Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Multi-Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 06, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M-24.0%
  • 1Y-18.4%
  • YTD-20.4%

The Multi-Utilities industry has stayed flat over the last week. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 16% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 20% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Multi-Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 06 Dec 2022CA$21.6bCA$15.6bCA$1.2b14.6x17.8x1.4x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022CA$24.5bCA$15.3bCA$2.1b14.3x11.7x1.6x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022CA$24.9bCA$15.0bCA$2.0b15.2x12.2x1.7x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022CA$29.1bCA$14.6bCA$2.1b17.4x14.1x2x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022CA$27.6bCA$11.3bCA$1.1b26.1x24.4x2.4x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022CA$26.7bCA$11.3bCA$1.1b24.3x23.5x2.4x
Sun, 22 May 2022CA$28.7bCA$11.3bCA$1.1b26.2x25.3x2.5x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022CA$28.9bCA$10.7bCA$896.6m32.1x32.2x2.7x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022CA$27.4bCA$10.7bCA$900.0m30.1x30.4x2.6x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022CA$26.3bCA$10.2bCA$1.2b22.5x21.8x2.6x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022CA$26.3bCA$10.2bCA$1.2b22x21.8x2.6x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021CA$26.2bCA$10.2bCA$1.2b22.7x21.6x2.6x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021CA$26.2bCA$10.0bCA$1.3b22x20.1x2.6x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021CA$25.4bCA$9.9bCA$1.3b21.6x19x2.6x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021CA$26.6bCA$9.8bCA$1.3b22.6x20.2x2.7x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021CA$25.7bCA$9.8bCA$1.3b23.4x19.5x2.6x
Sat, 10 Apr 2021CA$25.9bCA$9.5bCA$1.7b19.3x15.6x2.7x
Fri, 01 Jan 2021CA$25.2bCA$9.3bCA$1.6b16.6x15.8x2.7x
Mon, 05 Oct 2020CA$24.5bCA$9.5bCA$1.3b19.5x19.4x2.6x
Thu, 09 Jul 2020CA$23.0bCA$9.9bCA$1.7b13.6x13.9x2.3x
Wed, 01 Apr 2020CA$23.6bCA$10.3bCA$1.8b11.1x12.8x2.3x
Sat, 04 Jan 2020CA$26.0bCA$10.7bCA$2.1b12.1x12.5x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.5x


Total Market Cap: CA$26.0bTotal Earnings: CA$2.1bTotal Revenue: CA$10.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Multi-Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.9x20212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Canadian Multi-Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Multi-Utilities industry have declined 5.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Multi-Utilities compare with similar industries?

CA Market0.18%
Utilities1.90%
Other Utilities-0.38%
Multi-Utilities-0.38%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

JE.H

CA$0.055

Just Energy Group

7D

-35.3%

1Y

-95.6%

ACO.X

CA$42.53

ATCO

7D

-1.4%

1Y

0.4%

CU

CA$36.72

Canadian Utilities

7D

-0.1%

1Y

3.9%