Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Real Estate Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies63
  • 7D-3.7%
  • 3M7.0%
  • 1Y10.4%
  • YTD4.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Real Estate industry has dropped 3.7%, driven by Goodman Group declining 3.6%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 10%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 29% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Real Estate Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024AU$171.7bAU$28.9b-AU$3,139,449,437.0027.2x-54.7x5.9x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024AU$179.3bAU$29.4b-AU$3,139,449,437.0029x-57.1x6.1x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024AU$174.6bAU$30.1b-AU$2,520,791,372.0029.3x-69.3x5.8x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024AU$163.1bAU$31.7bAU$633.9m26.7x257.2x5.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023AU$158.9bAU$31.8bAU$656.1m26.4x242.2x5x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023AU$148.0bAU$31.8bAU$658.1m24.7x224.8x4.6x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023AU$145.5bAU$31.8bAU$658.1m24.6x221x4.6x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023AU$159.8bAU$30.8bAU$658.0m25.6x242.9x5.2x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023AU$156.4bAU$33.7bAU$10.4b13.3x15.1x4.6x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023AU$152.4bAU$33.7bAU$10.5b13x14.6x4.5x
Mon, 29 May 2023AU$155.2bAU$33.7bAU$10.5b12.5x14.8x4.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023AU$156.0bAU$33.7bAU$10.5b12.9x14.9x4.6x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023AU$52.7bAU$20.9bAU$3.8b11.7x13.8x2.5x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023AU$161.5bAU$33.9bAU$13.4b10.1x12.1x4.8x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023AU$158.1bAU$35.2bAU$19.0b8x8.3x4.5x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022AU$157.0bAU$35.2bAU$19.0b8.1x8.3x4.5x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022AU$156.3bAU$35.2bAU$19.0b8x8.2x4.4x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022AU$143.7bAU$35.2bAU$19.0b7.1x7.6x4.1x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022AU$156.7bAU$35.2bAU$18.9b7.9x8.3x4.5x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022AU$164.3bAU$34.4bAU$18.9b8.2x8.7x4.8x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022AU$151.1bAU$34.7bAU$18.8b8.9x8x4.4x
Tue, 31 May 2022AU$169.0bAU$34.7bAU$18.8b9.2x9x4.9x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022AU$182.9bAU$34.7bAU$18.8b9.3x9.7x5.3x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022AU$186.3bAU$34.9bAU$19.6b9.2x9.5x5.3x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022AU$183.4bAU$34.3bAU$17.9b9.9x10.3x5.3x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022AU$185.7bAU$32.1bAU$13.0b10.7x14.3x5.8x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021AU$194.6bAU$32.1bAU$13.0b10.7x15x6.1x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021AU$185.4bAU$32.1bAU$13.0b10.3x14.3x5.8x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021AU$177.2bAU$32.2bAU$12.9b10x13.7x5.5x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021AU$181.3bAU$32.1bAU$12.6b12x14.3x5.6x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021AU$177.0bAU$32.2bAU$12.6b12.6x14x5.5x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021AU$159.4bAU$31.1bAU$5.3b16.7x30.3x5.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30.3x


Total Market Cap: AU$159.4bTotal Earnings: AU$5.3bTotal Revenue: AU$31.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Real Estate Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 37.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Real Estate industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 5.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Real Estate industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 2.5% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Real Estate sector?

AU Market-2.96%
Real Estate-3.67%
Retail REITs-2.00%
Specialized REITs-2.92%
Residential REITs-2.99%
Real Estate-3.15%
Hotel and Resort REITs-3.38%
REITS-3.62%
Industrial REITs-4.71%
Office REITs-4.81%
Health Care REITs-5.58%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Real Estate industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 110x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 43.4%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 4.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Office REITs industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 65% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Hotel and Resort REITs industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BWP BWP TrustAU$3.524.5%
+AU$104.1m
-9.3%PB1x
PXA PEXA GroupAU$11.813.9%
+AU$78.1m
-13.4%PS6.9x
UOS United Overseas AustraliaAU$0.606.1%
+AU$56.6m
9.0%PE12.3x
HDN HomeCo Daily Needs REITAU$1.252.0%
+AU$52.0m
3.7%PB0.9x
LIC Lifestyle CommunitiesAU$14.252.4%
+AU$40.0m
-14.6%PE22.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CQE

AU$2.57

Charter Hall Social Infrastructure REIT

7D

1.6%

1Y

-15.2%

PXA

AU$11.81

PEXA Group

7D

3.9%

1Y

-13.4%

MGR

AU$2.14

Mirvac Group

7D

-3.2%

1Y

-6.6%

HMC

AU$6.19

HMC Capital

7D

-4.3%

1Y

57.5%

UOS

AU$0.60

United Overseas Australia

7D

6.1%

1Y

9.0%

BWP

AU$3.52

BWP Trust

7D

4.5%

1Y

-9.3%

WPR

AU$2.36

Waypoint REIT

7D

1.3%

1Y

-9.9%

CMW

AU$0.40

Cromwell Property Group

7D

-5.9%

1Y

-31.6%

HDN

AU$1.25

HomeCo Daily Needs REIT

7D

2.0%

1Y

3.7%

ARF

AU$3.65

Arena REIT

7D

1.7%

1Y

-2.9%

SGP

AU$4.45

Stockland

7D

-1.8%

1Y

4.2%

LIC

AU$14.25

Lifestyle Communities

7D

2.4%

1Y

-14.6%

CHC

AU$12.12

Charter Hall Group

7D

-2.4%

1Y

6.4%

SCG

AU$3.15

Scentre Group

7D

-0.3%

1Y

10.1%

DXS

AU$7.17

DEXUS

7D

-1.8%

1Y

-7.8%