Header cover image

Australian (ASX) Homebuilding Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D0.2%
  • 3M-8.0%
  • 1Y-34.1%
  • YTD-35.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Homebuilding industry has remained flat, although notably Simonds Group declined by 17%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 36% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 99% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Australian Homebuilding Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 28 Nov 2022AU$414.7mAU$1.4b-AU$43,110,000.0021.5x-9.6x0.3x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022AU$444.2mAU$1.4b-AU$43,110,000.0021.7x-10.3x0.3x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022AU$408.7mAU$1.4b-AU$43,110,000.0019.9x-9.5x0.3x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022AU$457.4mAU$1.4b-AU$12,150,000.0014x-37.6x0.3x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022AU$269.2mAU$1.2b-AU$25,228,000.0013x-10.7x0.2x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022AU$272.4mAU$1.2b-AU$25,228,000.0015.5x-10.8x0.2x
Sat, 14 May 2022AU$301.0mAU$1.2b-AU$25,228,000.0016.7x-11.9x0.3x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022AU$348.3mAU$1.2b-AU$25,228,000.0019.5x-13.8x0.3x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022AU$328.3mAU$1.2b-AU$25,228,000.0018x-13x0.3x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022AU$380.6mAU$1.1bAU$27.2m14.8x14x0.3x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022AU$388.4mAU$1.1bAU$27.2m15x14.3x0.3x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021AU$374.4mAU$1.1bAU$27.2m14.7x13.8x0.3x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021AU$401.9mAU$1.1bAU$27.2m15.9x14.8x0.4x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021AU$391.1mAU$1.1bAU$25.9m14.8x15.1x0.4x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021AU$435.8mAU$1.1bAU$25.9m15.9x16.8x0.4x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021AU$409.9mAU$1.1bAU$25.9m15.8x15.8x0.4x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021AU$418.1mAU$1.1bAU$18.6m16.1x22.4x0.4x
Mon, 04 Jan 2021AU$356.3mAU$1.1bAU$11.3m16.6x31.4x0.3x
Thu, 08 Oct 2020AU$301.6mAU$1.1bAU$10.6m12.6x28.6x0.3x
Wed, 01 Jul 2020AU$270.8mAU$1.1bAU$9.8m11.3x27.7x0.3x
Sat, 04 Apr 2020AU$228.5mAU$1.1bAU$23.2m10.3x9.8x0.2x
Tue, 07 Jan 2020AU$350.1mAU$1.1bAU$23.4m17.4x15x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.1x


Total Market Cap: AU$347.6mTotal Earnings: AU$26.6mTotal Revenue: AU$1.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Australian Homebuilding Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.6x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Australian Homebuilding industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.31x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Homebuilding industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 10.0% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Australian Homebuilding compare with similar industries?

AU Market1.17%
Consumer Discretionary1.28%
Consumer Durables-0.76%
Homebuilding0.19%
Home Furnishings1.75%
Housewares and Specialties0%
Household Appliances-0.95%
Consumer Electronics-1.48%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FWD FleetwoodAU$1.513.4%
+AU$4.7m
-33.8%PS0.3x
TWD TamawoodAU$2.520.8%
+AU$694.9k
-24.6%PE30.3x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

TWD

AU$2.52

Tamawood

7D

0.8%

1Y

-24.6%

SIO

AU$0.13

Simonds Group

7D

-16.7%

1Y

-70.6%

FWD

AU$1.51

Fleetwood

7D

3.4%

1Y

-33.8%