Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Specialty Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-1.8%
  • 3M9.7%
  • 1Y7.7%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Chemicals industry has dropped 1.8%, driven by a pullback from 5N Plus of 3.8%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 7.5%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Specialty Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024CA$1.8bCA$1.5b-CA$229,491,416.6754.5x-7.7x1.2x
Tue, 21 May 2024CA$1.7bCA$1.5b-CA$234,300,758.1147x-7.3x1.2x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024CA$1.3bCA$1.2b-CA$59,596,087.2719.7x-22.2x1.1x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024CA$1.3bCA$1.1b-CA$56,915,160.2918.3x-23.1x1.2x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024CA$1.4bCA$1.2b-CA$92,020,234.1757.7x-15.1x1.2x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024CA$1.3bCA$1.2b-CA$92,571,296.0048.1x-14x1.1x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023CA$1.2bCA$1.2b-CA$92,863,177.0042x-13.2x1x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023CA$1.3bCA$1.2b-CA$105,969,692.00n/a-12.4x1.1x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.2b-CA$106,443,361.00n/a-13.1x1.1x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.2b-CA$103,615,491.00n/a-13.9x1.2x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.2b-CA$93,224,485.0016x-15.3x1.2x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023CA$1.3bCA$1.2b-CA$95,470,901.0015.3x-13.4x1.1x
Wed, 24 May 2023CA$1.3bCA$1.2b-CA$93,323,589.0010x-14.3x1.1x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.3b-CA$54,606,123.0011x-25.3x1.1x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.3b-CA$31,933,085.008.5x-45.2x1.1x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023CA$1.5bCA$1.2b-CA$5,723,900.009.9x-261.6x1.2x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023CA$1.4bCA$1.3b-CA$5,152,887.009.1x-278.3x1.1x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022CA$1.4bCA$1.3b-CA$4,786,332.009.2x-302.5x1.1x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022CA$1.4bCA$1.2bCA$14.1m9.4x99.3x1.1x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.2bCA$33.9m8.5x38.1x1.1x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022CA$1.4bCA$1.2bCA$32.4m9.8x43.5x1.2x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022CA$1.4bCA$1.1bCA$36.0m10.6x39.7x1.3x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.1bCA$37.9m9.4x34.4x1.2x
Thu, 26 May 2022CA$1.3bCA$1.1bCA$37.8m9.8x34.6x1.2x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022CA$1.4bCA$993.4mCA$24.9m13.7x57.6x1.4x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022CA$1.6bCA$986.7mCA$23.7m23.9x69.1x1.7x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022CA$1.7bCA$916.7mCA$13.7m21.3x124.2x1.9x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022CA$1.9bCA$897.9mCA$13.6m23.8x138.4x2.1x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021CA$1.9bCA$914.1mCA$14.1m24.7x137.9x2.1x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021CA$2.0bCA$841.8mCA$9.3m40.6x215.6x2.4x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021CA$1.9bCA$839.6mCA$15.4m57.1x121x2.2x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021CA$2.1bCA$823.8mCA$11.7m63.5x178.1x2.5x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021CA$2.1bCA$823.8mCA$11.7m58x178.6x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

175.8x


Total Market Cap: CA$2.1bTotal Earnings: CA$11.7mTotal Revenue: CA$823.8mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Specialty Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Specialty Chemicals industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Specialty Chemicals industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 21% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Specialty Chemicals compare with similar industries?

CA Market-0.38%
Materials0.39%
Chemicals0.34%
Specialty Chemicals-1.76%
Commodity Chemicals0.56%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals0.41%
Diversified Chemicals0%
Industrial Gases-6.02%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AIM AimiaCA$2.743.4%
+CA$8.8m
-18.9%PS0.9x
HPQ HPQ SiliconCA$0.301.7%
+CA$1.8m
45.2%PB5242.5x
ECO EcoSynthetixCA$4.580.4%
+CA$1.5m
41.4%PS13.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NEO

CA$8.17

Neo Performance Materials

7D

-1.8%

1Y

1.4%

VNP

CA$5.77

5N Plus

7D

-3.8%

1Y

89.2%

BU

CA$0.21

Burcon NutraScience

7D

-10.6%

1Y

35.5%

CZO

CA$0.23

Ceapro

7D

-16.7%

1Y

-51.1%

AIM

CA$2.74

Aimia

7D

3.4%

1Y

-18.9%

HPQ

CA$0.30

HPQ Silicon

7D

1.7%

1Y

45.2%

ECO

CA$4.58

EcoSynthetix

7D

0.4%

1Y

41.4%

FNDX

CA$0.37

FendX Technologies

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-15.9%

AUUA

CA$0.14

Aluula Composites

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-22.2%