Header cover image

Indian (NIFTY) Aerospace & Defense Industry Analysis

UpdatedNov 28, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D2.2%
  • 3M18.0%
  • 1Y93.6%
  • YTD86.8%

The Aerospace & Defense industry is up 2.2% in the last week, with Hindustan Aeronautics up 4.2%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 94%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 12% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Indian Aerospace & Defense Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 28 Nov 2022₹2.2t₹582.0b₹105.0b29.6x21.3x3.8x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022₹2.1t₹567.3b₹99.5b29.4x20.8x3.7x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022₹2.0t₹567.3b₹99.5b26x20.6x3.6x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022₹1.8t₹567.4b₹99.5b21.6x17.8x3.1x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022₹1.5t₹528.3b₹93.0b21.2x15.6x2.8x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022₹1.5t₹513.0b₹89.6b20.9x16.8x2.9x
Sat, 14 May 2022₹1.3t₹503.4b₹78.0b22.3x16.9x2.6x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022₹1.4t₹503.3b₹78.0b24.7x18.3x2.8x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022₹1.2t₹502.7b₹78.0b18.5x15.2x2.4x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022₹1.2t₹492.0b₹74.6b25x16.6x2.5x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022₹1.2t₹478.2b₹71.4b22.3x16.1x2.4x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021₹1.1t₹475.4b₹70.5b20x15.7x2.3x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021₹1.2t₹454.9b₹65.1b22.1x17.7x2.5x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021₹1.1t₹453.4b₹65.0b19.5x17x2.4x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021₹940.7b₹453.4b₹65.0b14.3x14.5x2.1x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021₹920.9b₹453.4b₹65.0b13.4x14.2x2x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021₹767.9b₹443.6b₹63.1b12.3x12.2x1.7x
Mon, 04 Jan 2021₹709.8b₹430.8b₹54.4b15.3x13x1.6x
Thu, 08 Oct 2020₹590.2b₹381.2b₹46.4b14.4x12.7x1.5x
Wed, 01 Jul 2020₹563.7b₹367.9b₹46.8b14.4x12x1.5x
Sat, 04 Apr 2020₹407.0b₹393.5b₹54.4b6.6x7.5x1x
Tue, 07 Jan 2020₹568.2b₹367.0b₹47.4b12.1x12x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

11.6x


Total Market Cap: ₹598.9bTotal Earnings: ₹51.8bTotal Revenue: ₹377.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Indian Aerospace & Defense Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.3x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Indian Aerospace & Defense industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 21.3x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 14.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Aerospace & Defense industry have grown 27% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 16% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Indian Industrials industry?

IN Market0.87%
Industrials0.53%
Aerospace & Defense2.19%
Aerospace and Defense2.19%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
HAL Hindustan Aeronautics₹2.73k4.2%
+₹36.4b
112.4%PE15.5x
543237 Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders₹852.003.9%
+₹6.4b
213.9%PE21.1x
BDL Bharat Dynamics₹957.953.3%
+₹5.6b
147.2%PE29.6x
GRSE Garden Reach Shipbuilders & Engineers₹490.850.8%
+₹469.7m
116.2%PE25.7x
500049 Bharat Electronics₹107.150.05%
+₹365.5m
62.5%PE28.6x
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News