Header cover image

Swedish (OMX) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies94
  • 7D0.2%
  • 3M5.2%
  • 1Y-2.7%
  • YTD-2.0%

The Consumer Discretionary industry is up 1.0% in the last week, with Volvo Car AB (publ.) up 2.2%. Meanwhile, Betsson actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 14% in the last week. Overall in the last year, the industry is flat. Earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Swedish Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 20 Feb 2024kr915.5bkr1.1tkr37.2b18.3x24.6x0.8x
Thu, 18 Jan 2024kr891.4bkr1.1tkr38.0b17.6x23.4x0.8x
Sat, 16 Dec 2023kr956.0bkr1.1tkr37.7b18.2x25.3x0.8x
Mon, 13 Nov 2023kr860.0bkr1.1tkr40.2b17x21.4x0.8x
Wed, 11 Oct 2023kr908.3bkr1.1tkr37.0b13.7x24.6x0.8x
Fri, 08 Sep 2023kr928.5bkr1.1tkr34.7b14.4x26.8x0.8x
Sun, 06 Aug 2023kr1.0tkr1.1tkr34.1b16.6x29.4x0.9x
Tue, 04 Jul 2023kr1.0tkr1.1tkr41.0b15.2x25.2x1x
Thu, 01 Jun 2023kr1.1tkr1.1tkr41.3b16.2x27.6x1.1x
Sat, 29 Apr 2023kr1.2tkr1.1tkr42.4b15.6x27.8x1.1x
Mon, 27 Mar 2023kr884.5bkr1.0tkr41.7b16.1x21.2x0.9x
Wed, 22 Feb 2023kr947.8bkr1.0tkr42.5b15.8x22.3x0.9x
Fri, 20 Jan 2023kr907.7bkr1.0tkr51.6b13.8x17.6x0.9x
Sun, 18 Dec 2022kr835.1bkr1.0tkr51.7b14x16.2x0.8x
Tue, 15 Nov 2022kr902.6bkr1.0tkr51.5b13.4x17.5x0.9x
Thu, 13 Oct 2022kr765.8bkr978.9bkr55.3b11.1x13.8x0.8x
Sat, 10 Sep 2022kr849.4bkr967.3bkr58.6b13.2x14.5x0.9x
Mon, 08 Aug 2022kr971.3bkr966.4bkr59.7b13.4x16.3x1x
Wed, 06 Jul 2022kr908.2bkr954.4bkr53.3b13.1x17x1x
Fri, 03 Jun 2022kr1.0tkr952.8bkr52.6b17.1x19.9x1.1x
Sun, 01 May 2022kr1.0tkr947.0bkr53.2b17.1x19.2x1.1x
Tue, 29 Mar 2022kr1.0tkr923.2bkr53.4b16.9x18.9x1.1x
Thu, 24 Feb 2022kr1.1tkr916.6bkr53.1b20.7x20.2x1.2x
Sat, 22 Jan 2022kr1.2tkr906.7bkr53.3b19.9x23.4x1.4x
Mon, 20 Dec 2021kr1.2tkr903.3bkr53.2b19.9x23.3x1.4x
Wed, 17 Nov 2021kr1.3tkr904.8bkr53.5b18.3x25x1.5x
Fri, 15 Oct 2021kr1.1tkr650.3bkr40.0b18.9x27.8x1.7x
Sun, 12 Sep 2021kr1.2tkr641.8bkr36.9b17.9x32.2x1.8x
Tue, 10 Aug 2021kr1.2tkr635.6bkr39.5b17.3x29.9x1.9x
Mon, 03 May 2021kr1.3tkr591.2bkr25.6b19.9x49x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

54.5x


Total Market Cap: kr1.0tTotal Earnings: kr18.8bTotal Revenue: kr574.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swedish Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swedish Consumer Discretionary industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 25.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.82x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Discretionary industry have grown 26% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 25% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swedish Consumer Discretionary sector?

SE Market1.26%
Consumer Discretionary0.19%
Leisure2.42%
Auto2.38%
Luxury2.12%
General Merchandise and Department Stores1.89%
Specialty Stores0.52%
Auto Components0.25%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
Consumer Durables-0.20%
Hospitality-1.10%
Retail Distributors-2.91%
Consumer Services-5.72%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the General Merchandise and Department Stores industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 116x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 28.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 3.8% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Consumer Durables industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 60% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 26% per year.
  • In contrast, the Retail Distributors industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
VOLCAR B Volvo Car AB (publ.)kr38.702.5%
+kr2.8b
-24.1%PE8.8x
HM B H & M Hennes & Mauritzkr142.060.6%
+kr1.2b
10.3%PE26.2x
CLAS B Clas Ohlsonkr170.2012.3%
+kr1.2b
148.3%PE38.2x
THULE Thule Groupkr291.402.5%
+kr740.1m
25.1%PE28x
MEKO Mekokr113.106.2%
+kr369.5m
-8.9%PE15.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ACAD

kr50.00

AcadeMedia

7D

-5.9%

1Y

1.5%

MEKO

kr113.10

Meko

7D

6.2%

1Y

-8.9%

THULE

kr291.40

Thule Group

7D

2.5%

1Y

25.1%

BETS B

kr107.60

Betsson

7D

-10.9%

1Y

11.4%

SHOT

kr48.40

Scandic Hotels Group

7D

-4.2%

1Y

39.4%

JM

kr172.60

JM

7D

2.5%

1Y

-22.6%

NEWA B

kr111.56

New Wave Group

7D

2.2%

1Y

15.4%

BOOZT

kr129.60

Boozt

7D

3.2%

1Y

7.3%

VOLCAR B

kr38.70

Volvo Car AB (publ.)

7D

2.5%

1Y

-24.1%