Header cover image

Taiwanese (TAIEX) Semiconductors Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies282
  • 7D-2.6%
  • 3M20.8%
  • 1Y46.5%
  • YTD24.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Semiconductors industry has dropped 2.6%, driven by a pullback from Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing of 8.1%. On the other hand Silicon Integrated Systems is actually up 11%. In the past year, the industry has gained 47%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Taiwanese Semiconductors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Apr 2024NT$30.2tNT$5.4tNT$1.2t32.2x25.5x5.5x
Mon, 18 Mar 2024NT$29.0tNT$5.4tNT$1.2t29.6x24.8x5.4x
Wed, 14 Feb 2024NT$25.6tNT$5.3tNT$1.2t27.5x21.9x4.8x
Fri, 12 Jan 2024NT$23.9tNT$5.4tNT$1.2t26.8x19.2x4.5x
Sun, 10 Dec 2023NT$23.5tNT$5.4tNT$1.2t26.6x18.9x4.4x
Tue, 07 Nov 2023NT$22.2tNT$5.4tNT$1.3t22x17.6x4.1x
Thu, 05 Oct 2023NT$21.3tNT$5.6tNT$1.4t22.7x15.5x3.8x
Sat, 02 Sep 2023NT$21.6tNT$5.6tNT$1.4t22.9x15.6x3.8x
Mon, 31 Jul 2023NT$22.2tNT$5.7tNT$1.4t20.1x15.6x3.9x
Wed, 28 Jun 2023NT$22.2tNT$5.9tNT$1.5t19.3x14.6x3.8x
Fri, 26 May 2023NT$20.8tNT$5.9tNT$1.5t17.7x13.5x3.5x
Sun, 23 Apr 2023NT$20.3tNT$6.1tNT$1.6t16.5x12.6x3.3x
Tue, 21 Mar 2023NT$20.6tNT$6.1tNT$1.6t14.7x12.8x3.4x
Thu, 16 Feb 2023NT$20.5tNT$6.1tNT$1.7t12.8x12.4x3.3x
Sat, 14 Jan 2023NT$19.4tNT$6.0tNT$1.5t11.7x12.5x3.2x
Mon, 12 Dec 2022NT$18.9tNT$6.0tNT$1.6t12.1x12.2x3.2x
Wed, 09 Nov 2022NT$15.8tNT$6.0tNT$1.6t10.9x10.1x2.6x
Fri, 07 Oct 2022NT$17.4tNT$5.8tNT$1.4t11.2x12x3x
Sun, 04 Sep 2022NT$18.8tNT$5.8tNT$1.4t13.2x13x3.3x
Tue, 02 Aug 2022NT$19.2tNT$5.7tNT$1.4t12.3x13.4x3.4x
Thu, 30 Jun 2022NT$19.2tNT$5.5tNT$1.3t13.3x14.7x3.5x
Sat, 28 May 2022NT$21.3tNT$5.5tNT$1.3t14.7x16.3x3.9x
Mon, 25 Apr 2022NT$22.1tNT$5.3tNT$1.3t16.4x17.7x4.2x
Wed, 23 Mar 2022NT$23.7tNT$5.2tNT$1.2t18.5x20.2x4.6x
Fri, 18 Feb 2022NT$25.8tNT$5.1tNT$1.2t20.3x22.3x5.1x
Sun, 16 Jan 2022NT$26.6tNT$4.9tNT$1.1t20.1x25.1x5.4x
Tue, 14 Dec 2021NT$25.1tNT$4.9tNT$1.1t21.6x23.7x5.1x
Thu, 11 Nov 2021NT$24.9tNT$4.9tNT$1.0t21.4x23.9x5.1x
Sat, 09 Oct 2021NT$23.2tNT$4.6tNT$952.4b19.5x24.3x5x
Mon, 06 Sep 2021NT$25.2tNT$4.6tNT$952.4b21.5x26.5x5.5x
Wed, 04 Aug 2021NT$24.6tNT$4.6tNT$952.4b23.6x25.8x5.3x
Sat, 08 May 2021NT$24.4tNT$4.3tNT$871.5b24.9x28x5.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

28x


Total Market Cap: NT$24.4tTotal Earnings: NT$871.5bTotal Revenue: NT$4.3tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Taiwanese Semiconductors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 18.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Taiwanese Semiconductor industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 25.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 18.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 5.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Semiconductor industry have grown 11% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Taiwanese Tech industry?

TW Market-2.11%
Tech-2.92%
Semiconductors-2.63%
Semiconductor Equipment-0.29%
Semiconductors-2.72%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Semiconductors industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 18.4x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 18.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 31.8% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Semiconductor Equipment industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 18.3x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Semiconductor Equipment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 20% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 21% per year.
  • In contrast, the Semiconductors industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 19% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2363 Silicon Integrated SystemsNT$68.0010.7%
+NT$4.9b
285.3%PE89.2x
6526 Airoha TechnologyNT$677.004.2%
+NT$4.5b
0.6%PE116x
5274 ASPEED TechnologyNT$3.22k1.6%
+NT$1.9b
23.4%PE121x
5434 Topco ScientificLtdNT$258.003.8%
+NT$1.8b
38.7%PE17.2x
8299 Phison ElectronicsNT$756.001.1%
+NT$1.6b
95.6%PE41.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

6176

NT$177.50

Radiant Opto-Electronics

7D

1.1%

1Y

59.9%

2454

NT$994.00

MediaTek

7D

-15.8%

1Y

49.5%

3131

NT$1,045.00

Grand Process Technology

7D

4.0%

1Y

210.5%

2363

NT$68.00

Silicon Integrated Systems

7D

10.7%

1Y

285.3%

2408

NT$62.10

Nanya Technology

7D

-13.5%

1Y

-3.7%

3675

NT$306.50

Eris Technology

7D

7.9%

1Y

17.0%

5274

NT$3,220.00

ASPEED Technology

7D

1.6%

1Y

23.4%

5269

NT$1,925.00

ASMedia Technology

7D

-14.3%

1Y

64.5%

8299

NT$756.00

Phison Electronics

7D

1.1%

1Y

95.6%