Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Renewable Energy Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies16
  • 7D-8.1%
  • 3M-16.5%
  • 1Y-32.1%
  • YTD-18.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Renewable Energy industry has dropped 8.1%, driven by Brookfield Renewable declining 10%. Overall the industry is down 32% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 4.4% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Renewable Energy Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024CA$43.4bCA$25.2bCA$893.4m11.5x48.5x1.7x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024CA$46.2bCA$24.8bCA$871.4m26.4x53.1x1.9x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024CA$47.3bCA$24.8bCA$1.1b15.4x41.7x1.9x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024CA$55.2bCA$24.7bCA$3.4b16.3x16.1x2.2x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023CA$54.4bCA$24.9bCA$3.5b15.2x15.7x2.2x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023CA$50.8bCA$24.8bCA$2.3b15.9x21.8x2x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023CA$49.1bCA$24.1bCA$1.7b18.2x28.7x2x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023CA$58.2bCA$24.1bCA$1.7b17.5x34.1x2.4x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023CA$60.9bCA$23.7bCA$2.8b24.7x22x2.6x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023CA$59.8bCA$23.7bCA$2.8b23.8x21.6x2.5x
Tue, 23 May 2023CA$65.0bCA$24.0bCA$2.8b20.4x23.3x2.7x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023CA$64.4bCA$22.5bCA$2.7b45.2x24.1x2.9x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023CA$61.8bCA$22.8bCA$2.7b43.2x22.8x2.7x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023CA$58.3bCA$21.8bCA$2.6b25x22.8x2.7x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023CA$59.8bCA$21.6bCA$1.6b26.3x37.6x2.8x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022CA$63.1bCA$21.8bCA$1.6b41.4x39.6x2.9x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022CA$63.9bCA$21.1bCA$670.3m27.4x95.3x3x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022CA$69.4bCA$20.8bCA$687.5m31.7x101x3.3x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022CA$76.1bCA$20.4bCA$673.6m36.7x113x3.7x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022CA$75.2bCA$19.2b-CA$140,007,584.0037x-536.9x3.9x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022CA$70.0bCA$19.2b-CA$137,650,878.0034.8x-508.4x3.6x
Wed, 25 May 2022CA$70.8bCA$19.2b-CA$136,385,287.0036.2x-519.3x3.7x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022CA$70.7bCA$18.4bCA$461.2m43.4x153.2x3.8x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022CA$75.3bCA$18.5bCA$484.1m44.5x155.5x4.1x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022CA$65.2bCA$18.2bCA$359.4m21.7x181.4x3.6x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022CA$63.8bCA$17.7b-CA$1,704,070,583.0030.4x-37.5x3.6x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021CA$65.1bCA$17.9b-CA$1,725,519,183.0033.2x-37.7x3.6x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021CA$73.4bCA$17.6b-CA$1,249,779,861.0011.5x-58.7x4.2x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021CA$70.0bCA$17.2b-CA$3,153,233,116.0012.1x-22.2x4.1x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021CA$77.2bCA$17.1b-CA$3,133,199,753.7619.7x-24.6x4.5x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021CA$75.5bCA$17.1b-CA$3,133,199,753.7619.5x-24.1x4.4x
Wed, 05 May 2021CA$72.3bCA$16.9b-CA$3,957,360,773.3218x-18.3x4.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-18.3x


Total Market Cap: CA$72.3bTotal Earnings: -CA$3,957,360,773.32Total Revenue: CA$16.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Renewable Energy Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -10.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Canadian Renewable Energy industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 48.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -10.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Renewable Energy industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Utilities industry?

CA Market-3.02%
Utilities-4.99%
Renewable Energy-8.13%
Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders-2.32%
Renewable Energy-9.26%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 78.8%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 617.2% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Renewable Energy industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 21% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 79% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
RNW TransAlta RenewablesCA$12.340.4%
+CA$13.3m
-9.1%PE42.2x
MXG Maxim PowerCA$4.462.5%
+CA$5.6m
11.5%PE8x
ARR Altius Renewable RoyaltiesCA$8.991.0%
+CA$2.8m
6.0%PB1x
REVV ReVolve Renewable PowerCA$0.3313.8%
+CA$2.5m
-47.6%PS6.5x
RE RE RoyaltiesCA$0.505.3%
+CA$1.1m
-19.4%PS8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

REVV

CA$0.33

ReVolve Renewable Power

7D

13.8%

1Y

-47.6%

NPI

CA$21.28

Northland Power

7D

-5.4%

1Y

-36.2%

RE

CA$0.50

RE Royalties

7D

5.3%

1Y

-19.4%

TA

CA$8.45

TransAlta

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-29.6%

CPX

CA$35.93

Capital Power

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-15.3%

SUNN

CA$6.90

SolarBank

7D

-6.1%

1Y

51.6%

BEPC

CA$29.81

Brookfield Renewable

7D

-10.3%

1Y

-33.7%

INE

CA$7.86

Innergex Renewable Energy

7D

-4.5%

1Y

-45.1%

BLX

CA$26.40

Boralex

7D

-7.1%

1Y

-34.3%

PIF

CA$11.54

Polaris Renewable Energy

7D

-3.6%

1Y

-12.9%

MXG

CA$4.46

Maxim Power

7D

2.5%

1Y

11.5%

ARR

CA$8.99

Altius Renewable Royalties

7D

1.0%

1Y

6.0%

CH

CA$0.095

Charbone Hydrogen

7D

11.8%

1Y

-20.8%

NKW.H

CA$0.07

Oceanic Wind Energy

7D

16.7%

1Y

27.3%

RNW

CA$12.34

TransAlta Renewables

7D

0.4%

1Y

-9.1%