Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Biotech Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies33
  • 7D-0.2%
  • 3M4.8%
  • 1Y4.9%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, Biotech has been flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 4.9% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 16% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Biotech Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024AU$150.5bAU$22.3bAU$3.3b31x46x6.8x
Thu, 16 May 2024AU$146.5bAU$22.1bAU$3.2b30.9x45.3x6.6x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024AU$145.0bAU$22.6bAU$3.3b30.4x43.7x6.4x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024AU$145.5bAU$22.2bAU$3.2b29.6x44.8x6.6x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024AU$153.3bAU$21.1bAU$2.9b34.4x53.4x7.3x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024AU$145.6bAU$20.4bAU$2.7b34.4x54x7.1x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023AU$134.2bAU$20.6bAU$2.7b33.9x49.3x6.5x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023AU$117.5bAU$21.5bAU$2.9b28.2x40.8x5.5x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023AU$129.2bAU$21.6bAU$2.8b30.2x45.7x6x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023AU$135.1bAU$21.4bAU$2.6b38.5x51.9x6.3x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023AU$137.9bAU$17.9bAU$2.3b37.4x59.8x7.7x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023AU$145.9bAU$17.7bAU$2.3b39.3x64x8.2x
Fri, 19 May 2023AU$155.2bAU$18.1bAU$2.3b39.9x66.4x8.6x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023AU$153.6bAU$17.9bAU$2.3b42.1x66.5x8.6x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023AU$144.6bAU$18.1bAU$2.3b38.8x61.7x8x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023AU$156.9bAU$15.4bAU$2.4b51.6x64.1x10.2x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023AU$142.6bAU$15.7bAU$2.5b47.8x57.2x9.1x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022AU$154.4bAU$15.9bAU$2.5b45.6x61.1x9.7x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022AU$145.0bAU$16.8bAU$2.7b42.4x53.8x8.6x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022AU$145.5bAU$16.6bAU$2.7b41.4x54.7x8.8x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022AU$150.0bAU$15.5bAU$2.7b40.1x56.5x9.7x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022AU$147.7bAU$15.5bAU$2.8b36.9x52.8x9.5x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022AU$131.7bAU$15.4bAU$2.8b34.3x47.5x8.5x
Sat, 21 May 2022AU$139.3bAU$15.3bAU$2.7b36.8x50.7x9.1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022AU$134.9bAU$14.5bAU$2.6b38.3x51.1x9.3x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022AU$134.6bAU$14.9bAU$2.7b40.8x49.8x9.1x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022AU$131.7bAU$14.6bAU$2.8b36.7x47.4x9x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022AU$146.7bAU$14.6bAU$2.8b40.8x52.8x10x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021AU$146.6bAU$14.9bAU$2.8b39.9x51.5x9.8x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021AU$155.2bAU$14.1bAU$2.7b44.3x58.4x11x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021AU$144.2bAU$14.5bAU$2.7b40.1x52.8x10x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021AU$153.3bAU$14.0bAU$2.6b44.6x58.4x11x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021AU$141.3bAU$14.0bAU$2.6b41x53.8x10.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

53.8x


Total Market Cap: AU$141.3bTotal Earnings: AU$2.6bTotal Revenue: AU$14.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Biotech Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 53.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Australian Biotechnology industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 46.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 53.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 8.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 6.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Biotechnology industry have grown 7.6% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Biotech compare with similar industries?

AU Market-1.68%
Healthcare-0.085%
Biotech-0.17%
Biotech-0.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
IMM ImmutepAU$0.42-2.3%
AU$87.1m
42.4%PS152.2x
OPT OptheaAU$0.37-23.7%
AU$82.4m
-33.9%PS683.4x
MSB MesoblastAU$1.094.3%
+AU$51.4m
-7.2%PS110.1x
DXB DimerixAU$0.617.0%
+AU$22.0m
942.4%PS37.1x
ARX Aroa BiosurgeryAU$0.631.6%
+AU$3.4m
-29.2%PS3.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

OPT

AU$0.37

Opthea

7D

-23.7%

1Y

-33.9%

TLX

AU$17.20

Telix Pharmaceuticals

7D

-1.4%

1Y

50.2%

IMM

AU$0.42

Immutep

7D

-2.3%

1Y

42.4%

RAC

AU$1.75

Race Oncology

7D

-2.0%

1Y

26.4%

BDX

AU$0.10

BCAL Diagnostics

7D

-16.0%

1Y

16.7%

CSL

AU$288.80

CSL

7D

-0.07%

1Y

1.5%

ACW

AU$0.029

Actinogen Medical

7D

-14.7%

1Y

-37.0%

KZA

AU$0.08

Kazia Therapeutics

7D

-27.3%

1Y

-17.5%

IMU

AU$0.058

Imugene

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-38.3%

MSB

AU$1.09

Mesoblast

7D

4.3%

1Y

-7.2%

RGS

AU$0.013

Regeneus

7D

160.0%

1Y

8.3%

DXB

AU$0.61

Dimerix

7D

7.0%

1Y

942.4%

CUV

AU$14.60

Clinuvel Pharmaceuticals

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-21.0%

VBS

AU$0.096

Vectus Biosystems

7D

23.1%

1Y

-80.8%