Header cover image

Swedish (OMX) Media Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D-23.1%
  • 3M-90.7%
  • 1Y8.4%
  • YTD-61.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Media industry has dropped 23%, driven by a pullback from Viaplay Group of 48%. On the other hand Storytel is actually up 14%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 8.4%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 101% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swedish Media Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024kr11.4bkr27.3b-kr7,993,640,237.00112.4x-1.4x0.4x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024kr6.0bkr27.3b-kr7,378,391,028.00110.5x-0.8x0.2x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023kr6.3bkr27.3b-kr7,378,391,028.00108.1x-0.9x0.2x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023kr6.8bkr26.7b-kr6,739,875,028.0054.2x-1x0.3x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023kr7.1bkr26.4b-kr6,737,239,028.0051.2x-1.1x0.3x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023kr7.9bkr26.4b-kr6,737,239,028.0050x-1.2x0.3x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023kr9.6bkr26.2b-kr6,677,808,237.0031.6x-1.4x0.4x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023kr10.3bkr25.2b-kr633,622,237.0030.2x-16.2x0.4x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023kr22.4bkr25.2b-kr634,398,237.0031.3x-35.2x0.9x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023kr26.4bkr24.9b-kr788,336,237.0010.7x-33.5x1.1x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023kr25.2bkr23.7b-kr16,358,719.0018.1x-1537.5x1.1x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023kr26.9bkr23.5b-kr114,732,535.0031.5x-234x1.1x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023kr24.9bkr22.2bkr134.9m29.1x184.5x1.1x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022kr22.6bkr22.2bkr151.7m25.8x149.3x1x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022kr21.8bkr22.1bkr161.2m25.2x134.9x1x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022kr22.8bkr20.8bkr245.6m23.5x92.9x1.1x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022kr26.3bkr20.8bkr250.6m26.5x104.8x1.3x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022kr30.2bkr20.8bkr246.2m30.3x122.8x1.5x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022kr22.9bkr19.8bkr100.2m21.2x228.9x1.2x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022kr30.1bkr19.8bkr100.2m23.5x300x1.5x
Mon, 02 May 2022kr34.0bkr19.5bkr278.0m32.8x122.4x1.7x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022kr40.2bkr19.5b-kr96,706,399.0047.8x-415.9x2.1x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022kr33.6bkr19.4b-kr111,350,399.0046.2x-302x1.7x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022kr44.7bkr18.8bkr76.5m23.9x584.2x2.4x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021kr48.5bkr18.1bkr57.4m21.7x846x2.7x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021kr53.7bkr18.5bkr44.5m39.7x1208.7x2.9x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021kr54.4bkr17.8bkr711.0m49.7x76.5x3.1x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021kr58.4bkr17.8bkr711.0m46.8x82.1x3.3x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021kr54.3bkr17.8bkr711.0m34.7x76.3x3.1x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021kr49.2bkr17.1bkr3.2b16.9x15.3x2.9x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021kr45.2bkr17.3bkr2.6b27.5x17.2x2.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

17.2x


Total Market Cap: kr45.2bTotal Earnings: kr2.6bTotal Revenue: kr17.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swedish Media Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -266.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Swedish Media industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.42x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Media industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 16% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swedish Telecom industry?

SE Market1.96%
Telecom-1.25%
Media-23.05%
Publishing13.69%
Cable and Satellite0%
Advertising-1.50%
Broadcasting-48.14%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Advertising industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 106% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 67% per year.
    • In contrast, the Publishing industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 97% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    STORY B Storytelkr57.2513.9%
    +kr539.8m
    30.0%PS1.3x
    AWRD Awarditkr95.002.8%
    +kr22.5m
    -33.9%PE112.4x
    NEPA Nepakr31.201.6%
    +kr3.9m
    -12.6%PS0.8x
    ADTR Adtraction Groupkr48.600.4%
    +kr3.3m
    12.5%PE318x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    AWRD

    kr95.00

    Awardit

    7D

    2.8%

    1Y

    -33.9%

    ADVT

    kr6.68

    Adverty

    7D

    -16.1%

    1Y

    76.7%

    STORY B

    kr57.25

    Storytel

    7D

    13.9%

    1Y

    30.0%

    ADTR

    kr48.60

    Adtraction Group

    7D

    0.4%

    1Y

    12.5%

    TRAD

    kr4.49

    TradeDoubler

    7D

    -2.4%

    1Y

    -25.0%

    HOI B

    kr0.49

    Hoi Publishing

    7D

    -4.3%

    1Y

    -56.6%

    NEPA

    kr31.20

    Nepa

    7D

    1.6%

    1Y

    -12.6%

    PLEX

    kr0.11

    Plexian

    7D

    -25.8%

    1Y

    -56.4%

    N55

    kr3.40

    News55

    7D

    -5.6%

    1Y

    12.6%

    ENRO

    kr0.56

    Eniro Group

    7D

    -5.1%

    1Y

    -18.2%