Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D6.6%
  • 3M17.0%
  • 1Y-14.5%
  • YTD13.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Beverage industry has risen 6.6%, driven by gains from Treasury Wine Estates of 6.9%. During this same period, the Australian Vintage underperformed, falling 6.0%. In contrast, the industry has lost 15% in the last 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 22% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 25 Feb 2024AU$10.2bAU$2.9bAU$172.7m36.6x58.9x3.5x
Tue, 23 Jan 2024AU$8.8bAU$2.9bAU$205.3m33.3x42.8x3x
Thu, 21 Dec 2023AU$9.1bAU$2.9bAU$205.3m34.5x44.2x3.1x
Sat, 18 Nov 2023AU$8.6bAU$2.9bAU$205.3m32.4x41.8x3x
Mon, 16 Oct 2023AU$8.6bAU$2.9bAU$205.3m32.4x41.7x2.9x
Wed, 13 Sep 2023AU$8.7bAU$2.9bAU$205.3m32.8x42.2x3x
Fri, 11 Aug 2023AU$8.8bAU$3.0bAU$334.9m24.9x26.4x3x
Sun, 09 Jul 2023AU$8.1bAU$3.0bAU$334.9m22.7x24.2x2.7x
Tue, 06 Jun 2023AU$8.7bAU$3.0bAU$334.9m24.3x25.9x2.9x
Thu, 04 May 2023AU$10.3bAU$3.0bAU$334.9m29x30.8x3.5x
Sat, 01 Apr 2023AU$9.8bAU$2.9bAU$255.8m35.8x38.4x3.3x
Mon, 27 Feb 2023AU$10.5bAU$2.9bAU$267.0m38.3x39.4x3.6x
Wed, 25 Jan 2023AU$10.9bAU$2.9bAU$265.4m39.4x40.9x3.7x
Fri, 23 Dec 2022AU$10.4bAU$2.9bAU$265.4m37.4x39.1x3.6x
Sun, 20 Nov 2022AU$10.2bAU$2.9bAU$265.4m36.9x38.6x3.5x
Tue, 18 Oct 2022AU$9.7bAU$2.9bAU$265.4m34.8x36.4x3.3x
Thu, 15 Sep 2022AU$10.2bAU$2.9bAU$268.8m41.5x38.1x3.5x
Sat, 13 Aug 2022AU$9.5bAU$2.9bAU$249.4m33.4x38x3.2x
Mon, 11 Jul 2022AU$8.8bAU$2.9bAU$249.4m31.4x35.3x3x
Wed, 08 Jun 2022AU$8.8bAU$2.9bAU$249.4m31.4x35.3x3x
Fri, 06 May 2022AU$8.9bAU$2.9bAU$249.4m31.8x35.8x3x
Sun, 03 Apr 2022AU$9.0bAU$2.9bAU$249.4m33.7x36.3x3.1x
Tue, 01 Mar 2022AU$9.1bAU$2.9bAU$249.8m32.4x36.3x3.1x
Thu, 27 Jan 2022AU$8.6bAU$3.1bAU$265.9m28.8x32.5x2.8x
Sat, 25 Dec 2021AU$9.6bAU$3.1bAU$265.9m31.1x36.2x3.1x
Mon, 22 Nov 2021AU$9.5bAU$3.1bAU$265.9m31.2x35.9x3.1x
Wed, 20 Oct 2021AU$9.3bAU$3.1bAU$265.9m29.9x34.8x3x
Fri, 17 Sep 2021AU$9.5bAU$3.1bAU$264.5m31.9x36.1x3.1x
Sun, 15 Aug 2021AU$9.6bAU$3.1bAU$264.5m30.7x36.2x3.1x
Thu, 10 Jun 2021AU$9.0bAU$3.0bAU$212.8m39.5x42.5x3x
Wed, 03 Mar 2021AU$8.4bAU$2.9bAU$177.7m48.6x47.3x2.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

47.3x


Total Market Cap: AU$8.4bTotal Earnings: AU$177.7mTotal Revenue: AU$2.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 37.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Australian Beverage industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 58.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 37.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Both revenue and earnings for companies in the Beverage industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • This means that sales and the cost of doing business have remained relatively consistent over this period and subsequently, so have profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Australian Consumer Staples industry?

AU Market-0.02%
Consumer Staples-3.93%
Beverage6.63%
Distillers and Wine Makers6.71%
Soft Drinks0%
Brewers-8.00%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Distillers and Wine Makers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 37.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 22.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 31.9% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Brewers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 95% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Distillers and Wine Makers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 22% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TWE Treasury Wine EstatesAU$12.196.9%
+AU$641.0m
-12.6%PE42.5x
TSI Top Shelf International HoldingsAU$0.212.4%
+AU$1.0m
-76.6%PS2.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GDA

AU$0.34

Good Drinks Australia

7D

-8.0%

1Y

-46.9%

AVG

AU$0.35

Australian Vintage

7D

-6.0%

1Y

-40.7%

TSI

AU$0.21

Top Shelf International Holdings

7D

2.4%

1Y

-76.6%

LRK

AU$1.24

LARK Distilling

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-33.7%