Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Regional Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D1.7%
  • 3M2.7%
  • 1Y-6.9%
  • YTD2.2%

In the last week, the Regional Banks industry is up 1.7%, with Bendigo and Adelaide Bank up 2.4%. However, the industry is down 6.9% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 5.3% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Regional Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPE
Sat, 28 May 2022AU$11.0bAU$3.4bAU$1.0b12.7x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022AU$11.2bAU$3.3bAU$1.0b13.9x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022AU$11.1bAU$3.1bAU$975.4m14.6x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022AU$11.3bAU$3.1bAU$976.1m8.5x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022AU$10.6bAU$3.0bAU$898.7m8.5x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021AU$10.1bAU$3.0bAU$898.7m8.5x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021AU$10.9bAU$3.0bAU$898.4m9.2x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021AU$11.6bAU$2.7bAU$706.9m9.3x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021AU$11.7bAU$2.7bAU$706.7m9.5x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021AU$11.6bAU$2.7bAU$706.8m9.7x
Sat, 08 May 2021AU$11.5bAU$2.6bAU$589.2m12x
Tue, 09 Feb 2021AU$8.6bAU$2.5bAU$442.6m10.2x
Mon, 02 Nov 2020AU$6.5bAU$2.4bAU$363.5m6.2x
Thu, 06 Aug 2020AU$6.4bAU$2.5bAU$373.4m7.2x
Sun, 10 May 2020AU$5.9bAU$2.6bAU$497.6m7.5x
Sat, 01 Feb 2020AU$8.7bAU$2.6bAU$593.3m7.9x
Tue, 05 Nov 2019AU$9.0bAU$2.6bAU$652.3m7.8x
Fri, 09 Aug 2019AU$9.5bAU$2.6bAU$689.8m7.3x
Median PE Ratio

8.1x


Total Market Cap: AU$9.3bTotal Earnings: AU$702.6mTotal Revenue: AU$2.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Regional Banks Industry Median PE3Y Average 8.9x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 8.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Regional Banks industry have grown 14% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Regional Banks compare with similar industries?

AU Market-1.30%
Financials1.24%
Banks1.77%
Regional Banks1.70%
Diversified Banks1.77%
Industry PEThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BEN Bendigo and Adelaide BankAU$10.612.4%
+AU$139.7m
1.3%PB0.9x
BOQ Bank of QueenslandAU$7.570.9%
+AU$80.6m
-16.1%PB0.8x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News