Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Electronic Equipment and Components Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies16
  • 7D4.2%
  • 3M14.7%
  • 1Y46.7%
  • YTD14.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Electronic Equipment and Components industry has risen 4.2%, driven by gains from Audinate Group of 13%. During this same period, the NOVONIX underperformed, falling 6.8%. This means that the industry has gained 47% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 17% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Electronic Equipment and Components Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024AU$6.5bAU$4.0bAU$43.8m26.6x148.2x1.6x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024AU$5.7bAU$4.1bAU$24.9m21.5x229x1.4x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023AU$5.7bAU$4.1bAU$27.5m22.7x208.3x1.4x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023AU$5.6bAU$4.1bAU$24.6m21.9x225.2x1.3x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023AU$5.5bAU$4.2b-AU$28,309,928.0021.8x-195x1.3x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023AU$5.6bAU$4.2b-AU$25,731,089.0021.4x-216.6x1.3x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023AU$4.9bAU$4.2b-AU$44,164,269.0020.8x-111.1x1.2x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023AU$4.8bAU$4.2b-AU$40,129,319.0019.8x-119.2x1.1x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023AU$5.0bAU$4.2b-AU$47,657,680.0021.1x-105.6x1.2x
Mon, 08 May 2023AU$4.8bAU$4.2b-AU$65,391,440.0020x-73x1.1x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023AU$4.6bAU$4.2b-AU$65,216,473.0020.4x-69.9x1.1x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023AU$4.7bAU$4.2b-AU$60,192,578.00103.6x-78.5x1.1x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023AU$5.3bAU$4.0b-AU$27,909,762.0054.6x-190.5x1.3x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022AU$4.8bAU$4.0b-AU$32,333,727.0053.8x-149x1.2x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022AU$5.3bAU$4.0b-AU$33,498,820.0051.7x-157.8x1.3x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022AU$5.2bAU$4.0b-AU$18,688,941.0054.2x-276.3x1.3x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022AU$5.6bAU$4.0b-AU$14,762,310.0053.4x-379.6x1.4x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022AU$6.8bAU$3.7bAU$8.0m22.5x839.2x1.8x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022AU$6.2bAU$3.7bAU$5.6m22.2x1108.5x1.7x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022AU$6.3bAU$3.7bAU$8.1m20.2x773.6x1.7x
Tue, 10 May 2022AU$6.8bAU$3.7bAU$37.3m21.4x181.3x1.8x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022AU$8.8bAU$3.7bAU$52.2m23.2x169.2x2.4x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022AU$8.0bAU$3.7bAU$50.8m25.3x157.3x2.2x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022AU$9.3bAU$3.2bAU$86.2m16.2x107.4x2.9x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021AU$10.5bAU$3.2bAU$87.5m17.3x120.3x3.3x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021AU$11.4bAU$3.2bAU$97.0m17.2x117.6x3.5x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021AU$9.7bAU$3.2bAU$97.9m19.8x99.2x3x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021AU$9.3bAU$3.2bAU$97.3m20.5x95.3x2.9x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021AU$8.9bAU$3.1bAU$89.9m15.3x98.9x2.8x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021AU$7.7bAU$3.1bAU$71.4m19.3x107.8x2.5x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021AU$7.2bAU$3.0bAU$59.5m20.3x121.2x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

121.2x


Total Market Cap: AU$7.2bTotal Earnings: AU$59.5mTotal Revenue: AU$3.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Electronic Equipment and Components Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 85x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Electronic industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 148x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 85.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electronic industry have declined 9.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Tech industry?

AU Market0.78%
Tech5.88%
Electronic Equipment and Components4.18%
Electronic Manufacturing Services6.92%
Technology Distributors3.66%
Electronic Equipment and Instruments2.71%
Electronic Components0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Electronic Manufacturing Services industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 26.2% and investors are willing to pay a premium for that growth.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Electronic Components industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 80% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Technology Distributors industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 10% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AD8 Audinate GroupAU$23.1812.9%
+AU$220.2m
174.0%PE122.2x
DDR Dicker DataAU$12.597.8%
+AU$164.1m
48.8%PE29.8x
RWL Rubicon WaterAU$0.5025.0%
+AU$17.2m
-42.5%PS1.6x
ELS ElsightAU$0.3811.8%
+AU$6.0m
21.6%PS24.1x
DTZ Dotz NanoAU$0.176.1%
+AU$5.2m
-22.2%PS379.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

RWL

AU$0.50

Rubicon Water

7D

25.0%

1Y

-42.5%

DDR

AU$12.59

Dicker Data

7D

7.8%

1Y

48.8%

RKT

AU$0.008

RocketDNA

7D

-27.3%

1Y

-20.0%

AMO

AU$0.29

Ambertech

7D

7.4%

1Y

7.4%

NVX

AU$0.82

NOVONIX

7D

-6.8%

1Y

-45.0%

ELS

AU$0.38

Elsight

7D

11.8%

1Y

21.6%

CDA

AU$10.23

Codan

7D

-1.2%

1Y

88.1%

TZL

AU$0.032

TZ

7D

-5.9%

1Y

-38.5%

AD8

AU$23.18

Audinate Group

7D

12.9%

1Y

174.0%

DTZ

AU$0.17

Dotz Nano

7D

6.1%

1Y

-22.2%

HTG

AU$0.023

Harvest Technology Group

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-74.7%

SMN

AU$0.43

Structural Monitoring Systems

7D

3.6%

1Y

21.1%

HYD

AU$0.019

Hydrix

7D

-5.0%

1Y

-56.8%