Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Entertainment Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D3.3%
  • 3M-3.6%
  • 1Y-43.7%
  • YTD-4.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Entertainment industry has risen 3.3%, driven by gains in Cineplex and WildBrain of 2.6% and 5.9%, respectively. During this same period, the Personas Social underperformed, falling 7.7%. In contrast, the industry has lost 44% in the last 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 111% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Entertainment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 21 May 2024CA$493.8mCA$1.2b-CA$121,098,665.0014.8x-4.1x0.4x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024CA$586.7mCA$1.5b-CA$173,832,396.35393.4x-3.4x0.4x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024CA$644.7mCA$1.6b-CA$212,789,192.3615.4x-3x0.4x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024CA$599.3mCA$1.6b-CA$213,667,140.0613x-2.8x0.4x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024CA$665.3mCA$1.7b-CA$254,554,465.0013x-2.6x0.4x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023CA$651.2mCA$1.7b-CA$247,751,336.008.7x-2.6x0.4x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023CA$727.8mCA$1.9b-CA$408,477,687.008.6x-1.8x0.4x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023CA$783.0mCA$1.9b-CA$407,991,781.003.7x-1.9x0.4x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023CA$924.9mCA$1.9b-CA$371,747,886.0013.3x-2.5x0.5x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023CA$927.9mCA$1.8b-CA$354,845,461.006.3x-2.6x0.5x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023CA$897.9mCA$1.8b-CA$361,565,270.006.3x-2.5x0.5x
Wed, 24 May 2023CA$982.6mCA$1.7b-CA$323,020,611.0015.4x-3x0.6x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023CA$995.0mCA$1.6b-CA$299,018,949.0097x-3.3x0.6x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023CA$986.6mCA$1.8b-CA$307,899,184.00106.6x-3.2x0.5x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023CA$1.1bCA$1.8b-CA$142,427,423.0058.9x-7.8x0.6x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023CA$1.2bCA$1.8b-CA$113,842,497.0021.4x-10.2x0.6x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022CA$1.1bCA$1.8b-CA$113,893,130.0023.2x-9.6x0.6x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022CA$1.0bCA$2.0b-CA$160,600,598.0025.3x-6.3x0.5x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022CA$1.2bCA$1.9b-CA$162,700,525.0021.5x-7.4x0.6x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.9b-CA$148,560,012.0019.1x-8.5x0.7x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022CA$1.2bCA$1.9b-CA$170,328,930.0025.5x-7.3x0.6x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.9b-CA$157,098,609.0028x-8.2x0.7x
Thu, 26 May 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.9b-CA$163,967,695.0033x-8x0.7x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022CA$1.5bCA$1.9b-CA$216,253,144.0012.5x-6.9x0.8x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022CA$1.8bCA$1.7b-CA$209,233,029.0011.6x-8.5x1x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022CA$1.9bCA$1.7b-CA$151,634,977.0021.8x-12.3x1.1x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022CA$2.0bCA$1.6b-CA$147,566,598.0023.4x-13.4x1.2x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021CA$2.0bCA$1.7b-CA$149,150,425.0023.2x-13.2x1.2x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021CA$4.8bCA$1.4b-CA$213,004,402.0031.6x-22.3x3.4x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021CA$4.5bCA$1.4b-CA$199,549,001.0030.9x-22.7x3.2x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021CA$4.6bCA$1.4b-CA$202,591,185.2628.7x-22.7x3.3x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021CA$3.1bCA$1.4b-CA$202,591,185.2628.6x-15.1x2.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-15.8x


Total Market Cap: CA$3.0bTotal Earnings: -CA$191,144,130.85Total Revenue: CA$1.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Entertainment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -8.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Entertainment industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.00x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Entertainment industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since losses are shrinking while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Telecom industry?

CA Market1.08%
Telecom1.17%
Entertainment3.31%
Movies and Entertainment3.85%
Interactive Home Entertainment0.32%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Movies and Entertainment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 122% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 67% per year.
    • In contrast, the Interactive Home Entertainment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 46% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    CGX CineplexCA$8.432.6%
    +CA$13.4m
    -15.8%PE5x
    WILD WildBrainCA$1.085.9%
    +CA$12.4m
    -51.4%PS0.5x
    INIK PopReachCA$0.1319.0%
    +CA$6.0m
    -43.2%PS0.2x
    TBRD Thunderbird Entertainment GroupCA$1.835.8%
    +CA$5.0m
    -49.9%PS0.6x
    GET GameOn Entertainment TechnologiesCA$0.1115.8%
    +CA$1.1m
    37.5%PS6.4x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    GAME

    CA$1.80

    GameSquare Holdings

    7D

    -0.6%

    1Y

    n/a

    BRMI

    CA$0.84

    Boat Rocker Media

    7D

    -1.2%

    1Y

    -59.0%

    INIK

    CA$0.13

    PopReach

    7D

    19.0%

    1Y

    -43.2%

    TBRD

    CA$1.83

    Thunderbird Entertainment Group

    7D

    5.8%

    1Y

    -49.9%

    EAGR

    CA$0.76

    East Side Games Group

    7D

    -1.3%

    1Y

    15.2%

    WILD

    CA$1.08

    WildBrain

    7D

    5.9%

    1Y

    -51.4%

    CGX

    CA$8.43

    Cineplex

    7D

    2.6%

    1Y

    -15.8%

    OAM

    CA$0.30

    OverActive Media

    7D

    -1.6%

    1Y

    90.6%

    NTE

    CA$0.35

    Network Media Group

    7D

    -2.7%

    1Y

    42.0%

    PRSN

    CA$0.06

    Personas Social

    7D

    -7.7%

    1Y

    -20.0%

    BP

    CA$0.04

    Backstageplay

    7D

    -20.0%

    1Y

    -46.7%

    GET

    CA$0.11

    GameOn Entertainment Technologies

    7D

    15.8%

    1Y

    37.5%

    TNJ

    CA$0.02

    Boba Mint Holdings

    7D

    33.3%

    1Y

    n/a