Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Restaurants Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M-12.9%
  • 1Y-6.8%
  • YTDn/a

The Restaurants industry has stayed flat over the last week. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 6.8% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 7.3% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Restaurants Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 21 Jun 2024CA$32.8bCA$11.2bCA$2.7b10.9x12.3x2.9x
Sun, 19 May 2024CA$35.2bCA$11.1bCA$2.6b10.8x13.3x3.2x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024CA$35.6bCA$11.0bCA$2.6b11.3x13.7x3.2x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024CA$39.9bCA$10.8bCA$2.5b12.6x15.7x3.7x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024CA$38.2bCA$10.6bCA$2.0b15x19x3.6x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024CA$39.0bCA$11.8bCA$2.0b14.8x19.4x3.3x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023CA$36.8bCA$11.9bCA$2.0b14.3x18x3.1x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023CA$35.6bCA$12.0bCA$2.3b14.4x15.4x3x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023CA$34.8bCA$11.7bCA$2.2b15.1x15.5x3x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023CA$37.0bCA$11.7bCA$2.2b16x16.5x3.2x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023CA$39.2bCA$11.3bCA$2.2b17.3x17.9x3.5x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023CA$38.5bCA$11.1bCA$2.2b17x17.6x3.5x
Mon, 22 May 2023CA$38.4bCA$11.3bCA$2.2b16.6x17.2x3.4x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023CA$36.3bCA$11.1bCA$2.2b17.8x16.5x3.3x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023CA$33.7bCA$11.2bCA$2.3b17.3x15x3x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023CA$36.2bCA$10.6bCA$2.1b16.9x17.2x3.4x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023CA$35.7bCA$10.6bCA$2.1b16.5x16.8x3.4x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022CA$35.1bCA$10.8bCA$2.2b15.8x16.3x3.3x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022CA$32.3bCA$10.4bCA$1.9b15.5x17.3x3.1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022CA$30.9bCA$10.5bCA$1.9b15.3x16.3x2.9x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022CA$31.1bCA$10.1bCA$1.8b15.8x17.1x3.1x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022CA$26.7bCA$9.5bCA$1.8b15.5x14.8x2.8x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022CA$26.0bCA$9.5bCA$1.8b15.1x14.4x2.7x
Tue, 24 May 2022CA$26.4bCA$9.4bCA$1.8b15.4x14.7x2.8x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022CA$30.5bCA$8.9bCA$1.7b19x17.6x3.4x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022CA$29.5bCA$9.1bCA$1.7b19.5x16.9x3.3x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022CA$29.7bCA$8.7bCA$1.6b17.3x18.5x3.4x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022CA$30.2bCA$8.7bCA$1.6b17.8x18.8x3.5x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021CA$30.5bCA$8.7bCA$1.6b18.3x18.9x3.5x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021CA$30.0bCA$8.6bCA$1.6b17.6x18.8x3.5x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021CA$32.6bCA$8.4bCA$1.5b19.1x22.2x3.9x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021CA$33.5bCA$8.3bCA$1.4b20.3x23.2x4x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021CA$34.7bCA$8.3bCA$1.4b20.8x24x4.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

22.7x


Total Market Cap: CA$32.8bTotal Earnings: CA$1.4bTotal Revenue: CA$8.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Restaurants Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Restaurants industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 12.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Restaurants industry have grown 22% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Restaurants compare with similar industries?

CA Market-0.65%
Consumer Discretionary0.056%
Hospitality0.67%
Restaurants0.62%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines20.00%
Casinos and Gaming2.45%
Leisure Facilities-0.48%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AEG Aegis BrandsCA$0.384.2%
+CA$1.3m
-3.8%PS1.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BPF.UN

CA$16.01

Boston Pizza Royalties Income Fund

7D

-0.7%

1Y

-0.7%

SRV.UN

CA$12.50

SIR Royalty Income Fund

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-26.9%

ODD

CA$0.15

Odd Burger

7D

-9.1%

1Y

-33.3%

MTY

CA$43.25

MTY Food Group

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-25.9%

PZA

CA$13.06

Pizza Pizza Royalty

7D

-0.9%

1Y

-11.8%

AEG

CA$0.38

Aegis Brands

7D

4.2%

1Y

-3.8%