Header cover image

Pakistani (KSE) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D4.3%
  • 3M6.3%
  • 1Y56.9%
  • YTD-11.2%

In the last week, the Utilities industry is up 4.3%, with K-Electric up 7.1%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 57%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Pakistani Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024PK₨433.0bPK₨2.3tPK₨77.3b3.4x5.6x0.2x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024PK₨476.9bPK₨2.3tPK₨77.3b3.9x6.2x0.2x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023PK₨474.7bPK₨2.3tPK₨77.3b3.9x6.1x0.2x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023PK₨405.5bPK₨2.1tPK₨79.2b3.6x5.1x0.2x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023PK₨345.7bPK₨2.1tPK₨52.4b3.3x6.6x0.2x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023PK₨289.3bPK₨2.2tPK₨50.8b2.8x5.7x0.1x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023PK₨306.0bPK₨2.3tPK₨47.9b3.7x6.4x0.1x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023PK₨287.6bPK₨2.1tPK₨48.5b3.5x5.9x0.1x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023PK₨261.1bPK₨2.0tPK₨36.6b3.4x7.1x0.1x
Wed, 03 May 2023PK₨272.1bPK₨2.0tPK₨55.9b3.2x4.9x0.1x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023PK₨267.4bPK₨2.1tPK₨55.9b3.3x4.8x0.1x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023PK₨277.6bPK₨2.1tPK₨59.0b3.6x4.7x0.1x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023PK₨262.1bPK₨2.1tPK₨59.1b3.5x4.4x0.1x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022PK₨261.9bPK₨2.1tPK₨59.2b3.5x4.4x0.1x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022PK₨297.2bPK₨2.1tPK₨59.2b3.7x5x0.1x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022PK₨284.9bPK₨1.9tPK₨68.4b4.9x4.2x0.1x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022PK₨290.2bPK₨1.6tPK₨61.4b4.9x4.7x0.2x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022PK₨297.7bPK₨1.6tPK₨60.0b5.2x5x0.2x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022PK₨288.5bPK₨1.4tPK₨62.7b5.4x4.6x0.2x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022PK₨261.4bPK₨1.4tPK₨62.7b5.2x4.2x0.2x
Thu, 05 May 2022PK₨284.7bPK₨1.4tPK₨64.8b4.9x4.4x0.2x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022PK₨302.9bPK₨1.3tPK₨70.2b5.1x4.3x0.2x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022PK₨303.6bPK₨1.3tPK₨72.6b5.2x4.2x0.2x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022PK₨320.3bPK₨1.3tPK₨75.8b5.5x4.2x0.2x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021PK₨315.6bPK₨1.3tPK₨75.8b4.6x4.2x0.2x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021PK₨319.0bPK₨1.3tPK₨75.8b4.6x4.2x0.2x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021PK₨314.9bPK₨1.2tPK₨82.7b3.3x3.8x0.3x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021PK₨341.0bPK₨1.5tPK₨65.6b3.4x5.2x0.2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021PK₨336.8bPK₨1.2tPK₨75.4b3.7x4.5x0.3x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021PK₨354.9bPK₨1.2tPK₨87.9b3.4x4x0.3x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021PK₨360.4bPK₨1.2tPK₨87.7b3.4x4.1x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

4.1x


Total Market Cap: PK₨360.4bTotal Earnings: PK₨87.7bTotal Revenue: PK₨1.2tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Pakistani Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Pakistani Utilities industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 5.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 4.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.20x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have declined 4.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 25% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Pakistani Utilities sector?

PK Market4.10%
Utilities4.34%
Gas Utilities7.88%
Electric Utilities6.86%
Renewable Energy2.48%
Other Utilities0%
Water Utilities0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Gas Utilities industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 3.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Renewable Energy industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 64% per year.
  • In contrast, the Renewable Energy industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 13% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KEL K-ElectricPK₨4.397.1%
+PK₨8.0b
103.2%PS0.2x
HUBC Hub PowerPK₨111.613.0%
+PK₨4.3b
59.6%PE2.2x
SNGP Sui Northern Gas PipelinesPK₨66.389.0%
+PK₨3.5b
61.7%PE4.5x
KAPCO Kot Addu PowerPK₨29.142.8%
+PK₨695.4m
1.6%PE8.5x
EPQL Engro Powergen QadirpurPK₨29.715.6%
+PK₨508.4m
26.8%PE3.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NCPL

PK₨25.60

Nishat Chunian Power

7D

4.3%

1Y

81.7%

HUBC

PK₨111.61

Hub Power

7D

3.0%

1Y

59.6%

KAPCO

PK₨29.14

Kot Addu Power

7D

2.8%

1Y

1.6%

SSGC

PK₨11.01

Sui Southern Gas

7D

3.4%

1Y

0.8%

SNGP

PK₨66.38

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines

7D

9.0%

1Y

61.7%

KEL

PK₨4.39

K-Electric

7D

7.1%

1Y

103.2%

KOHE

PK₨37.94

Kohinoor Energy

7D

-3.8%

1Y

21.4%

DLL

PK₨237.00

Dawood Lawrencepur

7D

-0.4%

1Y

16.6%

LPL

PK₨21.20

Lalpir Power

7D

6.6%

1Y

26.3%

EPQL

PK₨29.71

Engro Powergen Qadirpur

7D

5.6%

1Y

26.8%

TSPL

PK₨9.13

Tri-Star Power

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-45.4%