Header cover image

Pakistani (KSE) Oil and Gas Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-0.2%
  • 3M14.8%
  • 1Y78.7%
  • YTD10.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Oil and Gas industry has remained flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 79% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 5.6% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Pakistani Oil and Gas Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 28 May 2024PK₨1.7tPK₨6.9tPK₨515.9b3.7x3.4x0.3x
Thu, 25 Apr 2024PK₨1.7tPK₨6.9tPK₨559.4b3.1x3x0.2x
Sat, 23 Mar 2024PK₨1.5tPK₨6.8tPK₨555.2b2.8x2.7x0.2x
Mon, 19 Feb 2024PK₨1.4tPK₨6.7tPK₨515.7b2.4x2.7x0.2x
Wed, 17 Jan 2024PK₨1.6tPK₨6.6tPK₨502.2b3.4x3.2x0.2x
Fri, 15 Dec 2023PK₨1.6tPK₨6.6tPK₨498.4b3.3x3.1x0.2x
Sun, 12 Nov 2023PK₨1.2tPK₨6.6tPK₨498.4b2.8x2.5x0.2x
Tue, 10 Oct 2023PK₨1.1tPK₨6.5tPK₨454.0b3.1x2.5x0.2x
Thu, 07 Sep 2023PK₨1.1tPK₨6.5tPK₨417.9b2.3x2.7x0.2x
Sat, 05 Aug 2023PK₨1.2tPK₨6.5tPK₨429.2b2.5x2.8x0.2x
Mon, 03 Jul 2023PK₨981.0bPK₨6.5tPK₨429.2b1.9x2.3x0.2x
Wed, 31 May 2023PK₨970.9bPK₨6.5tPK₨429.2b1.9x2.3x0.1x
Fri, 28 Apr 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨6.1tPK₨417.8b2.6x2.5x0.2x
Sun, 26 Mar 2023PK₨1.0tPK₨6.1tPK₨422.7b3.1x2.4x0.2x
Tue, 21 Feb 2023PK₨1.1tPK₨5.6tPK₨431.6b2.9x2.5x0.2x
Thu, 19 Jan 2023PK₨998.3bPK₨5.5tPK₨427.9b3x2.3x0.2x
Sat, 17 Dec 2022PK₨991.1bPK₨5.5tPK₨420.6b2.4x2.4x0.2x
Mon, 14 Nov 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨5.5tPK₨420.6b2.5x2.5x0.2x
Wed, 12 Oct 2022PK₨1.0tPK₨4.7tPK₨399.7b2.8x2.6x0.2x
Fri, 09 Sep 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.9tPK₨383.4b2.8x2.8x0.3x
Sun, 07 Aug 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.8tPK₨378.3b2.9x2.9x0.3x
Tue, 05 Jul 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.8tPK₨374.5b2.8x2.9x0.3x
Thu, 02 Jun 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.5tPK₨337.8b3.2x3.2x0.3x
Sat, 30 Apr 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.2tPK₨303.2b4.3x3.7x0.3x
Mon, 28 Mar 2022PK₨1.1tPK₨3.2tPK₨303.1b3.5x3.5x0.3x
Wed, 23 Feb 2022PK₨1.2tPK₨3.0tPK₨264.4b4.1x4.4x0.4x
Fri, 21 Jan 2022PK₨1.2tPK₨2.9tPK₨256.7b6.7x4.5x0.4x
Sun, 19 Dec 2021PK₨1.1tPK₨2.9tPK₨256.7b6x4.4x0.4x
Tue, 16 Nov 2021PK₨1.1tPK₨2.9tPK₨256.7b6.7x4.4x0.4x
Thu, 14 Oct 2021PK₨1.1tPK₨2.6tPK₨236.8b6.5x4.7x0.4x
Sat, 11 Sep 2021PK₨1.2tPK₨2.6tPK₨227.3b6.8x5.3x0.5x
Mon, 09 Aug 2021PK₨1.2tPK₨2.6tPK₨224.0b6.8x5.5x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

6.9x


Total Market Cap: PK₨1.3tTotal Earnings: PK₨190.0bTotal Revenue: PK₨2.3tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Pakistani Oil and Gas Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 3.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Pakistani Oil and Gas industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 3.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.28x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Oil and Gas industry have grown 39% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 43% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Pakistani Energy industry?

PK Market0.66%
Energy-0.18%
Oil and Gas-0.18%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production0.10%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Coal and Fuels0%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing-1.63%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation-2.42%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 3.6x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 15.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 21.7% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 22% per year.
  • In contrast, the Oil and Gas Exploration and Production industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.6% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
OGDC Oil and Gas DevelopmentPK₨136.980.6%
+PK₨3.6b
83.6%PE2.5x
MARI Mari PetroleumPK₨2.84k1.0%
+PK₨3.6b
85.6%PE5.6x
APL Attock PetroleumPK₨398.481.5%
+PK₨756.4m
33.9%PE3.7x
CNERGY Cnergyico PKPK₨4.521.3%
+PK₨329.6m
39.9%PS0.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

OGDC

PK₨136.98

Oil and Gas Development

7D

0.6%

1Y

83.6%

NRL

PK₨280.97

National Refinery

7D

-4.8%

1Y

87.2%

CNERGY

PK₨4.52

Cnergyico PK

7D

1.3%

1Y

39.9%

PRL

PK₨26.63

Pakistan Refinery

7D

-1.3%

1Y

91.6%

PPL

PK₨121.23

Pakistan Petroleum

7D

-0.9%

1Y

112.3%

MARI

PK₨2,838.10

Mari Petroleum

7D

1.0%

1Y

85.6%

POL

PK₨497.90

Pakistan Oilfields

7D

-1.9%

1Y

15.4%

PSO

PK₨174.71

Pakistan State Oil

7D

-1.3%

1Y

73.9%

SHEL

PK₨137.93

Shell Pakistan

7D

-3.8%

1Y

101.8%

APL

PK₨398.48

Attock Petroleum

7D

1.5%

1Y

33.9%

SHSML

PK₨522.41

Shahmurad Sugar Mills

7D

-11.5%

1Y

209.5%

ATRL

PK₨387.05

Attock Refinery

7D

-1.3%

1Y

137.5%