Header cover image

Taiwanese (TAIEX) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies71
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M-0.07%
  • 1Y4.9%
  • YTD0.2%

The Consumer Staples is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but MARX Biotech has stood out, gaining 46%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 4.5% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 9.5% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Taiwanese Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$58.1b22x24.2x1x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024NT$1.4tNT$1.5tNT$58.2b21x23.6x0.9x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$58.2b21.2x23.9x1x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.5tNT$56.1b21.1x24.7x1x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023NT$1.3tNT$1.4tNT$55.7b21.5x23.7x0.9x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$55.7b21.7x24.6x1x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$56.2b23.1x24.7x1x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$53.9b25.3x26.7x1x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$53.8b24x26.8x1x
Tue, 09 May 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$54.9b23.7x26.3x1x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023NT$1.4tNT$1.4tNT$49.1b22.6x27.8x1x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.1b21.5x25.1x1x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.5b20.3x24.1x1x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.5b20.2x23.8x1x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022NT$1.2tNT$1.3tNT$53.5b20x23.3x0.9x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022NT$1.2tNT$1.3tNT$52.4b18.1x23x0.9x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$52.4b20.5x24.2x1x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.4b19.9x23.7x1x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.6b18.8x23.8x1x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$53.6b19.8x23.4x1x
Wed, 11 May 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.3tNT$55.1b19.1x22.8x1x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$55.8b18.6x22.9x1x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$56.9b19x23.1x1.1x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$57.1b18.2x22.6x1.1x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$57.1b18.8x23.2x1.1x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$57.1b18.5x23x1.1x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$63.6b16.4x20.6x1.1x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$63.6b16.2x20.6x1.1x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$63.5b16.2x20.3x1.1x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021NT$1.3tNT$1.2tNT$68.5b16.9x19x1.1x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021NT$1.2tNT$1.2tNT$63.7b17.7x19.1x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.1x


Total Market Cap: NT$1.2tTotal Earnings: NT$63.7bTotal Revenue: NT$1.2tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Taiwanese Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Taiwanese Consumer Staples industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have declined 3.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 7.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Taiwanese Consumer Staples sector?

TW Market0.65%
Consumer Staples0.11%
Food and Staples Retail0.58%
Personal Products0.036%
Tobacco0%
Food-0.033%
Beverage-0.34%
Household Products-1.96%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Personal Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 30.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 11.9%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 18.9% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Household Products industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 24.9x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Household Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 46% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 8.3% per year.
  • In contrast, the Food and Staples Retail industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.4% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
7731 MARX BiotechNT$21.9045.0%
+NT$1.7b
n/an/a
2912 President Chain StoreNT$271.000.4%
+NT$1.0b
1.3%PE26.5x
1229 Lien Hwa Industrial HoldingsNT$65.400.6%
+NT$630.9m
29.1%PE25.8x
1232 TTET UnionNT$145.502.1%
+NT$479.9m
-0.7%PE19.3x
6929 We Can MedicinesNT$109.0011.2%
+NT$440.0m
25.3%PE291.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2912

NT$271.00

President Chain Store

7D

0.4%

1Y

1.3%

1232

NT$145.50

TTET Union

7D

2.1%

1Y

-0.7%

1707

NT$156.50

Grape King Bio

7D

1.0%

1Y

-15.4%

2614

NT$20.35

Eastern Media International

7D

-2.2%

1Y

-44.8%

6844

NT$218.00

Norbel Baby

7D

-2.7%

1Y

10.1%

6703

NT$285.50

Shiny Brands Group

7D

3.1%

1Y

163.8%

6929

NT$109.00

We Can Medicines

7D

11.2%

1Y

25.3%

9919

NT$24.05

KNH Enterprise

7D

-4.2%

1Y

36.3%

1256

NT$250.00

Sunjuice Holdings

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-24.1%

1229

NT$65.40

Lien Hwa Industrial Holdings

7D

0.6%

1Y

29.1%

5903

NT$187.00

Taiwan FamilyMart

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-8.1%

1210

NT$59.00

Great Wall Enterprise

7D

0.5%

1Y

17.5%

2913

NT$20.65

Taiwan Tea

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-8.0%

1227

NT$37.65

Standard Foods

7D

-0.9%

1Y

-9.9%