Header cover image

Pakistani (KSE) Packaging Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-0.9%
  • 3M3.8%
  • 1Y15.3%
  • YTD-6.0%

In the last week, the Packaging industry is flat overall, with Ghani Glass standing out by going down 3.3%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 15% in that time.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Pakistani Packaging Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024PK₨86.0bPK₨162.0bPK₨15.0b6.8x5.7x0.5x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024PK₨82.6bPK₨161.9bPK₨15.4b5.6x5.4x0.5x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024PK₨82.3bPK₨161.9bPK₨15.3b5.9x5.4x0.5x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024PK₨78.0bPK₨164.0bPK₨15.1b6.4x5.2x0.5x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024PK₨88.5bPK₨164.0bPK₨15.2b6.2x5.8x0.5x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023PK₨96.3bPK₨164.0bPK₨15.2b7.3x6.3x0.6x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023PK₨76.8bPK₨167.2bPK₨13.8b5.8x5.6x0.5x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023PK₨69.0bPK₨166.3bPK₨13.5b4.8x5.1x0.4x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023PK₨67.6bPK₨164.3bPK₨13.2b5.5x5.1x0.4x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023PK₨74.8bPK₨164.3bPK₨13.2b5.2x5.7x0.5x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023PK₨68.2bPK₨164.3bPK₨13.2b4.8x5.2x0.4x
Mon, 29 May 2023PK₨74.6bPK₨165.7bPK₨13.2b5.4x5.6x0.5x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023PK₨77.6bPK₨151.2bPK₨11.7b6.9x6.6x0.5x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023PK₨73.2bPK₨151.2bPK₨11.7b6.3x6.2x0.5x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023PK₨73.2bPK₨145.1bPK₨11.2b5.2x6.5x0.5x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023PK₨72.9bPK₨141.8bPK₨11.7b5.1x6.2x0.5x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022PK₨80.1bPK₨138.2bPK₨11.8b5.7x6.8x0.6x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022PK₨88.5bPK₨132.0bPK₨11.7b6.4x7.5x0.7x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022PK₨88.2bPK₨123.1bPK₨11.8b6.5x7.5x0.7x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022PK₨85.2bPK₨111.0bPK₨10.0b7x8.5x0.8x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022PK₨80.4bPK₨111.0bPK₨10.0b7x8.1x0.7x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022PK₨81.0bPK₨111.0bPK₨10.0b7x8.1x0.7x
Tue, 31 May 2022PK₨81.9bPK₨111.0bPK₨10.0b7.2x8.2x0.7x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022PK₨86.4bPK₨107.1bPK₨10.1b7.5x8.6x0.8x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022PK₨83.1bPK₨107.1bPK₨10.1b6.7x8.2x0.8x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022PK₨90.9bPK₨102.6bPK₨9.1b7.7x10x0.9x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022PK₨91.0bPK₨100.3bPK₨9.5b8x9.6x0.9x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021PK₨87.1bPK₨100.3bPK₨9.5b7.6x9.2x0.9x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021PK₨95.1bPK₨100.3bPK₨9.5b8.9x10x0.9x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021PK₨86.7bPK₨88.2bPK₨8.8b9.5x9.9x1x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021PK₨94.9bPK₨82.2bPK₨8.8b10.2x10.8x1.2x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021PK₨100.7bPK₨82.2bPK₨8.8b11.9x11.4x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

11.2x


Total Market Cap: PK₨80.1bTotal Earnings: PK₨7.1bTotal Revenue: PK₨72.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Pakistani Packaging Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 7.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Pakistani Packaging industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 5.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 7.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.68x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaging industry have grown 28% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 31% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Pakistani Materials industry?

PK Market1.06%
Materials-0.88%
Packaging-0.90%
Metal and Glass Containers-0.83%
Paper Packaging-1.02%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Paper Packaging industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Metal and Glass Containers industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 7.2x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PABC Pakistan Aluminium Beverage CansPK₨69.932.1%
+PK₨509.2m
36.7%PE5.5x
MERIT Merit PackagingPK₨13.2517.7%
+PK₨397.9m
65.6%PS0.4x
CPPL Cherat PackagingPK₨123.710.8%
+PK₨46.1m
27.9%PE5.6x
RPL Roshan PackagesPK₨15.500.3%
+PK₨5.7m
55.5%PE30.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MERIT

PK₨13.25

Merit Packaging

7D

17.7%

1Y

65.6%

RPL

PK₨15.50

Roshan Packages

7D

0.3%

1Y

55.5%

CEPB

PK₨33.29

Century Paper & Board Mills

7D

-3.6%

1Y

36.6%

SPEL

PK₨15.60

Synthetic Products Enterprises

7D

-5.6%

1Y

47.6%

CPPL

PK₨123.71

Cherat Packaging

7D

0.8%

1Y

27.9%

ECOP

PK₨13.70

EcoPack

7D

-2.1%

1Y

-11.3%

MACFL

PK₨19.00

Macpac Films

7D

-2.1%

1Y

21.4%

PABC

PK₨69.93

Pakistan Aluminium Beverage Cans

7D

2.1%

1Y

36.7%

FTMM

PK₨4.90

First Treet Manufacturing Modaraba

7D

-2.0%

1Y

-26.3%

GHGL

PK₨27.25

Ghani Glass

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-5.8%

BGL

PK₨13.95

Balochistan Glass

7D

-10.7%

1Y

26.0%