Header cover image

Saudi Arabian (Tadawul) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D10.8%
  • 3M50.8%
  • 1Y84.3%
  • YTD49.1%

In the last week, the Utilities industry is up 11%, with ACWA Power up 10%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 84%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 32% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Saudi Arabian Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024ر.س430.8bر.س92.1bر.س5.2b36.6x83.5x4.7x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024ر.س372.4bر.س91.8bر.س5.2b38.9x72.2x4.1x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024ر.س299.1bر.س89.5bر.س7.1b37.9x41.9x3.3x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024ر.س278.2bر.س89.5bر.س7.1b31.6x39x3.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023ر.س283.1bر.س89.5bر.س7.1b28.9x39.6x3.2x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023ر.س248.7bر.س88.3bر.س7.7b24.7x32.2x2.8x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023ر.س235.7bر.س87.8bر.س7.8b24.4x30.3x2.7x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023ر.س257.5bر.س87.8bر.س7.8b27.1x33.1x2.9x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023ر.س251.3bر.س87.1bر.س9.0b29.6x27.8x2.9x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023ر.س242.5bر.س87.1bر.س9.0b28.6x26.9x2.8x
Mon, 29 May 2023ر.س229.8bر.س86.9bر.س8.9b27.3x25.7x2.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023ر.س237.4bر.س86.9bر.س10.0b27.3x23.7x2.7x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023ر.س217.3bر.س86.6bر.س17.6b25x12.3x2.5x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023ر.س221.7bر.س85.8bر.س8.0b25.2x27.7x2.6x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023ر.س234.3bر.س85.8bر.س8.0b26.2x29.2x2.7x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022ر.س220.9bر.س85.8bر.س8.0b24.1x27.6x2.6x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022ر.س223.0bر.س78.4bر.س8.0b27.6x28x2.8x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022ر.س233.0bر.س78.3bر.س7.6b31.5x30.5x3x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022ر.س227.6bر.س78.3bر.س7.6b28.4x29.8x2.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022ر.س241.2bر.س77.4bر.س7.8b29.9x30.9x3.1x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022ر.س216.4bر.س77.4bر.س7.8b28x27.7x2.8x
Tue, 31 May 2022ر.س220.9bر.س77.4bر.س7.8b29.3x28.3x2.9x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022ر.س222.6bر.س77.3bر.س7.9b26.9x28x2.9x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022ر.س202.5bر.س77.3bر.س15.5b24.3x13.1x2.6x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022ر.س190.1bر.س82.0bر.س13.2bn/a14.5x2.3x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022ر.س189.3bر.س82.0bر.س13.2b22.3x14.4x2.3x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021ر.س165.2bر.س82.0bر.س13.2b22x12.6x2x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021ر.س170.8bر.س82.0bر.س15.1b22.1x11.3x2.1x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021ر.س119.7bر.س75.4bر.س9.5b18.3x12.7x1.6x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021ر.س121.6bر.س75.4bر.س9.5b20.5x12.9x1.6x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021ر.س114.8bر.س75.4bر.س9.5b15.9x12.1x1.5x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021ر.س114.0bر.س73.1bر.س4.7b25x24.5x1.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24.5x


Total Market Cap: ر.س114.0bTotal Earnings: ر.س4.7bTotal Revenue: ر.س73.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Saudi Arabian Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 27x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Saudi Utilities industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 83.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 26.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.6x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have grown 3.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Saudi Arabian Utilities sector?

SA Market-1.47%
Utilities10.77%
Renewable Energy15.36%
Water Utilities4.64%
Electric Utilities-0.10%
Gas Utilities-2.10%
Other Utilities-3.68%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Renewable Energy industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 116x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 30.2%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 26.4% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Gas Utilities industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 20.3x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Electric Utilities industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 42% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 66% per year.
  • In contrast, the Other Utilities industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 18% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2082 ACWA Powerر.س457.4010.4%
+ر.س31.4b
193.2%PE200x
2081 Alkhorayef Water and Power Technologiesر.س227.800.4%
+ر.س20.0m
65.3%PE40.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.