Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Biotech Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies31
  • 7D6.6%
  • 3M-3.5%
  • 1Y-24.5%
  • YTD4.6%

The Biotech industry is up 4.2% in the last week, with Sernova up 17%. However, the industry is down 24% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 40% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Biotech Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024CA$1.2bCA$93.1m-CA$323,595,230.3612.6x-3.6x12.7x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024CA$3.5bCA$86.3m-CA$517,030,568.006.5x-6.9x41.1x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023CA$3.6bCA$85.9m-CA$524,704,585.006.2x-6.9x42.3x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023CA$3.8bCA$86.1m-CA$544,592,359.006.3x-7x44.4x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023CA$3.8bCA$88.9m-CA$531,618,744.005.7x-7.2x43.2x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023CA$4.0bCA$87.4m-CA$507,215,713.005.7x-7.9x45.8x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023CA$4.0bCA$82.0m-CA$516,735,142.006.4x-7.7x48.6x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023CA$4.1bCA$81.5m-CA$516,626,380.0013.5x-8x50.5x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023CA$3.9bCA$86.5m-CA$540,346,561.0014.2x-7.2x45x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023CA$3.8bCA$82.3m-CA$588,437,525.0012.7x-6.4x46.1x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023CA$2.4bCA$91.4m-CA$608,375,215.009.6x-4x26.8x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023CA$2.9bCA$89.2m-CA$597,962,483.008x-4.8x32.3x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023CA$3.1bCA$87.5m-CA$525,111,924.0012.5x-5.9x35.4x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022CA$3.2bCA$89.0m-CA$543,243,787.008.4x-5.9x35.8x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022CA$3.1bCA$87.8m-CA$568,566,724.0014.8x-5.5x35.5x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022CA$3.1bCA$86.2m-CA$551,752,328.0014.4x-5.6x36x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022CA$3.6bCA$84.6m-CA$536,639,002.0013.5x-6.7x42.2x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022CA$3.7bCA$85.0m-CA$562,314,157.0010.9x-6.6x43.7x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022CA$3.3bCA$182.8m-CA$609,597,199.0010.9x-5.5x18.2x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022CA$3.2bCA$177.8m-CA$589,881,917.0013.8x-5.4x17.9x
Mon, 02 May 2022CA$3.3bCA$181.4m-CA$496,208,788.0014x-6.7x18.4x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022CA$3.2bCA$170.2m-CA$491,261,943.0014.3x-6.6x19x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022CA$3.2bCA$168.9m-CA$457,652,321.0016.2x-7x19x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022CA$3.2bCA$166.3m-CA$429,606,413.0018.2x-7.5x19.3x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021CA$3.7bCA$166.7m-CA$428,562,042.009.3x-8.6x22.1x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021CA$6.1bCA$169.9m-CA$464,164,847.003.8x-13.1x35.7x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021CA$8.0bCA$244.5m-CA$609,220,692.007.8x-13.1x32.7x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021CA$8.6bCA$222.8m-CA$562,923,623.087.9x-15.2x38.5x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021CA$3.5bCA$161.7m-CA$474,887,008.0830.9x-7.3x21.5x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021CA$4.1bCA$147.0m-CA$495,024,670.7510.8x-8.3x28.1x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021CA$4.3bCA$147.9m-CA$377,714,666.7221.5x-11.4x29.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-11.4x


Total Market Cap: CA$4.3bTotal Earnings: -CA$377,714,666.72Total Revenue: CA$147.9mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Biotech Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -7.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Biotechs industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 33.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 12.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Biotechs industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 14% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, losses have been shrinking.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Healthcare industry?

CA Market1.62%
Healthcare1.35%
Biotech6.58%
Biotech6.58%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SVA SernovaCA$0.6817.2%
+CA$30.3m
-34.6%PB16.5x
MSCL Satellos BioscienceCA$0.7533.9%
+CA$21.4m
78.6%PB1.8x
MDNA Medicenna TherapeuticsCA$1.0218.6%
+CA$11.1m
15.9%PB3.8x
GLAB Gemina LaboratoriesCA$0.5510.0%
+CA$3.7m
-21.4%PE-6.3x
COV Covalon TechnologiesCA$1.3112.0%
+CA$3.5m
-40.5%PS1.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SVA

CA$0.68

Sernova

7D

17.2%

1Y

-34.6%

EDT

CA$0.60

Spectral Medical

7D

-3.2%

1Y

90.5%

MSCL

CA$0.75

Satellos Bioscience

7D

33.9%

1Y

78.6%

MDNA

CA$1.02

Medicenna Therapeutics

7D

18.6%

1Y

15.9%

HEM

CA$0.075

Hemostemix

7D

-21.1%

1Y

-63.4%

EPRX

CA$7.17

Eupraxia Pharmaceuticals

7D

1.7%

1Y

71.1%

KNE

CA$0.10

Kane Biotech

7D

31.3%

1Y

-19.2%

ONC

CA$1.51

Oncolytics Biotech

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-33.2%

DTC

CA$2.00

Defence Therapeutics

7D

3.6%

1Y

-46.7%

TTI

CA$0.81

Thiogenesis Therapeutics

7D

-2.4%

1Y

28.6%

GLAB

CA$0.55

Gemina Laboratories

7D

10.0%

1Y

-21.4%

CHGX

CA$0.085

ChitogenX

7D

-10.5%

1Y

-61.4%

TELO

CA$0.14

Telo Genomics

7D

-6.7%

1Y

-47.2%

RVX

CA$0.06

Resverlogix

7D

-7.7%

1Y

-63.6%