Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Oil and Gas Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies197
  • 7D1.8%
  • 3M-0.04%
  • 1Y3.4%
  • YTD2.9%

In the last week, the Oil and Gas industry is up 1.8%, with Canadian Natural Resources up 3.6%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 3.4%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 7.8% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Oil and Gas Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 25 Feb 2024CA$616.5bCA$382.6bCA$52.6b8.2x11.7x1.6x
Tue, 23 Jan 2024CA$592.2bCA$386.3bCA$47.8b6.6x12.4x1.5x
Thu, 21 Dec 2023CA$600.6bCA$386.1bCA$47.7b6.3x12.6x1.6x
Sat, 18 Nov 2023CA$610.3bCA$387.2bCA$47.9b6.7x12.7x1.6x
Mon, 16 Oct 2023CA$630.7bCA$401.5bCA$55.6b6.2x11.3x1.6x
Wed, 13 Sep 2023CA$614.2bCA$401.3bCA$55.5b6.6x11.1x1.5x
Fri, 11 Aug 2023CA$598.0bCA$406.2bCA$57.5b6.2x10.4x1.5x
Sun, 09 Jul 2023CA$556.5bCA$436.8bCA$67.5b5.1x8.2x1.3x
Tue, 06 Jun 2023CA$561.7bCA$437.2bCA$67.6b4.7x8.3x1.3x
Thu, 04 May 2023CA$555.1bCA$446.0bCA$69.5b4.4x8x1.2x
Sat, 01 Apr 2023CA$564.8bCA$449.9bCA$70.1b4.2x8.1x1.3x
Mon, 27 Feb 2023CA$587.6bCA$444.4bCA$73.3b5x8x1.3x
Wed, 25 Jan 2023CA$612.0bCA$436.9bCA$74.7b5.3x8.2x1.4x
Fri, 23 Dec 2022CA$577.7bCA$437.4bCA$74.8b5x7.7x1.3x
Sun, 20 Nov 2022CA$633.7bCA$437.0bCA$74.5b5.5x8.5x1.5x
Tue, 18 Oct 2022CA$579.6bCA$406.9bCA$65.1b6.1x8.9x1.4x
Thu, 15 Sep 2022CA$620.0bCA$405.5bCA$64.7b6.2x9.6x1.5x
Sat, 13 Aug 2022CA$601.5bCA$404.5bCA$64.4b5.8x9.3x1.5x
Mon, 11 Jul 2022CA$576.5bCA$352.7bCA$52.7b7.5x10.9x1.6x
Wed, 08 Jun 2022CA$710.3bCA$352.1bCA$52.7b10.3x13.5x2x
Fri, 06 May 2022CA$653.7bCA$328.1bCA$47.6b8.7x13.7x2x
Sun, 03 Apr 2022CA$622.1bCA$312.0bCA$42.4b9.2x14.7x2x
Tue, 01 Mar 2022CA$576.6bCA$299.9bCA$38.5b8.4x15x1.9x
Thu, 27 Jan 2022CA$527.3bCA$269.1bCA$29.1b8.1x18.1x2x
Sat, 25 Dec 2021CA$475.7bCA$269.2bCA$29.1b7.3x16.3x1.8x
Mon, 22 Nov 2021CA$489.9bCA$271.5bCA$29.8b8.7x16.4x1.8x
Wed, 20 Oct 2021CA$502.8bCA$236.5bCA$19.0b11.5x26.4x2.1x
Fri, 17 Sep 2021CA$454.1bCA$236.9bCA$19.0b9.3x23.9x1.9x
Sun, 15 Aug 2021CA$409.1bCA$233.9bCA$18.6b8.1x22x1.7x
Thu, 10 Jun 2021CA$416.1bCA$197.3bCA$2.2b9.7x193.2x2.1x
Wed, 03 Mar 2021CA$352.3bCA$185.1b-CA$24,537,344,405.1110.9x-14.4x1.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-14.4x


Total Market Cap: CA$352.3bTotal Earnings: -CA$24,537,344,405.11Total Revenue: CA$185.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Oil and Gas Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 30.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Oil and Gas industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 30.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Oil and Gas industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 27% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Canadian Energy industry?

CA Market0.97%
Energy1.67%
Oil and Gas1.75%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing4.19%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production2.99%
Integrated Oil and Gas2.36%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation1.35%
Coal and Fuels-6.00%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Coal and Fuels industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 1kx.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 16.1%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 303.7% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Integrated Oil and Gas industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 13.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Coal and Fuels industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Integrated Oil and Gas industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 6.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CNQ Canadian Natural ResourcesCA$88.193.6%
+CA$3.3b
14.5%PE13.3x
SU Suncor EnergyCA$45.792.7%
+CA$1.6b
-0.9%PE7.1x
IMO Imperial OilCA$83.243.1%
+CA$1.3b
22.6%PE9.1x
ENB EnbridgeCA$47.001.2%
+CA$1.1b
-8.7%PE17.1x
TOU Tourmaline OilCA$59.313.6%
+CA$730.8m
-1.3%PE20.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

IPCO

CA$14.50

International Petroleum

7D

-6.0%

1Y

10.5%

PPL

CA$46.84

Pembina Pipeline

7D

2.0%

1Y

3.9%

CVE

CA$23.78

Cenovus Energy

7D

1.2%

1Y

-4.0%

SU

CA$45.79

Suncor Energy

7D

2.7%

1Y

-0.9%

EFR

CA$8.08

Energy Fuels

7D

-7.6%

1Y

-9.3%

DML

CA$2.36

Denison Mines

7D

-8.5%

1Y

44.8%

IMO

CA$83.24

Imperial Oil

7D

3.1%

1Y

22.6%

CNQ

CA$88.19

Canadian Natural Resources

7D

3.6%

1Y

14.5%

NXE

CA$9.21

NexGen Energy

7D

-8.4%

1Y

64.8%

CCO

CA$54.27

Cameco

7D

-4.6%

1Y

46.2%

ISO

CA$3.92

IsoEnergy

7D

-12.3%

1Y

32.0%

ENB

CA$47.00

Enbridge

7D

1.2%

1Y

-8.7%

SCR

CA$23.47

Strathcona Resources

7D

-5.0%

1Y

n/a

TOU

CA$59.31

Tourmaline Oil

7D

3.6%

1Y

-1.3%

PIPE

CA$1.94

Pipestone Energy

7D

-13.4%

1Y

-55.7%