Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Steel Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D1.4%
  • 3M29.7%
  • 1Y27.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Steel industry has risen 1.4%, driven by gains from Stelco Holdings of 2.3%. Meanwhile, ADF Group actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 6.5% in the last week. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 27%. In the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 4.8% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Steel Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 25 Jul 2024CA$6.7bCA$4.1bCA$481.1m9x14x1.7x
Sat, 22 Jun 2024CA$5.1bCA$4.1bCA$481.0m9.8x10.5x1.2x
Mon, 20 May 2024CA$5.5bCA$4.1bCA$473.3m10x11.6x1.3x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024CA$5.3bCA$4.0bCA$388.2m10.5x13.6x1.3x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024CA$5.1bCA$4.0bCA$380.7m9.8x13.3x1.3x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024CA$5.0bCA$4.0bCA$406.9m9.8x12.4x1.3x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024CA$5.5bCA$4.0bCA$406.9m9.3x13.5x1.4x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023CA$5.1bCA$4.0bCA$398.9m8x12.8x1.3x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023CA$4.8bCA$4.1bCA$499.8m6.4x9.5x1.2x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023CA$4.9bCA$4.1bCA$495.2m7.2x9.8x1.2x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023CA$4.9bCA$4.1bCA$486.1m7.5x10.1x1.2x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023CA$5.3bCA$4.3bCA$955.9m3.8x5.5x1.2x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023CA$4.9bCA$4.3bCA$955.8m4.9x5.1x1.1x
Tue, 23 May 2023CA$5.0bCA$4.3bCA$953.7m4.7x5.3x1.2x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023CA$5.5bCA$4.5bCA$1.2b5.6x4.4x1.2x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023CA$5.6bCA$4.5bCA$1.3b5.1x4.4x1.2x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023CA$5.7bCA$5.1bCA$1.9b6.6x3.1x1.1x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023CA$5.6bCA$5.1bCA$1.9b6x3x1.1x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022CA$5.1bCA$5.1bCA$1.9b5.9x2.8x1x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022CA$4.6bCA$5.6bCA$2.3b3.6x2x0.8x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022CA$4.7bCA$5.6bCA$2.3b3.8x2x0.8x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022CA$5.0bCA$5.6bCA$2.3b3.9x2.1x0.9x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022CA$5.0bCA$5.5bCA$2.2b4.5x2.3x0.9x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022CA$5.1bCA$5.5bCA$2.2b5x2.3x0.9x
Wed, 25 May 2022CA$5.5bCA$5.5bCA$2.2b4.4x2.5x1x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022CA$6.8bCA$5.2bCA$2.1b5.9x3.3x1.3x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022CA$7.0bCA$5.2bCA$2.1b5x3.4x1.4x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022CA$6.3bCA$4.4bCA$1.4b4.6x4.4x1.4x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022CA$6.4bCA$4.3bCA$1.4b4.6x4.6x1.5x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021CA$6.3bCA$4.4bCA$1.4b4.4x4.5x1.5x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021CA$6.4bCA$3.1bCA$698.8m5.5x9.2x2x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021CA$5.8bCA$3.1bCA$647.1m6.1x9x1.9x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021CA$7.3bCA$3.1bCA$642.0m6.5x11.3x2.3x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021CA$7.5bCA$3.1bCA$642.0m6.4x11.7x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

11.7x


Total Market Cap: CA$7.5bTotal Earnings: CA$642.0mTotal Revenue: CA$3.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Steel Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Canadian Steel industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 6.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Steel industry have declined 9.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 9.5% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Steel compare with similar industries?

CA Market-0.53%
Materials-4.14%
Metals and Mining-4.87%
Steel1.40%
Aluminum0%
Gold-3.47%
Silver-5.77%
Precious Metals and Minerals-6.68%
Diversified Metals and Mining-7.05%
Copper-8.06%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
STLC Stelco HoldingsCA$66.682.3%
+CA$83.5m
43.9%PE16.4x
CAD Colonial Coal InternationalCA$2.866.3%
+CA$30.7m
72.3%PB26.7x
LIF Labrador Iron Ore RoyaltyCA$30.060.5%
+CA$10.2m
-5.4%PE9.5x
BKI Black IronCA$0.05510.0%
+CA$1.5m
-38.9%PE-9.3x
MOX Morien ResourcesCA$0.365.9%
+CA$1.0m
-48.6%PS35.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

STLC

CA$66.68

Stelco Holdings

7D

2.3%

1Y

43.9%

LIF

CA$30.06

Labrador Iron Ore Royalty

7D

0.5%

1Y

-5.4%

TSL

CA$2.93

Tree Island Steel

7D

-0.7%

1Y

-9.3%

DRX

CA$13.45

ADF Group

7D

-6.5%

1Y

221.0%

MOX

CA$0.36

Morien Resources

7D

5.9%

1Y

-48.6%

CAF

CA$0.23

Canaf Investments

7D

4.5%

1Y

64.3%

BKI

CA$0.055

Black Iron

7D

10.0%

1Y

-38.9%

RXM

CA$0.01

Rockex Mining

7D

-50.0%

1Y

-60.0%

FEO

CA$0.09

Oceanic Iron Ore

7D

-10.0%

1Y

50.0%