Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Auto Components Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M0.8%
  • 1Y-5.9%
  • YTD-6.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Auto Components industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by Magna International declining 1.9%. Overall the industry is down 5.9% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Auto Components Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024CA$26.1bCA$73.1bCA$2.4b10.6x11.1x0.4x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024CA$27.7bCA$74.0bCA$2.1b11.1x13.5x0.4x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023CA$28.6bCA$72.9bCA$2.0b11.6x14.1x0.4x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023CA$27.7bCA$74.7bCA$2.1b12.3x13.4x0.4x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023CA$26.9bCA$72.0bCA$1.9b12.3x14.2x0.4x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023CA$27.8bCA$71.4bCA$1.9b13.2x14.8x0.4x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023CA$28.5bCA$71.0bCA$1.9b14.4x15.4x0.4x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023CA$28.5bCA$67.3bCA$1.1b13.9x25.3x0.4x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023CA$26.2bCA$67.7bCA$1.1b13.9x23.3x0.4x
Sat, 06 May 2023CA$26.6bCA$67.1bCA$1.1b13.5x24.2x0.4x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023CA$26.9bCA$66.0bCA$1.3b13.1x20.8x0.4x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023CA$28.4bCA$65.8bCA$1.2b14.3x23.7x0.4x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023CA$29.7bCA$63.7bCA$1.7b13.4x17.7x0.5x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022CA$27.0bCA$64.7bCA$1.7b12.8x15.9x0.4x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022CA$29.4bCA$64.3bCA$1.7b12.8x17.4x0.5x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022CA$25.4bCA$62.6bCA$1.3b13.4x20.3x0.4x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022CA$26.8bCA$60.7bCA$1.2b15.5x21.9x0.4x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022CA$30.2bCA$58.8bCA$1.2b16.7x25.2x0.5x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022CA$26.8bCA$58.5bCA$2.0b12.9x13.6x0.5x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022CA$29.5bCA$57.2bCA$1.9b14x15.3x0.5x
Sun, 08 May 2022CA$27.5bCA$57.9bCA$2.0b13.9x13.8x0.5x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022CA$29.1bCA$57.0bCA$2.3b11.8x12.8x0.5x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022CA$32.5bCA$57.9bCA$2.4b9.9x13.4x0.6x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022CA$35.9bCA$60.2bCA$2.8b9.9x12.7x0.6x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021CA$37.3bCA$60.4bCA$2.8b10.1x13.1x0.6x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021CA$39.0bCA$60.0bCA$2.8b9.9x13.8x0.7x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021CA$37.2bCA$60.3bCA$3.4b9.2x11x0.6x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021CA$35.3bCA$61.9bCA$3.5b9.4x10.2x0.6x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021CA$37.9bCA$60.5bCA$3.4b9.5x11.2x0.6x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021CA$43.2bCA$54.0bCA$1.7b14x25.3x0.8x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021CA$39.0bCA$52.3bCA$1.2b15.4x32.1x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

32.1x


Total Market Cap: CA$39.0bTotal Earnings: CA$1.2bTotal Revenue: CA$52.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Auto Components Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Auto Components industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.51x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Auto Components industry have grown 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Consumer Discretionary industry?

CA Market0.64%
Consumer Discretionary-0.11%
Auto Components-1.44%
Tires and Rubber0%
Auto Parts and Equipment-1.44%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Auto Parts and Equipment industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 20.6%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 32.0% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Auto Parts and Equipment industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 17.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Auto Parts and Equipment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 21% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 32% per year.
  • In contrast, the Auto Parts and Equipment industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 21% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LNR LinamarCA$66.580.3%
+CA$12.9m
-10.3%PE8.4x
XTC Exco TechnologiesCA$7.473.5%
+CA$9.7m
-2.4%PE10.6x
ABCT ABC Technologies HoldingsCA$6.730.6%
+CA$4.6m
43.8%PS0.4x
MRE Martinrea InternationalCA$13.980.1%
+CA$1.6m
0%PE5.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MRE

CA$13.98

Martinrea International

7D

0.1%

1Y

0%

ABCT

CA$6.73

ABC Technologies Holdings

7D

0.6%

1Y

43.8%