Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Construction Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies22
  • 7D1.6%
  • 3M-4.5%
  • 1Y12.4%
  • YTD-3.1%

The Construction industry is up 1.6% in the last week, with Ventia Services Group up 5.6%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 12%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 18% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Construction Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024AU$20.3bAU$32.6bAU$942.3m16.1x21.5x0.6x
Tue, 21 May 2024AU$19.8bAU$32.3bAU$918.1m14.9x21.6x0.6x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024AU$20.6bAU$32.3bAU$918.1m14.8x22.4x0.6x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024AU$21.0bAU$32.3bAU$918.1m13.9x22.8x0.6x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024AU$19.9bAU$30.6bAU$626.1m15.7x31.7x0.6x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024AU$20.3bAU$30.8bAU$615.4m15.5x33x0.7x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023AU$19.4bAU$30.8bAU$615.4m14.7x31.6x0.6x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023AU$19.1bAU$30.8bAU$615.4m14x31.1x0.6x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023AU$19.7bAU$30.8bAU$615.4m14.7x32x0.6x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023AU$19.5bAU$30.9bAU$576.4m15.8x33.9x0.6x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023AU$19.0bAU$28.9bAU$365.8m15x52x0.7x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023AU$17.6bAU$28.9bAU$365.8m15.2x48.1x0.6x
Wed, 24 May 2023AU$18.4bAU$28.9bAU$365.8m15.5x50.4x0.6x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023AU$17.8bAU$28.9bAU$365.8m14.5x48.7x0.6x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023AU$9.0bAU$18.5bAU$371.8m15x24.1x0.5x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023AU$9.6bAU$16.9bAU$291.1m17.4x32.9x0.6x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023AU$9.5bAU$16.9bAU$291.1m18.3x32.5x0.6x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022AU$9.5bAU$16.9bAU$291.1m17x32.8x0.6x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022AU$9.3bAU$16.9bAU$291.1m15.7x32.1x0.6x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022AU$9.5bAU$16.9bAU$291.1m16x32.7x0.6x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022AU$10.0bAU$17.0bAU$325.1m17.5x30.7x0.6x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022AU$9.9bAU$15.3bAU$308.9m18x31.9x0.6x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022AU$8.7bAU$15.3bAU$308.9m15.5x28.3x0.6x
Thu, 26 May 2022AU$16.2bAU$25.2bAU$719.2m15.9x22.5x0.6x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022AU$17.7bAU$25.2bAU$719.2m17x24.6x0.7x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022AU$17.4bAU$25.4bAU$716.1m17.1x24.4x0.7x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022AU$12.4bAU$19.9bAU$691.6m14.4x18x0.6x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022AU$13.6bAU$18.3b-AU$983,186,946.0015.8x-13.8x0.7x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021AU$12.9bAU$17.8b-AU$995,552,946.0015.6x-12.9x0.7x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021AU$13.1bAU$17.8b-AU$995,552,946.0014.3x-13.1x0.7x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021AU$13.2bAU$17.5b-AU$894,324,323.0014.7x-14.8x0.8x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021AU$13.6bAU$17.5b-AU$894,467,323.0016x-15.2x0.8x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021AU$13.1bAU$17.5b-AU$894,467,323.0015x-14.7x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-13.3x


Total Market Cap: AU$12.2bTotal Earnings: -AU$919,606,323.00Total Revenue: AU$16.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Construction Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Australian Construction industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 22.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.64x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Construction industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 26% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Industrials industry?

AU Market0.80%
Industrials-0.21%
Construction1.65%
Construction and Engineering1.65%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
VNT Ventia Services GroupAU$3.955.6%
+AU$179.6m
37.2%PE17.8x
NWH NRW HoldingsAU$3.147.2%
+AU$95.6m
33.1%PE16.1x
WOR WorleyAU$14.250.8%
+AU$58.0m
-8.9%PE31.1x
SXE Southern Cross Electrical EngineeringAU$1.7311.3%
+AU$46.1m
170.3%PE22.8x
LYL LycopodiumAU$12.544.8%
+AU$22.7m
27.8%PE8.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

LYL

AU$12.54

Lycopodium

7D

4.8%

1Y

27.8%

SRG

AU$0.84

SRG Global

7D

-1.8%

1Y

15.9%

DUR

AU$1.11

Duratec

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-1.8%

GNP

AU$1.86

GenusPlus Group

7D

-0.5%

1Y

69.1%

SSM

AU$1.26

Service Stream

7D

1.6%

1Y

55.9%

NWH

AU$3.14

NRW Holdings

7D

7.2%

1Y

33.1%

SND

AU$0.82

Saunders International

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-27.4%