Header cover image

Norwegian (OSEAX) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D0.7%
  • 3M9.1%
  • 1Y-25.9%
  • YTD0.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Discretionary industry has dropped 2.2%, driven by a pullback from Kid of 6.8%. In contrast, XXL has gained 12%. However, the industry is down 28% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 31% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Norwegian Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024kr32.8bkr58.0b-kr2,548,582,113.9416.4x-12.9x0.6x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024kr34.7bkr58.0b-kr1,066,519,709.0022.4x-32.6x0.6x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023kr32.5bkr57.9b-kr1,066,746,896.0019.3x-30.5x0.6x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023kr29.5bkr57.7b-kr111,723,017.0017.9x-264.3x0.5x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023kr27.0bkr57.5b-kr73,275,072.0021x-368.3x0.5x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023kr27.0bkr57.8b-kr884,301,292.0023.1x-30.6x0.5x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023kr27.7bkr57.4b-kr690,656,071.0030.7x-40.1x0.5x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023kr28.4bkr57.8b-kr149,535,201.0032.2x-190.1x0.5x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023kr29.4bkr57.9bkr102.9m29.1x285.7x0.5x
Wed, 03 May 2023kr31.6bkr57.7bkr373.4m16.4x84.7x0.5x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023kr29.5bkr56.0bkr373.7m15x78.8x0.5x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023kr31.4bkr55.4bkr438.0m18.1x71.6x0.6x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023kr28.1bkr54.0bkr984.7m12.9x28.5x0.5x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022kr28.4bkr53.8bkr982.9m11.5x28.9x0.5x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022kr26.2bkr53.7bkr1.1b13.2x24.6x0.5x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022kr25.9bkr52.2bkr1.3b17.3x19.9x0.5x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022kr27.6bkr51.6bkr1.4b20.5x19.2x0.5x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022kr29.0bkr50.5bkr1.5b12.6x18.9x0.6x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022kr26.5bkr50.2b-kr374,999,534.0013.8x-70.7x0.5x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022kr29.2bkr50.1b-kr336,508,547.0017.6x-86.9x0.6x
Thu, 05 May 2022kr31.0bkr49.8b-kr169,871,115.0017.8x-182.6x0.6x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022kr32.8bkr49.3b-kr152,556,875.0015.2x-215.1x0.7x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022kr34.4bkr52.9bkr1.9b15.1x18.3x0.7x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022kr36.3bkr52.5b-kr230,966,955.0014.2x-157.1x0.7x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021kr38.2bkr52.3b-kr233,077,336.0015.3x-163.8x0.7x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021kr38.3bkr52.4b-kr227,712,019.0014.9x-168x0.7x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021kr36.6bkr51.6b-kr222,273,818.0012.8x-164.7x0.7x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021kr38.5bkr48.9bkr1.5b15x25.6x0.8x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021kr35.1bkr45.7bkr2.0b15.3x17.5x0.8x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021kr32.1bkr39.4bkr352.7m16x90.9x0.8x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021kr29.7bkr39.3b-kr126,566,477.2214.6x-234.3x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-234.3x


Total Market Cap: kr29.7bTotal Earnings: -kr126,566,477.22Total Revenue: kr39.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Norwegian Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 4512.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Norwegian Consumer Discretionary industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.61x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Discretionary industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Norwegian Consumer Discretionary sector?

NO Market-0.47%
Consumer Discretionary0.73%
Consumer Services16.25%
Hospitality6.98%
Auto0%
Consumer Durables0%
Leisure0%
Luxury0%
Retail Distributors0%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
General Merchandise and Department Stores0%
Specialty Stores-3.34%
Auto Components-5.41%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the General Merchandise and Department Stores industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 7.8%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 11.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Specialty Stores industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 56% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 17% per year.
  • In contrast, the General Merchandise and Department Stores industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GIG Gaming Innovation Groupkr34.4513.7%
+kr535.4m
28.7%PE29.1x
XXL XXLkr0.8613.8%
+kr174.7m
-73.4%PS0.2x
LUMI Lumi Gruppenkr13.9516.3%
+kr107.3m
18.2%PS1.7x
SATS Satskr17.500.9%
+kr32.7m
108.6%PE15.9x
00N 00Nationkr3.0050.0%
+kr5.1m
n/an/a
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GIG

kr34.45

Gaming Innovation Group

7D

13.7%

1Y

28.7%

XXL

kr0.86

XXL

7D

13.8%

1Y

-73.4%

ELIMP

kr8.70

Elektroimportøren

7D

-6.7%

1Y

-79.7%

KOMPL

kr10.34

Komplett

7D

-0.2%

1Y

-43.0%

KOA

kr1.71

Kongsberg Automotive

7D

-5.4%

1Y

-44.1%

HYN

kr0.43

Hynion

7D

9.5%

1Y

-3.4%

BSP

kr0.28

Black Sea Property

7D

0.7%

1Y

-71.8%

00N

kr3.00

00Nation

7D

50.0%

1Y

n/a

GYL

kr498.00

Gyldendal

7D

-8.6%

1Y

-7.8%