Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Commodity Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M9.7%
  • 1Y19.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Commodity Chemicals industry has remained flat, although notably NanoXplore declined by 5.2%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 19% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 10% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Commodity Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 24 Jun 2024CA$6.2bCA$7.5bCA$334.2m12.4x18.6x0.8x
Wed, 22 May 2024CA$6.6bCA$7.5bCA$335.5m13.3x19.7x0.9x
Fri, 19 Apr 2024CA$5.9bCA$7.8bCA$392.3m11.1x15.1x0.8x
Sun, 17 Mar 2024CA$5.5bCA$7.7bCA$389.6m10.2x14.2x0.7x
Tue, 13 Feb 2024CA$5.8bCA$7.8bCA$429.5m16.4x13.4x0.7x
Thu, 11 Jan 2024CA$5.7bCA$7.8bCA$438.4m16.3x13x0.7x
Sat, 09 Dec 2023CA$5.3bCA$7.9bCA$442.1m13.5x12.1x0.7x
Mon, 06 Nov 2023CA$5.6bCA$8.0bCA$377.3m10.2x14.8x0.7x
Wed, 04 Oct 2023CA$5.5bCA$8.2bCA$438.8m8.4x12.6x0.7x
Fri, 01 Sep 2023CA$5.6bCA$8.2bCA$432.4m8.5x12.9x0.7x
Sun, 30 Jul 2023CA$5.5bCA$8.0bCA$382.5m9.4x14.5x0.7x
Tue, 27 Jun 2023CA$5.3bCA$8.2bCA$467.3m7.2x11.3x0.6x
Thu, 25 May 2023CA$5.7bCA$8.5bCA$478.8m9.8x11.8x0.7x
Sat, 22 Apr 2023CA$5.9bCA$8.6bCA$497.0m8.1x11.9x0.7x
Mon, 20 Mar 2023CA$5.9bCA$8.7bCA$503.0m8.5x11.7x0.7x
Wed, 15 Feb 2023CA$6.8bCA$8.5bCA$325.2m8x20.8x0.8x
Fri, 13 Jan 2023CA$6.2bCA$8.9bCA$539.1m5.1x11.5x0.7x
Sun, 11 Dec 2022CA$5.3bCA$9.1bCA$551.4m4.8x9.7x0.6x
Tue, 08 Nov 2022CA$5.4bCA$8.8bCA$530.9m5.2x10.1x0.6x
Thu, 06 Oct 2022CA$5.2bCA$9.0bCA$542.5m5.3x9.5x0.6x
Sat, 03 Sep 2022CA$5.5bCA$8.7bCA$512.8m7.4x10.7x0.6x
Mon, 01 Aug 2022CA$5.4bCA$8.4bCA$482.6m6.8x11.2x0.6x
Wed, 29 Jun 2022CA$5.8bCA$8.4bCA$462.8m5.9x12.5x0.7x
Fri, 27 May 2022CA$6.5bCA$8.3bCA$459.0m7.1x14.2x0.8x
Sun, 24 Apr 2022CA$7.2bCA$7.9bCA$401.6m7.9x18x0.9x
Tue, 22 Mar 2022CA$7.9bCA$7.8bCA$390.5m8.5x20.1x1x
Thu, 17 Feb 2022CA$7.3bCA$7.7bCA$552.5m7.6x13.2x0.9x
Sat, 15 Jan 2022CA$7.4bCA$7.1bCA$260.8m13.6x28.5x1x
Mon, 13 Dec 2021CA$7.1bCA$7.2bCA$264.1m11.8x26.9x1x
Wed, 10 Nov 2021CA$7.9bCA$7.1bCA$242.5m14x32.8x1.1x
Fri, 08 Oct 2021CA$7.8bCA$6.5bCA$46.8m15.2x167.2x1.2x
Sun, 05 Sep 2021CA$6.8bCA$6.4bCA$47.1m17.6x144.5x1.1x
Tue, 03 Aug 2021CA$6.0bCA$6.4bCA$47.1m15.5x126.9x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

123.4x


Total Market Cap: CA$5.8bTotal Earnings: CA$47.1mTotal Revenue: CA$6.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Commodity Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 29x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Commodity Chemicals industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 29.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.79x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Commodity Chemicals industry have grown 92% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.4% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Commodity Chemicals compare with similar industries?

CA Market-0.38%
Materials0.39%
Chemicals0.34%
Commodity Chemicals0.56%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals0.41%
Diversified Chemicals0%
Specialty Chemicals-1.76%
Industrial Gases-6.02%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CHE.UN Chemtrade Logistics Income FundCA$9.202.8%
+CA$29.3m
15.3%PE5.1x
MX MethanexCA$66.590.6%
+CA$29.0m
29.5%PE19.6x
ATHR Aether Catalyst SolutionsCA$0.07525.0%
+CA$816.5k
-6.3%PE-6.7x
BOS AirBoss of AmericaCA$6.150.3%
+CA$542.6k
-7.2%PS0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FRXI

CA$0.045

FRX Innovations

7D

-10.0%

1Y

-83.3%

OSIX

CA$0.065

Oceansix Future Paths

7D

-7.1%

1Y

30.0%

GRA

CA$2.54

NanoXplore

7D

-5.2%

1Y

-19.4%

BOS

CA$6.15

AirBoss of America

7D

0.3%

1Y

-7.2%