Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies105
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M7.0%
  • 1Y20.3%
  • YTD10.3%

The Consumer Discretionary industry is up 1.2% in the last week, with Wesfarmers up 2.6%. In the same time, Domino's Pizza Enterprises was down 6.5%. This means that the industry has gained 20% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024AU$204.9bAU$124.8bAU$5.8b16.7x35.5x1.6x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024AU$193.8bAU$124.4bAU$5.7b15x33.7x1.6x
Thu, 16 May 2024AU$193.5bAU$124.1bAU$5.7b16.7x34.1x1.6x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024AU$195.4bAU$124.2bAU$5.7b17.1x34.4x1.6x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024AU$201.0bAU$124.3bAU$5.7b17.8x35.5x1.6x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024AU$185.3bAU$122.2bAU$5.0b19.4x37.2x1.5x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024AU$190.7bAU$126.2bAU$4.4b18.5x43.2x1.5x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023AU$180.6bAU$126.2bAU$4.4b17.7x40.9x1.4x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023AU$173.3bAU$125.7bAU$4.0b17.9x43.5x1.4x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023AU$183.0bAU$125.7bAU$4.0b21.1x45.7x1.5x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023AU$184.4bAU$125.6bAU$4.9b14.9x37.9x1.5x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023AU$178.3bAU$122.0bAU$5.0b12.6x35.9x1.5x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023AU$176.3bAU$121.9bAU$5.0b11.9x35.2x1.4x
Fri, 19 May 2023AU$182.4bAU$121.8bAU$5.0b13.6x36.6x1.5x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023AU$183.8bAU$121.4bAU$4.8b14.5x38x1.5x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023AU$178.2bAU$121.2bAU$4.9b14.8x36.2x1.5x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023AU$182.4bAU$111.8bAU$5.6b16.9x32.6x1.6x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023AU$171.2bAU$111.7bAU$5.5b14.4x30.9x1.5x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022AU$176.6bAU$111.7bAU$5.5b14.2x31.9x1.6x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022AU$175.4bAU$111.2bAU$5.5b15.1x31.6x1.6x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022AU$163.8bAU$111.1bAU$5.6b13.3x29.5x1.5x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022AU$177.1bAU$110.9bAU$5.6b16.5x31.9x1.6x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022AU$163.7bAU$106.7bAU$5.4b16.4x30.2x1.5x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022AU$149.4bAU$106.6bAU$5.4b15.2x27.6x1.4x
Sat, 21 May 2022AU$175.4bAU$106.7bAU$5.4b16x32.3x1.6x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022AU$186.5bAU$106.1bAU$5.2b17.6x36.2x1.8x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022AU$188.1bAU$106.1bAU$5.2b18.2x36.3x1.8x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022AU$207.6bAU$105.3bAU$6.0b16.7x34.5x2x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022AU$216.2bAU$105.0bAU$6.0b17.2x35.8x2.1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021AU$215.7bAU$105.0bAU$6.0b16.3x35.7x2.1x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021AU$227.5bAU$104.9bAU$5.7b16.9x40.2x2.2x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021AU$217.5bAU$106.0bAU$5.7b15.6x38.1x2.1x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021AU$222.3bAU$105.7bAU$5.5b16x40.8x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

40.4x


Total Market Cap: AU$220.0bTotal Earnings: AU$5.5bTotal Revenue: AU$105.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 36.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Australian Consumer Discretionary industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 36.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Discretionary industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 5.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Consumer Discretionary sector?

AU Market0.05%
Consumer Discretionary1.15%
Luxury6.17%
Auto3.57%
General Merchandise and Department Stores2.38%
Auto Components2.32%
Leisure2.19%
Specialty Stores1.34%
Retail Distributors1.30%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
Hospitality-0.24%
Consumer Services-0.39%
Consumer Durables-1.63%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Hospitality industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 144x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 15.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 2.2% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Auto industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 12.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Hospitality industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 2.2% per year.
  • In contrast, the Specialty Stores industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WES WesfarmersAU$70.332.6%
+AU$2.0b
43.4%PE31.8x
FLT Flight Centre Travel GroupAU$22.663.2%
+AU$156.2m
2.3%PE32.4x
AX1 Accent GroupAU$2.2212.1%
+AU$135.1m
30.2%PE17.2x
ALL Aristocrat LeisureAU$53.110.4%
+AU$119.9m
38.4%PE22.2x
TLC LotteryAU$5.000.8%
+AU$89.0m
-2.2%PE36x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BLX

AU$2.25

Beacon Lighting Group

7D

-7.8%

1Y

23.6%

TLC

AU$5.00

Lottery

7D

0.8%

1Y

-2.2%

JIN

AU$15.96

Jumbo Interactive

7D

-4.4%

1Y

10.1%

SUL

AU$14.52

Super Retail Group

7D

2.0%

1Y

20.5%

JBH

AU$65.10

JB Hi-Fi

7D

-1.5%

1Y

47.1%

TAH

AU$0.67

Tabcorp Holdings

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-40.4%

AX1

AU$2.22

Accent Group

7D

12.1%

1Y

30.2%

FLT

AU$22.66

Flight Centre Travel Group

7D

3.2%

1Y

2.3%