Header cover image

Canadian (TSX) Home Furnishing Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies3
  • 7D1.7%
  • 3M17.0%
  • 1Y7.7%
  • YTDn/a

The Home Furnishing Retail industry has stayed flat over the last week. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 6.3% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 6.1% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Canadian Home Furnishing Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 22 Feb 2024CA$2.8bCA$3.9bCA$270.1m10.3x10.3x0.7x
Sat, 20 Jan 2024CA$2.6bCA$3.9bCA$270.1m9.4x9.5x0.6x
Mon, 18 Dec 2023CA$2.5bCA$3.9bCA$270.1m9.1x9.3x0.6x
Wed, 15 Nov 2023CA$2.4bCA$4.0bCA$292.4m8.9x8.3x0.6x
Fri, 13 Oct 2023CA$2.5bCA$4.0bCA$305.7m8.2x8.1x0.6x
Sun, 10 Sep 2023CA$2.6bCA$4.0bCA$305.7m8.6x8.4x0.6x
Tue, 08 Aug 2023CA$3.0bCA$4.1bCA$349.2m8.6x8.5x0.7x
Thu, 06 Jul 2023CA$3.0bCA$4.1bCA$349.2m8.8x8.5x0.7x
Sat, 03 Jun 2023CA$2.9bCA$4.1bCA$312.0m9x9.3x0.7x
Mon, 01 May 2023CA$2.6bCA$4.2bCA$341.6m7.4x7.6x0.6x
Wed, 29 Mar 2023CA$2.4bCA$4.2bCA$341.6m7.1x7x0.6x
Fri, 24 Feb 2023CA$2.7bCA$4.2bCA$327.7m9x8.1x0.6x
Sun, 22 Jan 2023CA$2.5bCA$4.2bCA$341.0m8.9x7.4x0.6x
Tue, 20 Dec 2022CA$2.3bCA$4.2bCA$341.0m8.1x6.8x0.5x
Thu, 17 Nov 2022CA$2.3bCA$4.3bCA$347.3m6.7x6.5x0.5x
Sat, 15 Oct 2022CA$2.4bCA$4.3bCA$357.3m7.7x6.7x0.6x
Mon, 12 Sep 2022CA$2.6bCA$4.3bCA$357.3m8.5x7.4x0.6x
Wed, 10 Aug 2022CA$2.7bCA$4.3bCA$367.7m6.9x7.3x0.6x
Fri, 08 Jul 2022CA$2.5bCA$4.3bCA$362.0m6.9x6.9x0.6x
Sun, 05 Jun 2022CA$2.6bCA$4.3bCA$371.7m6.2x7.1x0.6x
Tue, 03 May 2022CA$2.7bCA$4.3bCA$378.1m6.3x7.3x0.6x
Thu, 31 Mar 2022CA$3.1bCA$4.2bCA$382.4m7.3x8.1x0.7x
Sat, 26 Feb 2022CA$3.2bCA$4.2bCA$382.2m7.5x8.3x0.8x
Mon, 24 Jan 2022CA$3.7bCA$4.2bCA$379.0m9.1x9.8x0.9x
Wed, 22 Dec 2021CA$3.7bCA$4.2bCA$379.0m9.1x9.9x0.9x
Fri, 19 Nov 2021CA$3.8bCA$4.2bCA$379.6m9.2x10.1x0.9x
Sun, 17 Oct 2021CA$3.6bCA$4.1bCA$360.6m10.2x10x0.9x
Tue, 14 Sep 2021CA$3.6bCA$4.1bCA$360.6m9.4x9.9x0.9x
Thu, 12 Aug 2021CA$3.7bCA$4.1bCA$360.6m10.3x10.2x0.9x
Mon, 07 Jun 2021CA$3.3bCA$3.8bCA$335.2m9.3x9.9x0.9x
Sun, 28 Feb 2021CA$3.0bCA$3.6bCA$281.4m9.8x10.6x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.6x


Total Market Cap: CA$3.0bTotal Earnings: CA$281.4mTotal Revenue: CA$3.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Canadian Home Furnishing Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
    There are only 3 companies in the Canadian Home Furnishing Retail industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Home Furnishing Retail industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.8% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does Canadian Home Furnishing Retail compare with similar industries?

CA Market1.56%
Consumer Discretionary0.50%
Specialty Stores-2.69%
Home Furnishing Retail1.65%
Computer and Electronics Retail0%
Automotive Retail-0.43%
Specialty Stores-2.79%
Apparel Retail-5.79%
Home Improvement Retail-11.39%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LNF Leon's FurnitureCA$21.113.0%
+CA$41.5m
6.5%PE10.6x
ZZZ Sleep Country Canada HoldingsCA$27.490.7%
+CA$6.4m
10.8%PE10.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ZZZ

CA$27.49

Sleep Country Canada Holdings

7D

0.7%

1Y

10.8%

LNF

CA$21.11

Leon's Furniture

7D

3.0%

1Y

6.5%

GBT

CA$14.20

BMTC Group

7D

-0.4%

1Y

5.2%