Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Regional Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 23, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies2
  • 7D0.2%
  • 3M16.8%
  • 1Y-30.2%
  • YTD9.3%

The Regional Banks industry has stayed flat over the last week. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 30% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 9.1% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Regional Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 23 Jan 2023CA$2.9bCA$1.1bCA$332.0m10.6x8.6x2.6x
Wed, 21 Dec 2022CA$2.5bCA$1.1bCA$332.0m10x7.6x2.3x
Fri, 18 Nov 2022CA$2.6bCA$1.1bCA$353.8m9.4x7.4x2.4x
Sun, 16 Oct 2022CA$2.3bCA$1.1bCA$353.8m9.4x6.6x2.1x
Tue, 13 Sep 2022CA$2.6bCA$1.1bCA$353.8m9.9x7.4x2.4x
Thu, 11 Aug 2022CA$2.8bCA$1.1bCA$359.0m10x7.9x2.6x
Sat, 09 Jul 2022CA$2.6bCA$1.1bCA$359.0m9.5x7.3x2.4x
Mon, 06 Jun 2022CA$3.1bCA$1.1bCA$359.0m11.1x8.5x2.8x
Wed, 04 May 2022CA$3.3bCA$1.1bCA$357.2m12.6x9.3x3.1x
Fri, 01 Apr 2022CA$3.7bCA$1.1bCA$357.2m14.2x10.4x3.4x
Sun, 27 Feb 2022CA$3.8bCA$1.1bCA$356.7m14.7x10.7x3.6x
Tue, 25 Jan 2022CA$3.9bCA$1.0bCA$348.3m14.8x11.1x3.7x
Thu, 23 Dec 2021CA$3.6bCA$1.0bCA$348.3m14.9x10.4x3.5x
Sat, 20 Nov 2021CA$3.9bCA$996.7mCA$320.2m17.2x12.2x3.9x
Mon, 18 Oct 2021CA$3.8bCA$996.7mCA$320.2m16x12x3.8x
Wed, 15 Sep 2021CA$3.6bCA$996.7mCA$320.2m13x11.1x3.6x
Fri, 13 Aug 2021CA$3.4bCA$996.7mCA$320.2m12.6x10.5x3.4x
Tue, 08 Jun 2021CA$3.5bCA$941.3mCA$294.8m14.1x11.9x3.7x
Mon, 01 Mar 2021CA$3.3bCA$886.3mCA$273.6m15.4x11.9x3.7x
Thu, 03 Dec 2020CA$2.8bCA$859.8mCA$266.2m9.9x10.5x3.2x
Sun, 06 Sep 2020CA$2.6bCA$849.6mCA$271.0m8.9x9.5x3x
Wed, 10 Jun 2020CA$2.1bCA$854.2mCA$280.3m7.5x7.5x2.5x
Tue, 03 Mar 2020CA$2.8bCA$868.5mCA$290.6m8.8x9.5x3.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.4x


Total Market Cap: CA$3.0bTotal Earnings: CA$290.6mTotal Revenue: CA$868.5mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Regional Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.4x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There are only 2 companies in the Canadian Regional Banks industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Regional Banks industry have grown 4.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.4% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Regional Banks compare with similar industries?

CA Market0.62%
Financials0.44%
Banks0.29%
Regional Banks0.17%
Diversified Banks0.29%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CWB Canadian Western BankCA$26.970.6%
+CA$44.0m
-28.4%PB0.7x
VBNK VersaBankCA$10.243.4%
+CA$9.3m
-30.1%PB0.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CWB

CA$26.97

Canadian Western Bank

7D

0.6%

1Y

-28.4%

VBNK

CA$10.24

VersaBank

7D

3.4%

1Y

-30.1%