Header cover image

Taiwanese (TAIEX) Life and Health Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M7.1%
  • 1Y13.8%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Life and Health Insurance industry is up 1.4%, with Cathay Financial Holding up 3.1%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 16%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 27% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Taiwanese Life and Health Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Apr 2024NT$2.0tNT$2.2tNT$111.4b13.2x18.2x0.9x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024NT$1.9tNT$2.0tNT$44.7b16.9x41.5x0.9x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024NT$1.8tNT$1.9tNT$43.1b16.4x41.2x0.9x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024NT$1.8tNT$1.9tNT$43.1b16.7x41.2x0.9x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023NT$1.8tNT$1.8tNT$32.5b17.2x55.5x1x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.8tNT$23.6b36.5x80.2x1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.8tNT$23.6b37.1x78.4x1x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023NT$1.8tNT$1.7tNT$10.7b42.5x172.6x1.1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.7tNT$5.4b45.3x340.6x1.1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.6tNT$5.4b49x355.2x1.2x
Fri, 19 May 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.1tNT$86.1b18.2x22.4x1.8x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.1tNT$86.1b17.5x21.8x1.7x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023NT$1.7tNT$1.4tNT$182.6b9.1x9.4x1.2x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023NT$1.9tNT$1.5tNT$201.7b9.2x9.4x1.2x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023NT$1.8tNT$1.5tNT$201.7b8.7x9x1.2x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022NT$1.8tNT$1.5tNT$204.8b8.6x9x1.3x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022NT$1.6tNT$2.2tNT$260.7b5.9x6.2x0.7x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022NT$1.5tNT$2.2tNT$260.7b5.6x5.9x0.7x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022NT$1.8tNT$2.6tNT$294.0b5.7x6.3x0.7x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022NT$1.8tNT$2.7tNT$303.7b5.8x5.9x0.7x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022NT$2.0tNT$2.7tNT$303.7b6.2x6.5x0.7x
Sat, 21 May 2022NT$2.0tNT$2.9tNT$337.8b5.6x5.9x0.7x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022NT$2.4tNT$3.0tNT$344.6b7.1x7x0.8x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022NT$2.5tNT$3.5tNT$373.5b6.4x6.6x0.7x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022NT$2.6tNT$3.5tNT$369.2b7.6x7.2x0.8x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022NT$2.5tNT$3.5tNT$369.2b7.4x6.8x0.7x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021NT$2.4tNT$3.5tNT$369.2b6.9x6.5x0.7x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021NT$2.2tNT$3.7tNT$349.3b6.4x6.3x0.6x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021NT$2.1tNT$3.7tNT$349.3b6x6.1x0.6x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021NT$2.2tNT$3.7tNT$349.3b6.2x6.2x0.6x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021NT$2.0tNT$3.7tNT$349.3b5.8x5.6x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

6.4x


Total Market Cap: NT$1.9tTotal Earnings: NT$289.2bTotal Revenue: NT$3.7tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Taiwanese Life and Health Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 45.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Taiwanese Life and Health Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 45.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.91x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Life and Health Insurance industry have declined 27% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 16% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does Taiwanese Life and Health Insurance compare with similar industries?

TW Market1.81%
Financials0.87%
Insurance0.69%
Life and Health Insurance0.60%
Property and Casualty Insurance3.49%
Reinsurance2.65%
General Insurance0.84%
Insurance Brokers0.21%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2882 Cathay Financial HoldingNT$49.052.1%
+NT$14.7b
13.7%PE15.1x
2888 Shin Kong Financial HoldingNT$8.262.9%
+NT$3.6b
-3.7%PS0.5x
2867 Mercuries Life InsuranceNT$5.3511.0%
+NT$2.7b
-0.9%PS0.3x
2905 Mercuries & Associates HoldingNT$13.659.6%
+NT$1.3b
-11.4%PS0.1x
5859 Farglory Life InsuranceNT$13.001.2%
+NT$188.2m
9.0%PE7.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

2905

NT$13.65

Mercuries & Associates Holding

7D

9.6%

1Y

-11.4%

2867

NT$5.35

Mercuries Life Insurance

7D

11.0%

1Y

-0.9%

5859

NT$13.00

Farglory Life Insurance

7D

1.2%

1Y

9.0%

2882

NT$49.05

Cathay Financial Holding

7D

2.1%

1Y

13.7%

2888

NT$8.26

Shin Kong Financial Holding

7D

2.9%

1Y

-3.7%