Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Application Software Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies76
  • 7D1.1%
  • 3M10.4%
  • 1Y36.2%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Application Software industry has risen 1.1%, driven by gains from Constellation Software of 1.6%. This means that the industry has gained 36% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 27% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Application Software Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024CA$138.4bCA$20.3b-CA$3,170,337,888.7645.4x-43.7x6.8x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024CA$128.2bCA$20.2b-CA$3,140,446,778.4534.9x-40.8x6.3x
Thu, 16 May 2024CA$124.4bCA$19.9b-CA$3,225,602,154.9936.2x-38.6x6.2x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024CA$126.7bCA$19.6b-CA$3,999,170,860.4221.9x-31.7x6.5x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024CA$121.9bCA$19.2b-CA$3,928,515,253.0624.6x-31x6.3x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024CA$116.8bCA$18.2b-CA$3,091,511,005.0724.1x-37.8x6.4x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024CA$109.9bCA$18.3b-CA$3,159,373,978.0026.4x-34.8x6x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023CA$108.0bCA$18.5b-CA$3,364,440,851.0027.8x-32.1x5.8x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023CA$93.2bCA$18.1b-CA$3,416,478,085.0053.6x-27.3x5.2x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023CA$93.8bCA$17.7b-CA$3,361,650,515.0042.2x-27.9x5.3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023CA$96.9bCA$17.9b-CA$3,373,814,046.0043.4x-28.7x5.4x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023CA$99.8bCA$16.6b-CA$3,091,633,061.0062.4x-32.3x6x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023CA$95.5bCA$16.7b-CA$2,967,963,939.0061.4x-32.2x5.7x
Fri, 19 May 2023CA$93.8bCA$16.8b-CA$2,168,619,482.0051.4x-43.2x5.6x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023CA$93.4bCA$15.6b-CA$2,311,032,016.0031.2x-40.4x6x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023CA$83.7bCA$15.4b-CA$2,392,794,277.0027.8x-35x5.4x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023CA$85.7bCA$15.1b-CA$2,066,358,550.0029.4x-41.5x5.7x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023CA$77.6bCA$14.9b-CA$511,277,905.0022x-151.7x5.2x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022CA$77.8bCA$14.8b-CA$528,338,557.0026.3x-147.2x5.2x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022CA$72.8bCA$14.1b-CA$239,484,175.0018.9x-304x5.1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022CA$70.5bCA$14.2b-CA$235,106,169.0020.4x-300.1x5x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022CA$74.6bCA$13.5b-CA$243,318,350.0032.2x-306.6x5.5x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022CA$74.5bCA$12.7bCA$548.9m38.4x135.7x5.9x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022CA$68.5bCA$12.7bCA$727.2m32.2x94.2x5.4x
Sat, 21 May 2022CA$74.3bCA$13.1bCA$265.1m43.4x280.1x5.7x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022CA$85.9bCA$12.2b-CA$2,651,163,656.0022.1x-32.4x7.1x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022CA$82.0bCA$11.7b-CA$2,495,913,749.0017.7x-32.8x7x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022CA$92.0bCA$11.1b-CA$2,654,617,775.0049x-34.7x8.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022CA$88.9bCA$10.7b-CA$2,608,989,068.0051x-34.1x8.3x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021CA$96.1bCA$10.8b-CA$2,590,461,915.0055x-37.1x8.9x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021CA$109.6bCA$9.6b-CA$2,623,697,853.0053.5x-41.8x11.4x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021CA$100.7bCA$9.6b-CA$2,660,266,118.0039.8x-37.9x10.5x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021CA$105.7bCA$9.4b-CA$2,619,587,677.5538.5x-40.3x11.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-36.5x


Total Market Cap: CA$95.6bTotal Earnings: -CA$2,619,587,677.55Total Revenue: CA$9.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Application Software Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -43.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Canadian Application Software industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 6.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Application Software industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 29% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Application Software compare with similar industries?

CA Market0.041%
Tech0.67%
Software1.02%
Application Software1.09%
Systems Software-2.10%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CSU Constellation SoftwareCA$4.21k1.6%
+CA$1.4b
49.9%PE112.9x
BITF BitfarmsCA$3.8311.3%
+CA$223.1m
65.8%PS7.1x
KXS KinaxisCA$164.934.0%
+CA$180.3m
-11.6%PE225.1x
HIVE HIVE Digital TechnologiesCA$5.7119.0%
+CA$107.1m
-18.9%PS4.3x
TINY TinyCA$2.305.5%
+CA$22.7m
-40.1%PE47x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CVO

CA$6.61

Coveo Solutions

7D

0.2%

1Y

-29.5%

CSU

CA$4,214.73

Constellation Software

7D

1.6%

1Y

49.9%

RAIL

CA$0.59

Railtown AI Technologies

7D

-21.3%

1Y

122.6%

THNC

CA$3.38

Thinkific Labs

7D

-5.8%

1Y

93.1%

LSPD

CA$18.63

Lightspeed Commerce

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-19.6%

KXS

CA$164.93

Kinaxis

7D

4.0%

1Y

-11.6%

BITF

CA$3.83

Bitfarms

7D

11.3%

1Y

65.8%

TINY

CA$2.30

Tiny

7D

5.5%

1Y

-40.1%

HIVE

CA$5.71

HIVE Digital Technologies

7D

19.0%

1Y

-18.9%

DCBO

CA$51.46

Docebo

7D

-1.5%

1Y

0.6%