Header cover image

Pakistani (KSE) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies19
  • 7D0.8%
  • 3M17.5%
  • 1Y89.9%
  • YTD16.5%

The Banks is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Standard Chartered Bank (Pakistan) has stood out, gaining 7.5%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 90% over the past 12 months. In the next few years earnings are forecast to be pretty stable.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Pakistani Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024PK₨1.9tPK₨2.1tPK₨581.0b2.6x3.3x0.9x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024PK₨1.7tPK₨2.0tPK₨551.7b2.5x3.1x0.8x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024PK₨1.6tPK₨1.8tPK₨510.0b3x3.2x0.9x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024PK₨1.6tPK₨1.8tPK₨508.4b2.9x3.2x0.9x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023PK₨1.6tPK₨1.8tPK₨508.4b2.7x3.2x0.9x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023PK₨1.4tPK₨1.8tPK₨497.9b2.4x2.7x0.8x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023PK₨1.2tPK₨1.6tPK₨444.3b2.5x2.7x0.7x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023PK₨1.3tPK₨1.6tPK₨414.2b2.7x3.1x0.8x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023PK₨1.2tPK₨1.5tPK₨365.1b3.4x3.4x0.8x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023PK₨950.9bPK₨1.5tPK₨355.1b2.9x2.7x0.7x
Tue, 23 May 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨1.4tPK₨347.0b3.1x2.9x0.7x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨1.3tPK₨309.9b3.2x3.2x0.8x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨1.3tPK₨307.4b3.4x3.4x0.8x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨1.2tPK₨276.1b4.4x3.8x0.8x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨1.2tPK₨275.7b4.2x3.6x0.8x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨1.2tPK₨275.3b4.3x3.9x0.9x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨1.2tPK₨268.3b4.5x4x0.9x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨1.1tPK₨257.5b4.7x4.2x1x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022PK₨1.2tPK₨1.1tPK₨269.2b4.9x4.3x1.1x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨1.0tPK₨285.1b4.2x3.9x1.1x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨1.0tPK₨285.1b4.3x4x1.1x
Wed, 25 May 2022PK₨1.3tPK₨1.0tPK₨283.2b4.8x4.4x1.2x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022PK₨1.4tPK₨1.0tPK₨269.7b5.4x5x1.4x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022PK₨1.3tPK₨949.7bPK₨259.6b5.4x5.1x1.4x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022PK₨1.4tPK₨949.5bPK₨254.0b5.5x5.6x1.5x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022PK₨1.4tPK₨943.7bPK₨251.5b5.5x5.7x1.5x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021PK₨1.4tPK₨943.7bPK₨251.5b5.4x5.5x1.5x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021PK₨1.4tPK₨943.7bPK₨251.5b5.7x5.7x1.5x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021PK₨1.3tPK₨936.6bPK₨253.4b5.7x5.3x1.4x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021PK₨1.3tPK₨936.6bPK₨253.4b5.3x5.2x1.4x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021PK₨1.3tPK₨936.6bPK₨253.4b5.6x5.2x1.4x
Wed, 05 May 2021PK₨1.3tPK₨921.7bPK₨254.4b5.2x4.9x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

4.9x


Total Market Cap: PK₨1.3tTotal Earnings: PK₨254.4bTotal Revenue: PK₨921.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Pakistani Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Pakistani Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 3.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 4.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.92x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 32% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 31% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Pakistani Financials industry?

PK Market0.49%
Financials0.74%
Banks0.81%
Regional Banks1.21%
Diversified Banks0.80%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Diversified Banks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 4.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 0.5%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 89.8% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Regional Banks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 5.0x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Despite it being negative, analysts are least pessimistic on the Diversified Banks industry since they expect its earnings to decline by only 0.5% per year over the next 5 years, which isn't as bad as the other industries.
  • This is a reversal from its past annual earnings growth rate of 90% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Banks industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SCBPL Standard Chartered Bank (Pakistan)PK₨55.817.5%
+PK₨15.0b
183.9%PB2.2x
UBL United BankPK₨193.152.4%
+PK₨5.4b
78.8%PB0.9x
HBL Habib BankPK₨110.961.2%
+PK₨1.9b
48.0%PB0.4x
FABL Faysal BankPK₨38.203.1%
+PK₨1.7b
65.8%PB0.6x
AKBL Askari BankPK₨22.885.3%
+PK₨1.7b
46.6%PB0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SBL

PK₨12.02

Samba Bank

7D

5.0%

1Y

58.2%

BAFL

PK₨53.35

Bank Alfalah

7D

-0.09%

1Y

87.2%

SCBPL

PK₨55.81

Standard Chartered Bank (Pakistan)

7D

7.5%

1Y

183.9%

UBL

PK₨193.15

United Bank

7D

2.4%

1Y

78.8%

MEBL

PK₨228.96

Meezan Bank

7D

-0.4%

1Y

131.5%

FABL

PK₨38.20

Faysal Bank

7D

3.1%

1Y

65.8%

NBP

PK₨43.95

National Bank of Pakistan

7D

1.3%

1Y

110.1%

BOK

PK₨11.91

Bank of Khyber

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-5.3%

AKBL

PK₨22.88

Askari Bank

7D

5.3%

1Y

46.6%

ABL

PK₨87.04

Allied Bank

7D

-1.6%

1Y

37.0%

BIPL

PK₨22.99

BankIslami Pakistan

7D

-1.5%

1Y

111.3%

HBL

PK₨110.96

Habib Bank

7D

1.2%

1Y

48.0%

HMB

PK₨60.79

Habib Metropolitan Bank

7D

1.3%

1Y

113.7%

BML

PK₨2.08

Bank Makramah

7D

-1.0%

1Y

10.6%

MCB

PK₨207.21

MCB Bank

7D

-3.2%

1Y

78.8%

BAHL

PK₨86.89

Bank AL Habib

7D

-1.9%

1Y

106.9%