688.5m25.9x13.8x1.2x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021AU$10.1bAU$7.7bAU$688.1m25.9x14.7x1.3x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021AU$9.4bAU$6.8bAU$136.4m27.2x69.1x1.4x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021AU$11.5bAU$6.0b-AU$416,167,291.8519.8x-27.5x1.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-27.5x


Total Market Cap: AU$11.5bTotal Earnings: -AU$416,167,291.85Total Revenue: AU$6.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Diversified Financial Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -35.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Australian Diversified Financial industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 23.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -35.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Diversified Financial industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Financials industry?

AU Market0.78%
Financials0.98%
Diversified Financial0.56%
Specialized Finance3.90%
Multi-Sector Holdings2.55%
Other Diversified Financial Services-0.36%
Transaction and Payment Processing Services-5.48%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Other Diversified Financial Services industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 301x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 22.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 1,800.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Specialized Finance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 85% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Multi-Sector Holdings industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SOL Washington H. Soul PattinsonAU$34.802.6%
+AU$313.9m
19.7%PE17.9x
AMP AMPAU$1.122.8%
+AU$76.1m
5.7%PE159.9x
OBL Omni BridgewayAU$1.704.9%
+AU$22.6m
-41.0%PS22.3x
IAM Income Asset Management GroupAU$0.0938.5%
+AU$8.3m
-50.0%PS2.3x
SZL SezzleAU$24.355.4%
+AU$7.1m
13.4%PE19x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SZL

AU$24.35

Sezzle

7D

5.4%

1Y

13.4%

TYR

AU$1.05

Tyro Payments

7D

-9.1%

1Y

-34.2%

HLI

AU$4.21

Helia Group

7D

-7.3%

1Y

23.1%

IAM

AU$0.09

Income Asset Management Group

7D

38.5%

1Y

-50.0%

AMP

AU$1.12

AMP

7D

2.8%

1Y

5.7%

CGF

AU$6.78

Challenger

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-9.4%

RMC

AU$0.99

Resimac Group

7D

-7.5%

1Y

-4.8%

PPM

AU$1.42

Pepper Money

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-2.4%

OBL

AU$1.70

Omni Bridgeway

7D

4.9%

1Y

-41.0%

OFX

AU$1.53

OFX Group

7D

0.7%

1Y

-20.5%

FTC

AU$0.018

FinTech Chain

7D

20.0%

1Y

-30.8%

SOL

AU$34.80

Washington H. Soul Pattinson

7D

2.6%

1Y

19.7%

SPT

AU$0.075

Splitit Payments

7D

13.6%

1Y

-57.1%

LFG

AU$4.00

Liberty Financial Group

7D

-2.0%

1Y

6.4%