Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Renewable Energy Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 15, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-5.5%
  • 3M-16.7%
  • 1Y-32.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Renewable Energy industry has dropped 5.5%, driven by Brookfield Renewable declining 7.3%. However, the industry is down 32% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Renewable Energy Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 15 Apr 2024CA$36.5bCA$17.7b-CA$488,077,361.3735.6x-74.7x2.1x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024CA$40.1bCA$17.4b-CA$483,475,945.6938.2x-82.9x2.3x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024CA$41.4bCA$17.2bCA$51.4m29.4x805.4x2.4x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024CA$47.2bCA$17.1bCA$2.4b29.2x20x2.8x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023CA$46.0bCA$17.2bCA$2.4b28.9x19.3x2.7x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023CA$39.3bCA$17.2bCA$1.2b42.2x33.9x2.3x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023CA$42.2bCA$16.9bCA$1.1b33.6x36.7x2.5x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023CA$48.9bCA$17.0bCA$1.1b28.9x42.5x2.9x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023CA$52.4bCA$16.8bCA$2.4b46.1x22.3x3.1x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023CA$52.1bCA$16.8bCA$2.3b38.8x22.2x3.1x
Sun, 21 May 2023CA$55.9bCA$17.1bCA$2.4b27.6x23.4x3.3x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023CA$56.2bCA$16.6bCA$2.5b28x22.3x3.4x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023CA$53.4bCA$17.0bCA$2.6b26.6x20.8x3.1x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023CA$49.7bCA$16.4bCA$2.3b13x21.8x3x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023CA$50.3bCA$16.3bCA$1.3b15x38.2x3.1x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022CA$54.0bCA$16.5bCA$1.3b49.3x40.7x3.3x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022CA$55.1bCA$16.0bCA$940.5m29.9x58.6x3.4x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022CA$59.2bCA$16.1bCA$940.4m31x63x3.7x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022CA$67.3bCA$15.5bCA$923.2m37x72.9x4.4x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022CA$63.0bCA$14.5bCA$84.1m36.1x749.7x4.3x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022CA$60.1bCA$14.6bCA$87.6m34.8x686x4.1x
Mon, 23 May 2022CA$60.9bCA$14.5bCA$89.4m36.3x680.6x4.2x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022CA$62.9bCA$13.9bCA$923.1m43x68.2x4.5x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022CA$67.4bCA$13.9bCA$939.6m44.1x71.7x4.9x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022CA$56.8bCA$13.7bCA$827.1m21.9x68.6x4.1x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022CA$56.3bCA$13.4b-CA$1,250,621,144.0032x-45x4.2x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021CA$58.3bCA$13.4b-CA$1,247,148,911.0033.6x-46.7x4.3x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021CA$65.2bCA$13.0b-CA$3,020,273,193.0011.9x-21.6x5x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021CA$62.2bCA$13.1b-CA$3,080,021,475.0012.4x-20.2x4.7x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021CA$68.1bCA$12.9b-CA$3,028,979,415.7625.3x-22.5x5.3x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021CA$65.2bCA$12.9b-CA$3,028,979,415.7627x-21.5x5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-17.1x


Total Market Cap: CA$64.7bTotal Earnings: -CA$3,778,803,982.32Total Revenue: CA$12.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Renewable Energy Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 77.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Renewable Electricity industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.7x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Renewable Electricity industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently losses are decreasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Renewable Energy compare with similar industries?

CA Market-1.51%
Utilities-2.99%
Renewable Energy-4.83%
Renewable Energy-5.50%
Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders-1.44%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
RNW TransAlta RenewablesCA$12.340.4%
+CA$13.3m
-9.1%PE42.2x
REVV ReVolve Renewable PowerCA$0.3310.0%
+CA$1.9m
-47.6%PS6.5x
NKW.H Oceanic Wind EnergyCA$0.0716.7%
+CA$873.3k
7.7%PE-18.7x
CH Charbone HydrogenCA$0.0955.6%
+CA$475.9k
-24.0%PS38.5x
RE RE RoyaltiesCA$0.502.0%
+CA$432.6k
-23.1%PS8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NPI

CA$21.72

Northland Power

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-36.0%

RE

CA$0.50

RE Royalties

7D

2.0%

1Y

-23.1%

SUNN

CA$7.00

SolarBank

7D

-5.4%

1Y

64.7%

BEPC

CA$30.35

Brookfield Renewable

7D

-8.7%

1Y

-32.9%

INE

CA$7.95

Innergex Renewable Energy

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-46.4%

BLX

CA$27.34

Boralex

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-34.2%

PIF

CA$11.53

Polaris Renewable Energy

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-13.2%

WEB

CA$0.85

Westbridge Renewable Energy

7D

-13.3%

1Y

-9.6%

ARR

CA$8.83

Altius Renewable Royalties

7D

-2.0%

1Y

2.7%

REVV

CA$0.33

ReVolve Renewable Power

7D

10.0%

1Y

-47.6%

CH

CA$0.095

Charbone Hydrogen

7D

5.6%

1Y

-24.0%

NKW.H

CA$0.07

Oceanic Wind Energy

7D

16.7%

1Y

7.7%

RNW

CA$12.34

TransAlta Renewables

7D

0.4%

1Y

-9.1%