Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Machinery Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M28.6%
  • 1Y1.2%
  • YTD4.3%

Last week, the Machinery industry hasn't moved much but Austin Engineering is up 9.1% in that time. Furthermore, the industry has been flat for the past year as well. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 53% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Machinery Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 26 Feb 2024AU$2.5bAU$1.2b-AU$16,550,130.5219.5x-149.2x2x
Wed, 24 Jan 2024AU$2.5bAU$1.2b-AU$25,459,037.0019.5x-98.9x2.1x
Fri, 22 Dec 2023AU$2.3bAU$1.2b-AU$26,442,152.0020.8x-87.1x1.9x
Sun, 19 Nov 2023AU$2.0bAU$1.2b-AU$26,737,321.0019.7x-74x1.7x
Tue, 17 Oct 2023AU$2.0bAU$1.2b-AU$26,385,782.0019x-75.1x1.7x
Thu, 14 Sep 2023AU$2.1bAU$1.2b-AU$26,312,276.0020.3x-79.7x1.8x
Sat, 12 Aug 2023AU$2.0bAU$1.1b-AU$26,325,543.0023.5x-75.5x1.8x
Mon, 10 Jul 2023AU$2.0bAU$1.1b-AU$28,441,165.0020.7x-69.6x1.8x
Wed, 07 Jun 2023AU$1.2bAU$1.1b-AU$14,700,627.0021.3x-79x1.1x
Fri, 05 May 2023AU$1.3bAU$1.1b-AU$14,861,553.0022.9x-86.4x1.2x
Sun, 02 Apr 2023AU$1.2bAU$1.1b-AU$14,827,998.0021x-82.6x1.1x
Tue, 28 Feb 2023AU$1.4bAU$1.3b-AU$22,741,340.0024.6x-59.5x1.1x
Thu, 26 Jan 2023AU$1.3bAU$1.1b-AU$16,773,079.0022.5x-80.2x1.2x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.1b-AU$15,205,491.0022.2x-83.6x1.1x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.1b-AU$15,074,443.0023x-84.6x1.1x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.2b-AU$16,206,204.0022.6x-78.5x1.1x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.1b-AU$14,659,194.0022.5x-91.1x1.2x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.0b-AU$16,673,763.0018.8x-75.4x1.3x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022AU$1.3bAU$1.0b-AU$15,744,375.0019.5x-84.6x1.3x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022AU$1.4bAU$991.3m-AU$28,091,863.0020.3x-49.3x1.4x
Sat, 07 May 2022AU$1.6bAU$1.0b-AU$29,056,376.0020.7x-54.8x1.6x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022AU$1.9bAU$994.9m-AU$27,996,941.0023.2x-66.3x1.9x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022AU$1.9bAU$1.0b-AU$14,360,344.0022x-134.6x1.9x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022AU$1.8bAU$970.9m-AU$24,898,756.0019.9x-70.9x1.8x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021AU$2.1bAU$951.3m-AU$28,879,286.0022.8x-71.9x2.2x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021AU$2.3bAU$950.2m-AU$28,747,372.0023.2x-79.7x2.4x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021AU$2.6bAU$956.9m-AU$27,818,549.0030.7x-92.3x2.7x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021AU$3.1bAU$759.1m-AU$31,022,202.0026.7x-100.9x4.1x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021AU$1.4bAU$952.5m-AU$18,848,068.2420.1x-75.3x1.5x
Mon, 31 May 2021AU$1.3bAU$984.2mAU$1.9m12.2x683.8x1.3x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021AU$1.7bAU$1.3b-AU$5,968,297.5813.4x-289.4x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-289.4x


Total Market Cap: AU$1.7bTotal Earnings: -AU$5,968,297.58Total Revenue: AU$1.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Machinery Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -22.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Machinery industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.6x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Machinery industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Industrials industry?

AU Market-0.021%
Industrials1.50%
Machinery-0.48%
Construction Machinery and Vehicles7.81%
Agricultural Machinery0%
Industrial Machinery-2.82%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Industrial Machinery industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 60% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 40% per year.
    • In contrast, the Construction Machinery and Vehicles industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 27% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    ANG Austin EngineeringAU$0.4210.5%
    +AU$23.5m
    18.3%PE34.6x
    FBR FBRAU$0.02414.3%
    +AU$13.3m
    -21.3%PS64.1x
    3DA Amaero InternationalAU$0.308.9%
    +AU$12.0m
    90.6%PS185x
    VEE VEEMAU$1.286.7%
    +AU$10.9m
    103.2%PE30x
    OLH Oldfields HoldingsAU$0.0925.0%
    +AU$3.6m
    n/aPS0.5x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    MXI

    AU$2.43

    MaxiPARTS

    7D

    1.3%

    1Y

    15.2%

    SLX

    AU$4.50

    Silex Systems

    7D

    -6.6%

    1Y

    13.9%

    LBL

    AU$0.76

    LaserBond

    7D

    -13.2%

    1Y

    -17.9%

    A3D

    AU$0.028

    Aurora Labs

    7D

    3.7%

    1Y

    -6.7%

    KOV

    AU$8.56

    Korvest

    7D

    -3.9%

    1Y

    14.0%

    XRF

    AU$1.11

    XRF Scientific

    7D

    -2.2%

    1Y

    11.6%

    EGL

    AU$0.25

    Environmental Group

    7D

    -3.8%

    1Y

    19.0%

    OLH

    AU$0.09

    Oldfields Holdings

    7D

    25.0%

    1Y

    n/a

    FBR

    AU$0.024

    FBR

    7D

    14.3%

    1Y

    -21.3%

    AL3

    AU$0.077

    AML3D

    7D

    -4.9%

    1Y

    1.3%

    ZGL

    AU$0.052

    Zicom Group

    7D

    30.0%

    1Y

    n/a

    3DA

    AU$0.30

    Amaero International

    7D

    8.9%

    1Y

    90.6%