Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Packaging Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 03, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M15.1%
  • 1Y2.2%
  • YTD11.4%

In the last week, the Packaging industry is flat overall, with Winpak standing out by going down 6.5%. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 20% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Packaging Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 04 Mar 2024CA$17.8bCA$16.3bCA$773.0m14.4x23x1.1x
Wed, 31 Jan 2024CA$18.8bCA$18.3bCA$891.9m14.4x21.1x1x
Fri, 29 Dec 2023CA$18.5bCA$18.3bCA$890.7m13.7x20.7x1x
Sun, 26 Nov 2023CA$17.8bCA$18.3bCA$918.3m10.2x19.4x1x
Tue, 24 Oct 2023CA$17.2bCA$18.3bCA$875.6m11x19.6x0.9x
Thu, 21 Sep 2023CA$17.9bCA$18.3bCA$872.7m10.8x20.5x1x
Sat, 19 Aug 2023CA$18.6bCA$18.4bCA$890.0m9.4x20.9x1x
Mon, 17 Jul 2023CA$19.7bCA$18.3bCA$873.1m9.9x22.6x1.1x
Wed, 14 Jun 2023CA$19.2bCA$18.3bCA$874.3m10.9x22x1x
Fri, 12 May 2023CA$20.4bCA$18.3bCA$884.0m10.3x23.1x1.1x
Sun, 09 Apr 2023CA$20.0bCA$18.0bCA$924.6m9.7x21.6x1.1x
Tue, 07 Mar 2023CA$19.6bCA$18.0bCA$916.8m15.2x21.4x1.1x
Thu, 02 Feb 2023CA$18.9bCA$17.8bCA$838.9m16.1x22.5x1.1x
Sat, 31 Dec 2022CA$18.3bCA$17.8bCA$840.4m15.9x21.7x1x
Mon, 28 Nov 2022CA$19.5bCA$17.8bCA$817.1m16.7x23.8x1.1x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022CA$19.8bCA$17.5bCA$810.2m16.3x24.5x1.1x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022CA$19.8bCA$17.4bCA$790.5m18.4x25x1.1x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022CA$19.8bCA$17.2bCA$777.1m18.5x25.5x1.2x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022CA$19.0bCA$16.7bCA$746.4m17.8x25.4x1.1x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022CA$18.5bCA$16.7bCA$752.9m17.4x24.6x1.1x
Sat, 14 May 2022CA$18.7bCA$16.6bCA$752.6m17.6x24.9x1.1x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022CA$18.6bCA$16.1bCA$855.6m18.3x21.8x1.2x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022CA$17.8bCA$16.1bCA$920.9m15.2x19.3x1.1x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022CA$19.5bCA$16.8bCA$1.1b13.9x17.1x1.2x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022CA$20.2bCA$16.8bCA$1.1b16.3x17.7x1.2x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021CA$19.1bCA$16.8bCA$1.2b14.6x16.6x1.1x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021CA$20.3bCA$16.4bCA$1.2b15.5x17.2x1.2x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021CA$21.2bCA$16.5bCA$1.2b15.7x17.6x1.3x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021CA$21.9bCA$16.4bCA$1.2b15.6x18.2x1.3x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021CA$20.9bCA$16.4bCA$1.2b15.3x17.1x1.3x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021CA$21.6bCA$16.1bCA$1.2b15.9x18.1x1.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.1x


Total Market Cap: CA$21.6bTotal Earnings: CA$1.2bTotal Revenue: CA$16.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Packaging Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Canadian Packaging industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 23.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 20.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaging industry have declined 13% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Materials industry?

CA Market0.73%
Materials1.70%
Packaging-0.41%
Metal and Glass Containers-0.29%
Paper Packaging-2.25%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Metal and Glass Containers industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 18.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 14.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 0.1% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Paper Packaging industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 102% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 80% per year.
  • In contrast, the Metal and Glass Containers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 14% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CCL.B CCL IndustriesCA$69.731.1%
+CA$140.5m
6.7%PE23.4x
NEXE NEXE InnovationsCA$0.254.2%
+CA$972.9k
-45.7%PS180.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.