Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Healthcare Services Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 04, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D1.7%
  • 3M10.8%
  • 1Y-1.2%
  • YTD4.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Healthcare Services industry has risen 1.8%, driven by gains from WELL Health Technologies of 11%. Overall in the last year, the industry is flat. In the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 8.6% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Healthcare Services Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 04 Mar 2024CA$9.2bCA$6.8b-CA$48,135,928.7333x-191.1x1.4x
Wed, 31 Jan 2024CA$9.5bCA$7.1b-CA$108,654,768.0032.5x-87.6x1.3x
Fri, 29 Dec 2023CA$9.5bCA$7.1b-CA$112,043,384.0032.2x-85.1x1.3x
Sun, 26 Nov 2023CA$9.0bCA$7.1b-CA$190,636,992.0030.7x-47.1x1.3x
Tue, 24 Oct 2023CA$8.7bCA$7.0b-CA$199,052,321.0060.9x-43.5x1.2x
Thu, 21 Sep 2023CA$9.2bCA$7.0b-CA$200,178,618.0073x-45.9x1.3x
Sat, 19 Aug 2023CA$9.4bCA$7.0b-CA$205,676,960.0091.2x-45.6x1.3x
Mon, 17 Jul 2023CA$9.5bCA$6.9b-CA$203,393,700.0059.5x-46.9x1.4x
Wed, 14 Jun 2023CA$9.5bCA$6.9b-CA$202,337,824.0063.7x-46.8x1.4x
Fri, 12 May 2023CA$9.9bCA$6.7b-CA$144,401,283.0051.8x-68.8x1.5x
Sun, 09 Apr 2023CA$9.7bCA$7.7b-CA$381,223,945.0061.2x-25.4x1.3x
Tue, 07 Mar 2023CA$10.0bCA$7.6b-CA$438,057,809.0031.7x-22.9x1.3x
Thu, 02 Feb 2023CA$10.0bCA$7.8b-CA$524,164,136.0041.4x-19.1x1.3x
Sat, 31 Dec 2022CA$8.9bCA$7.8b-CA$527,542,082.0035.2x-16.9x1.1x
Mon, 28 Nov 2022CA$9.2bCA$7.8b-CA$540,633,149.0035.4x-17x1.2x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022CA$9.3bCA$7.5b-CA$534,244,005.0035.9x-17.4x1.2x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022CA$9.6bCA$7.4b-CA$531,665,081.0039.8x-18.1x1.3x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022CA$11.1bCA$7.3b-CA$538,336,191.0065.1x-20.6x1.5x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022CA$11.0bCA$7.0b-CA$500,484,888.0038.6x-22.1x1.6x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022CA$10.6bCA$7.0b-CA$659,484,439.0035.4x-16.1x1.5x
Sat, 14 May 2022CA$11.4bCA$7.0b-CA$673,436,586.0046.7x-16.9x1.6x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022CA$13.5bCA$6.5b-CA$830,050,079.0034.2x-16.2x2.1x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022CA$12.5bCA$6.3b-CA$804,248,060.0050.9x-15.6x2x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022CA$13.2bCA$6.2b-CA$968,049,478.0034.3x-13.6x2.1x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022CA$13.7bCA$6.2b-CA$971,368,489.0037.8x-14.1x2.2x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021CA$14.0bCA$6.1b-CA$949,925,737.0022.4x-14.7x2.3x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021CA$14.3bCA$5.8b-CA$809,162,370.0020x-17.7x2.5x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021CA$15.0bCA$5.8b-CA$797,338,849.0021.3x-18.8x2.6x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021CA$14.6bCA$5.8b-CA$795,431,212.2224.1x-18.3x2.5x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021CA$15.3bCA$5.8b-CA$795,431,212.2223x-19.3x2.6x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021CA$11.8bCA$4.6b-CA$685,572,537.7326.5x-17.2x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-17.2x


Total Market Cap: CA$11.8bTotal Earnings: -CA$685,572,537.73Total Revenue: CA$4.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Healthcare Services Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -31x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Healthcare industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Healthcare industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently losses are decreasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Healthcare industry?

CA Market0.75%
Healthcare-3.88%
Healthcare Services1.70%
Healthcare Distributors3.03%
Healthcare Facilities1.75%
Healthcare Services1.64%
Managed Healthcare0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Healthcare Facilities industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 98.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 50.7%, which is worse than the prior year's decline of 34.1%.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Healthcare Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 45% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 38% per year.
  • In contrast, the Healthcare Facilities industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 51% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WELL WELL Health TechnologiesCA$4.198.5%
+CA$82.2m
-8.7%PS1.5x
AIDX Healwell AICA$1.1124.7%
+CA$47.1m
85.0%PS2.4x
CSH.UN Chartwell Retirement ResidencesCA$12.390.7%
+CA$21.7m
32.7%PS4.1x
KDA KDA GroupCA$0.5326.2%
+CA$18.8m
523.5%PE564.4x
VMD Viemed HealthcareCA$10.454.6%
+CA$17.7m
3.9%PE33x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CSH.UN

CA$12.39

Chartwell Retirement Residences

7D

0.7%

1Y

32.7%

DNTL

CA$6.77

dentalcorp Holdings

7D

-1.7%

1Y

-29.0%

NEWU

CA$0.075

Newtopia

7D

36.4%

1Y

-21.1%

AIDX

CA$1.11

Healwell AI

7D

24.7%

1Y

85.0%

PHA

CA$0.54

Premier Health of America

7D

-19.4%

1Y

38.5%

DR

CA$9.90

Medical Facilities

7D

-1.5%

1Y

15.1%

SIA

CA$13.42

Sienna Senior Living

7D

1.7%

1Y

19.2%

EXE

CA$6.86

Extendicare

7D

-0.3%

1Y

5.2%

AND

CA$40.42

Andlauer Healthcare Group

7D

0.7%

1Y

-16.2%

KDA

CA$0.53

KDA Group

7D

26.2%

1Y

523.5%

VMD

CA$10.45

Viemed Healthcare

7D

4.6%

1Y

3.9%