Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 03, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-0.03%
  • 3M-5.0%
  • 1Y-8.6%
  • YTD-4.2%

In the last week, the Beverage industry is flat overall, with CENTR Brands standing out by going down 57%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 8.6% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 11% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 03 Dec 2023CA$5.0bCA$3.9bCA$81.5m19.7x61x1.3x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023CA$4.7bCA$3.9bCA$30.1m24.3x155.5x1.2x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023CA$4.9bCA$3.9bCA$24.6m25.8x200.4x1.3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023CA$5.3bCA$19.1bCA$80.8m23.9x65.5x0.3x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023CA$5.1bCA$18.1b-CA$365,531,052.0053.3x-13.9x0.3x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023CA$4.8bCA$18.1b-CA$399,007,040.0049.5x-12.1x0.3x
Fri, 19 May 2023CA$5.1bCA$18.5b-CA$412,669,471.0052.6x-12.3x0.3x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023CA$5.2bCA$18.1b-CA$319,667,070.0081.6x-16.3x0.3x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023CA$5.2bCA$18.7b-CA$330,521,698.0078.2x-15.8x0.3x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023CA$5.5bCA$3.8b-CA$165,980,790.0084.7x-32.8x1.4x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023CA$5.4bCA$3.8b-CA$166,070,638.0084.6x-32.4x1.4x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022CA$5.5bCA$3.8b-CA$165,658,277.0047.1x-33.2x1.4x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022CA$5.2bCA$3.8b-CA$122,833,982.0020.8x-42x1.4x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022CA$4.8bCA$3.8b-CA$119,745,478.0040.9x-40.4x1.3x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022CA$5.1bCA$3.7b-CA$123,255,161.0021.8x-41.5x1.4x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022CA$5.0bCA$3.6b-CA$98,327,862.0028x-51.2x1.4x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022CA$5.0bCA$3.6b-CA$98,566,491.0024.1x-50.4x1.4x
Sat, 21 May 2022CA$5.2bCA$3.6b-CA$87,898,043.0024.6x-59.6x1.5x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022CA$5.6bCA$3.4b-CA$69,194,085.0023.6x-80.5x1.6x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022CA$5.3bCA$6.2b-CA$329,010,548.0023.3x-16.1x0.9x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022CA$6.0bCA$6.1b-CA$346,415,856.0025.2x-17.2x1x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022CA$6.2bCA$6.1b-CA$319,892,531.0018.2x-19.5x1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021CA$6.2bCA$6.2b-CA$320,740,028.0018.1x-19.2x1x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021CA$5.9bCA$6.0b-CA$300,806,821.0018.6x-19.7x1x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021CA$6.0bCA$6.1b-CA$306,459,624.0018.5x-19.7x1x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021CA$6.7bCA$6.2b-CA$320,735,007.7220x-20.8x1.1x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021CA$6.3bCA$6.1b-CA$416,776,898.7222.1x-15.2x1x
Fri, 09 Apr 2021CA$6.3bCA$6.1b-CA$427,359,658.7217.9x-14.7x1x
Thu, 31 Dec 2020CA$5.9bCA$6.1b-CA$405,090,406.6915.4x-14.7x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-14x


Total Market Cap: CA$5.6bTotal Earnings: -CA$402,728,924.69Total Revenue: CA$6.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -11.3x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Canadian Beverage industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 61.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -11.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Beverage industry have gone up over the last three years and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have declined 14% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Consumer Staples industry?

CA Market1.40%
Consumer Staples-2.38%
Beverage-0.031%
Distillers and Wine Makers0.40%
Soft Drinks-0.086%
Brewers-0.089%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Distillers and Wine Makers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 60.7x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Soft Drinks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 11% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Soft Drinks industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PRMW Primo WaterCA$19.700.2%
+CA$6.4m
-9.2%PE19.7x
ADW.A Andrew PellerCA$4.461.1%
+CA$2.2m
-15.0%PS0.5x
GURU GURU Organic EnergyCA$2.173.3%
+CA$2.2m
-23.9%PS2.4x
BEV BevCanna EnterprisesCA$0.02525.0%
+CA$953.9k
n/aPS2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

YERB.U

US$1.28

Yerbaé Brands

7D

-8.6%

1Y

n/a

CNTR

CA$0.075

CENTR Brands

7D

-57.1%

1Y

-74.1%

CANS

CA$0.06

Wildpack Beverage

7D

-20.0%

1Y

-36.8%

SBD

CA$0.02

SBD Capital

7D

-33.3%

1Y

-88.9%

BEV

CA$0.025

BevCanna Enterprises

7D

25.0%

1Y

n/a

TPX.B

CA$83.20

Molson Coors Canada

7D

-0.1%

1Y

14.0%

PRMW

CA$19.70

Primo Water

7D

0.2%

1Y

-9.2%

BR

CA$1.55

Big Rock Brewery

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-11.4%

FLOW

CA$0.26

Flow Beverage

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-42.2%

GURU

CA$2.17

GURU Organic Energy

7D

3.3%

1Y

-23.9%

HYTN

CA$0.07

HYTN Innovations

7D

-6.7%

1Y

40.0%