Header cover image

Taiwanese (TAIEX) Biotech Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies61
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M-3.4%
  • 1Y-22.5%
  • YTD-5.8%

Last week, the Biotech industry hasn't moved much but PELL Bio-Med Technology is up 50% in that time. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 22% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 108% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Taiwanese Biotech Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024NT$456.7bNT$20.8b-NT$12,097,678,000.0050.8x-37.7x21.9x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024NT$438.1bNT$20.8b-NT$9,880,735,000.0038.9x-44.3x21.1x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024NT$436.3bNT$19.9b-NT$9,830,596,000.0040.5x-44.4x21.9x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024NT$471.0bNT$19.8b-NT$9,748,146,000.0039.3x-48.3x23.8x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023NT$486.0bNT$19.9b-NT$9,737,975,000.0042.8x-49.9x24.5x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023NT$463.5bNT$18.4b-NT$10,823,013,000.0049.7x-42.8x25.1x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023NT$477.8bNT$18.3b-NT$10,774,227,000.0043.3x-44.3x26.1x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023NT$480.4bNT$18.3b-NT$10,598,878,000.0042x-45.3x26.2x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023NT$479.3bNT$18.7b-NT$10,724,655,000.0044.6x-44.7x25.7x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023NT$470.8bNT$18.7b-NT$10,709,428,000.0042.6x-44x25.2x
Sat, 20 May 2023NT$478.9bNT$19.3b-NT$9,957,876,000.0042.5x-48.1x24.9x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023NT$514.1bNT$18.5b-NT$9,600,625,000.0042.9x-53.5x27.8x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023NT$492.8bNT$22.3b-NT$7,280,949,000.0037x-67.7x22.1x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023NT$541.1bNT$21.8b-NT$7,778,690,000.0038.2x-69.6x24.8x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023NT$492.7bNT$21.8b-NT$7,778,690,000.0035.9x-63.3x22.6x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022NT$531.5bNT$21.8b-NT$7,522,211,000.0039.1x-70.7x24.4x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022NT$463.0bNT$23.1b-NT$6,633,590,000.0037.6x-69.8x20.1x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022NT$520.9bNT$23.1b-NT$6,633,590,000.0037.4x-78.5x22.6x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022NT$616.8bNT$23.0b-NT$6,443,294,000.0041.6x-95.7x26.8x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022NT$556.4bNT$22.5b-NT$5,642,821,000.0030.9x-98.6x24.7x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022NT$522.9bNT$22.5b-NT$5,642,821,000.0032.2x-92.7x23.2x
Sun, 22 May 2022NT$502.5bNT$22.5b-NT$5,712,843,000.0032.2x-88x22.4x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022NT$546.3bNT$21.5b-NT$5,726,696,000.0034.7x-95.4x25.5x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022NT$492.2bNT$20.0b-NT$4,463,544,000.0026.7x-110.3x24.6x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022NT$445.9bNT$17.9b-NT$5,532,702,000.0026x-80.6x24.9x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022NT$457.2bNT$17.9b-NT$5,532,702,000.0026.2x-82.6x25.5x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021NT$411.6bNT$17.9b-NT$5,579,296,000.0022.6x-73.8x23x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021NT$358.5bNT$15.4b-NT$7,624,179,000.0021.3x-47x23.3x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021NT$371.4bNT$15.4b-NT$7,624,179,000.0021.1x-48.7x24.1x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021NT$390.0bNT$15.4b-NT$7,624,179,000.0021.3x-51.2x25.4x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021NT$404.9bNT$15.4b-NT$7,587,821,000.0024.7x-53.4x26.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-47.7x


Total Market Cap: NT$403.0bTotal Earnings: -NT$8,453,670,500.00Total Revenue: NT$13.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Taiwanese Biotech Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -63x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Taiwanese Biotechs industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 24.6x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 21.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Biotechs industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Taiwanese Healthcare industry?

TW Market1.81%
Healthcare0.75%
Biotech-0.54%
Biotech-0.54%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
6949 PELL Bio-Med TechnologyNT$125.0050.4%
+NT$2.3b
n/aPS373.9x
4147 TaiMed BiologicsNT$94.003.8%
+NT$860.2m
-8.7%PS48.4x
4726 Mycenax BiotechNT$41.656.7%
+NT$534.9m
4.6%PS13.1x
6580 TaiRxNT$39.708.0%
+NT$325.1m
11.8%PS860.9x
3176 Medigen BiotechnologyNT$40.654.4%
+NT$236.9m
15.3%PS4.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

4728

NT$234.00

Sunmax Biotechnology

7D

1.7%

1Y

32.2%

6580

NT$39.70

TaiRx

7D

8.0%

1Y

11.8%

6808

NT$31.55

3D Global Biotech

7D

11.1%

1Y

5.3%

6446

NT$320.50

PharmaEssentia

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-24.0%

4174

NT$62.50

OBI Pharma

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-29.1%

6704

NT$31.70

Gwo Xi Stem Cell Applied Technology

7D

-9.3%

1Y

n/a

6949

NT$125.00

PELL Bio-Med Technology

7D

50.4%

1Y

n/a

6875

NT$79.80

Pharmosa Biopharm

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-4.8%

6976

NT$26.90

Acepodia

7D

-6.9%

1Y

n/a

4147

NT$94.00

TaiMed Biologics

7D

3.8%

1Y

-8.7%

4168

NT$26.85

GlycoNex Incorporation

7D

7.4%

1Y

-17.8%

3176

NT$40.65

Medigen Biotechnology

7D

4.4%

1Y

15.3%

4726

NT$41.65

Mycenax Biotech

7D

6.7%

1Y

4.6%

6617

NT$186.50

Gongwin Biopharm Holdings

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-42.5%

6696

NT$83.10

Lin BioScience

7D

-9.2%

1Y

-57.9%

6550

NT$70.00

Polaris Group

7D

-3.6%

1Y

-28.3%