Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Food Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies3
  • 7D3.0%
  • 3M8.2%
  • 1Y-7.5%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Food Retail industry is up 1.8%, with Woolworths Group up 1.7%. During this same period, the Marley Spoon underperformed, falling 50%. In contrast, the industry has lost 11% in the last 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 25% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Food Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Jul 2024AU$75.6bAU$119.8bAU$1.5b20.6x49.4x0.6x
Sat, 15 Jun 2024AU$71.5bAU$119.8bAU$1.5b19.9x46.8x0.6x
Mon, 13 May 2024AU$68.5bAU$119.8bAU$1.5b19.6x44.8x0.6x
Wed, 10 Apr 2024AU$70.5bAU$119.8bAU$1.5b19.8x46.1x0.6x
Fri, 08 Mar 2024AU$71.0bAU$119.8bAU$1.5b19.9x46.5x0.6x
Sun, 04 Feb 2024AU$76.1bAU$116.8bAU$3.2b20.6x23.9x0.7x
Tue, 02 Jan 2024AU$76.1bAU$116.8bAU$3.2b20.6x23.9x0.7x
Thu, 30 Nov 2023AU$70.8bAU$116.8bAU$3.2b19.4x22.2x0.6x
Sat, 28 Oct 2023AU$72.5bAU$116.8bAU$3.2b19.6x22.7x0.6x
Mon, 25 Sep 2023AU$75.4bAU$116.8bAU$3.2b20x23.7x0.6x
Wed, 23 Aug 2023AU$76.4bAU$114.6bAU$3.3b20.5x23.3x0.7x
Fri, 21 Jul 2023AU$81.3bAU$114.4bAU$3.4b21.6x24.1x0.7x
Sun, 18 Jun 2023AU$81.7bAU$114.4bAU$3.4b21.7x24.2x0.7x
Tue, 16 May 2023AU$82.9bAU$114.4bAU$3.4b22x24.6x0.7x
Thu, 13 Apr 2023AU$85.1bAU$114.4bAU$3.4b22.6x25.2x0.7x
Sat, 11 Mar 2023AU$80.6bAU$114.4bAU$3.4b21.7x23.9x0.7x
Mon, 06 Feb 2023AU$80.6bAU$112.2bAU$3.1b24.6x26.1x0.7x
Wed, 04 Jan 2023AU$74.5bAU$112.2bAU$3.1b22.8x24.1x0.7x
Fri, 02 Dec 2022AU$76.9bAU$112.2bAU$3.1b25.3x24.9x0.7x
Sun, 30 Oct 2022AU$74.0bAU$112.2bAU$3.1b25.5x24x0.7x
Tue, 27 Sep 2022AU$76.5bAU$112.2bAU$3.1b25x24.8x0.7x
Thu, 25 Aug 2022AU$82.4bAU$109.4bAU$2.9b26.9x27.9x0.8x
Sat, 23 Jul 2022AU$59.6bAU$69.6bAU$1.9b30.8x31.5x0.9x
Mon, 20 Jun 2022AU$53.2bAU$69.6bAU$1.9b27.8x28.1x0.8x
Wed, 18 May 2022AU$59.7bAU$69.6bAU$1.9b30.7x31.6x0.9x
Fri, 15 Apr 2022AU$60.4bAU$69.6bAU$1.9b30.8x31.9x0.9x
Sun, 13 Mar 2022AU$54.8bAU$69.6bAU$1.9b27.7x29x0.8x
Tue, 08 Feb 2022AU$52.7bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b26.1x26.5x0.8x
Thu, 06 Jan 2022AU$57.8bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b28.4x29.1x0.9x
Sat, 04 Dec 2021AU$59.7bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b28.9x30.1x0.9x
Mon, 01 Nov 2021AU$58.1bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b28.6x29.3x0.9x
Wed, 29 Sep 2021AU$60.4bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b29.3x30.4x0.9x
Fri, 27 Aug 2021AU$64.2bAU$67.3bAU$2.0b30.8x32.3x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

31.5x


Total Market Cap: AU$62.6bTotal Earnings: AU$2.0bTotal Revenue: AU$67.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Food Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 29.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
    There are only 3 companies in the Australian Food Retail industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food Retail industry have declined 8.4% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 21% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Food Retail compare with similar industries?

AU Market3.01%
Consumer Staples2.65%
Food and Staples Retail2.67%
Food Retail3.02%
Drug Retail0%
Big Box Super Stores0%
Food Distributors-1.68%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WOW Woolworths GroupAU$35.152.5%
+AU$1.0b
-8.5%PS0.7x
COL Coles GroupAU$17.641.7%
+AU$386.9m
-2.1%PE23.1x
EDV Endeavour GroupAU$5.252.9%
+AU$268.6m
-11.2%PE18.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

COL

AU$17.64

Coles Group

7D

1.7%

1Y

-2.1%

WOW

AU$35.15

Woolworths Group

7D

2.5%

1Y

-8.5%

MMM

AU$0.018

Marley Spoon

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-85.6%