Header cover image

Swedish (OMX) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies28
  • 7D-0.3%
  • 3M-1.5%
  • 1Y-4.0%
  • YTD-1.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has dropped 1.1%, driven by a pullback from AAK AB (publ.) of 2.6%. Over the last year, the industry has been flat overall. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 12% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Swedish Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024kr314.4bkr316.0bkr15.1b20.1x20.9x1x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024kr307.0bkr317.0bkr14.4b17.2x21.3x1x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023kr313.3bkr344.0bkr14.1b17.7x22.2x0.9x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023kr315.8bkr344.2bkr14.1b15.3x22.3x0.9x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023kr293.3bkr339.9bkr13.6b17x21.6x0.9x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023kr301.7bkr339.7bkr13.6b17.6x22.2x0.9x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023kr310.7bkr339.3bkr13.6b20.5x22.9x0.9x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023kr320.0bkr331.2bkr11.9b23.9x27x1x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023kr326.2bkr330.5bkr11.8b24.2x27.6x1x
Tue, 09 May 2023kr348.7bkr330.4bkr11.9b27.9x29.4x1.1x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023kr341.2bkr317.2bkr9.5b26.7x35.8x1.1x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023kr325.3bkr317.2bkr9.5b26.9x34.2x1x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023kr315.9bkr310.2bkr9.4b28.7x33.8x1x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022kr326.8bkr300.3bkr9.2b25.4x35.7x1.1x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022kr311.4bkr300.3bkr9.1b23.5x34.3x1x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022kr271.6bkr285.4bkr10.7b23.8x25.3x1x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022kr297.9bkr280.4bkr10.6b25.3x28.1x1.1x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022kr324.8bkr278.9bkr10.8b28.4x30.1x1.2x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022kr327.8bkr260.7bkr11.1b26.5x29.4x1.3x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022kr307.6bkr257.3bkr10.9b25.1x28.2x1.2x
Wed, 11 May 2022kr305.1bkr254.5bkr11.2b26.6x27.2x1.2x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022kr299.2bkr243.7bkr13.0b21.9x23x1.2x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022kr384.8bkr371.4bkr17.5b24.5x22x1x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022kr410.9bkr364.6bkr17.2b21.3x23.9x1.1x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021kr446.7bkr361.1bkr17.8b22.6x25.1x1.2x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021kr432.9bkr358.0bkr17.6b22.8x24.6x1.2x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021kr397.3bkr355.0bkr17.5b23.2x22.7x1.1x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021kr392.9bkr352.1bkr17.0b23.5x23.1x1.1x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021kr415.7bkr352.1bkr17.1b24.4x24.4x1.2x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021kr404.0bkr348.4bkr17.6b23.6x23x1.2x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021kr369.7bkr352.9bkr18.6b21.6x19.9x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.9x


Total Market Cap: kr369.7bTotal Earnings: kr18.6bTotal Revenue: kr352.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swedish Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 26.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Swedish Consumer Staples industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 20.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 26.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have declined 6.6% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 3.4% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swedish Consumer Staples sector?

SE Market0.82%
Consumer Staples-0.31%
Food and Staples Retail2.48%
Household Products-0.22%
Food-2.30%
Beverage-2.61%
Personal Products-5.13%
Tobacco-20.25%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Beverage industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 24.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 19.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 21.1% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Tobacco industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 86% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Food industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.9% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AXFO Axfoodkr289.401.9%
+kr1.1b
16.6%PE26.5x
SCST Scandi Standardkr68.002.3%
+kr98.0m
22.9%PE16.5x
CHEF Cheffelokr25.408.5%
+kr25.4m
209.8%PE16.7x
NICO Nicoccino Holdingkr2.008.7%
+kr4.9m
13.0%PS378.5x
NNH New Nordic Healthbrandskr20.002.3%
+kr2.8m
-28.3%PS0.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CLA B

kr17.88

Cloetta

7D

-1.8%

1Y

-19.7%

ESSITY B

kr241.70

Essity

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-15.2%

NNH

kr20.00

New Nordic Healthbrands

7D

2.3%

1Y

-28.3%

LOHILO

kr1.07

Lohilo Foods

7D

3.9%

1Y

-44.3%

CHEF

kr25.40

Cheffelo

7D

8.5%

1Y

209.8%

VIVA

kr36.20

Viva Wine Group

7D

-1.6%

1Y

-19.6%

MSON B

kr7.00

Midsona

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-18.6%

AXFO

kr289.40

Axfood

7D

1.9%

1Y

16.6%

KOBR B

kr113.00

Kopparbergs Bryggeri

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-14.4%

NICO

kr2.00

Nicoccino Holding

7D

8.7%

1Y

13.0%

HUMBLE

kr10.31

Humble Group

7D

-4.4%

1Y

14.6%

ARCTIC

kr0.24

Arctic Blue Beverages

7D

32.1%

1Y

-64.0%

SKMO

kr59.20

Skåne-möllan

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-43.1%

VOLAB

kr0.77

Veg of Lund

7D

9.3%

1Y

-30.9%